goooodbyeeeee junk

So, there’s this book making the rounds called ‘The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up.’ Maybe you’ve heard of it, maybe not, but the basic premise is if any of the “stuff” you have  in your house doesn’t bring you joy (or serve some actual, daily or at least more than once every few years, functional purpose), it goes. Get rid of it. There is no need.

My friend gave me the book ooooohhhhhh I don’t know. A year or so ago? She read it, followed it, and now has one cutting board and two measuring cups in her whole kitchen. There will not be ten different measuring spoons in her household. Nooooooo way. Not having it. But, she was like, “It is so nice to get rid of all the STUFF.”

And I agreed with her. Because I am over all the STUFF collecting in our house. There is too much. It is overwhelming. I cannot handle it anymore.

About ooooohhhhhh I don’t know…a year ago, I told Tim we should do the same thing and he started hesitate-stuttering all, “But sometimes we use that. We might need this. You never know when it’ll come in handy.”

Yada yada yada and so nothing happened.

You guys.

We literally own a chair that NO ONE IS ALLOWED TO SIT ON because it’s too old and fragile.

It collects dust.

It’s a dust collector and a Tim hat stand and sometimes a clothes pile-up-on-er.

(Some of you may say, well, that chair absolutely serves a purpose! Look at all of those functional operations if performs!)

(But honestly people. We do not need another THING to hold more THINGS when those THINGS should really be put somewhere else…like the closet where the clothes and hats live)

The other…probably month by this point…I stood in the garage all, “I need another tote for this stuff…”

And then as I was standing there, it hit me and I was just like…ooooookay….if we are having to buy more totes to put more THINGS in because there are entirely too many THINGS floating around, there is a serious problem, here. Bordering on ridiculous.

So, suffice it to say I’ve been wanting to get rid of the stuff for quite some time now. I’ve just been waiting on the other half to get on board, and we all know nothing happens until it is their idea.

I mean it went something like this, out of the clear blue sky one Saturday morning:

Tim: I AM SO TIRED OF ALL OF THIS STUFF. IT HAS TO GO.

I used to go crazy over things like that all, “Um hello? I’ve been saying this for how long? And you think this is a new idea like some amazing lightbulb just went off in your head that has never been mentioned before? OMG. Are you serious right now?

But now?

Me: Yes! You’re right! Let’s do this!

Because I’m getting my way, after all….albeit months later…but we’ll just call it a win and move forward. I’ve learned a lot about being married and what you need to do to keep the peace and to also get what you want done. And when that delayed lightbulb goes off, you just roll with it, ladies.

We spent that entire weekend going through the garage and donating or shredding or recycling or putting items into a garage sale pile. After awhile we were both like, “WHY? Why in the world do we even have college notebooks and binders from however many years ago? Are we ever going to reference any of this? Can we even read and understand our own notes? Have we even opened these binders since the day before the final exam of whatever class?”

No, no we have not. We never will.

It brings no joy and serves no purpose other than to make us crazy.

AWAY IT GOES.

Tim was all, “I just want a conveyor belt to put it all on so it disappears and we don’t have to deal with it.”

Unfortunately, dear husband, the “dealing with it” is part of the process.

So, for this entire year, we are going to go through the entire house and attic. Every box and tote and drawer. We are going to ignore our sentimental side that wanted to keep a sticker from high school or a champagne glass from a college dance. We both like to keep sentimental things…but at this point the practical side is taking over and the type A personalities that cannot handle the clutter is behind the wheel because we are both. going. crazy.
Goodbye stuff.

Hellllllooooooooo freedom!

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 Responses to “goooodbyeeeee junk”


  1. 2 Joann January 30, 2017 at 2:53 pm

    So, I’m starting a home business and needed the room that was my craft room. I made a pile to sell, filled my SUV bottom to top for Goodwill and will have to call tomorrow for a bulk pick up of trash. We put three book cases on the curb, gone in five minutes! It feels so good to have it gone!

  2. 4 lucindalines January 30, 2017 at 10:30 pm

    Oh, I don’t think I can even get to the college notes for at least another year, there is too much other stuff in the way. I guess waiting until age 60+ to start the process is not good. It also doesn’t help that I never tossed or sold any of my children’s toys or most of their clothing. Yikes maybe only having three girls was fortunate. I am terrible about hanging on to things. And, the worst is when I finally pass something on to one of the girls, I go to their house and wonder when they took “my” stuff. HELP!!!

  3. 6 Evelyn January 31, 2017 at 2:36 pm

    I have friends who swear by this method: Take a picture of the sentimental item. Then donate/toss/recycle.

  4. 8 mrsloquacious1 January 31, 2017 at 9:49 pm

    Konmari! We did this a year ago and now it is a regular part of my days. We have been purging and selling and man, is it ever awesome to have extra cash and extra space!!

  5. 10 Sanibel February 2, 2017 at 9:48 am

    Do you ever write a comment and then it disappears? Just did that. Anywho, we did this when we moved to the house a couple of years ago. I find it so freeing and I seriously do it on a regular basis. I hate trinkets and randomness. I need things to have a purpose and if it hasn’t been used…out it goes. People have invited me to their homes to help them with this. I should turn it into a business:)


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,428 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


