I am thankful – December edition. aka one whole year of being thankful!

Hey! We made it! An entire year of thankfulness! I can’t believe it’s already over! I’ve realized that my picture posting became lazier as the year progressed, but my quality time increased, and capturing each moment in a picture became less important to me. I think that’s a pretty big win in today’s internet obsessed world…we are enjoying life more, screen time less.

Anyhow, this month…literally zero editing, here. I promise I can spell. It’s just 99% of these are written right before I fall asleep at night and, well, priorities. Especially when preggo.

December 1: The ability to let go and allow Kellan to take off his shoes and only wear his new socks that he was super excited about in a restaurant. I mean, he was so happy and it caused zero disruption, so who cares if it isn’t normal?

December 2: Kellan being able to entertain himself with anything and also anywhere we go. Clothes shopping? Let me hide in the clothes. String? I want to tie it around my leg and run around the house. Christmas blocks? Let’s line them up on the floor and scoot across them. His imagination and ability to just play are incredible.

December 3: Surprising Tim at the airport… It’s easy to do, because we have the tiniest, cutest airport that is super close, but we never have. On a spur of the moment decision, Kellan and I went over to meet Tim and the look on Tim’s face as Kellan ran up to him yelling, “Hi daddy!!” as Tim walked out of the security area…oh how I wish I had it on film. Absolutely priceless and worth it. It was so sweet and endearing.

December 4: How compliant Kellan can be….even when he doesn’t want to be….and that’s really incredible that an almost three year old can exhibit that amount of patience/agreeableness.

December 5: Unexpected trip to take photos of a nonprofit for a newspaper story. Witnessing those who give and dedicate so much of themselves – their time, effort, everything – to those in need is truly humbling.

December 6: Not doing what was planned. We had planned on going out to see the Polar Express train car thing in the city, but Kellan said he wanted to stay home. So we adjusted and decked the halls (the Christmas tree) instead. And it was nice.

December 7: Our advent calendar activities haven’t been going “as planned” and I’m not really freaking out about it….we had a really nice weekend, despite not doing anything from the advent calendar. Trying to learn how to let go a little. This is probably a good first step.

December 8: How excited Kellan gets when it is a “clip day” on the advent calendar. AKA take off a Christmas clothespin from the advent pocket and open a wrapped book day. We may not be doing all of the activities planned, but we don’t miss clip days!

December 9: Realizing that I honestly do not care of baby 2 is a girl or boy. Whatever baby bista is exactly what he/she is supposed to be.

December 10: Kellan enjoying the little things, like the reindeer grilled cheese sandwich for lunch by the tree. He even asked to play Christmas music while we had lunch. It was really sweet and cute.

December 11: Kellan trying to take a shower (with all of his clothes on). Big step for him to be willing to get in the shower AND ask for the water to be turned on.

December 12: Tim powering through to go do Christmas stuff even though he didn’t feel well….Kellan working really hard to do a somersault until he did one all by himself. He used to just give up on stuff like that (gross motor). It was a super exciting moment and Tim and I cheered like crazy for him. AND Kellan trying to sound out a word all on his own when we read a story before bed. So many new/amazing things happening today.

December 13: A fun and spontaneous day that included a visit to the Trolley Museum.

December 14: 100% felt baby bista moving/kicking!!

December 15: Tim’s belt spontaneously breaking. So, as I come back downstairs, Tim is like, “Sooooo this random piece of metal fell out of the sky” …..and I have no idea where it came from….guess the house is haunted. Then, about five minutes later, Tim goes, “Welp. I figured it out.” And he lifts up his shirt and shows his broken belt buckle and goes, “No ghost!” Best laugh we have had in a long time.

December 16: Every single day, every minute, is such a gift. And sometimes I need that reminder to live and love those minutes, even the hard ones.

December 17: Safe travel day for Tim

December 18: How candid and conversational Kellan is with people he doesn’t know. If he senses they are “good” people, he will talk with them all day….like he did with two older men today at Panera. When we left, one of them said we had a really neat kid and they enjoyed talking with him.

December 19: Safe travel day for Tim AND he’s home for 15 days!!

December 20: Safe grocery trip an hour away plus having Benadryl when kellan started breaking out in a rash/hives because I failed to wash his PJs before he wore them…his skin and histamine system was none too pleased.

December 21: Kellan not getting upset at all when Lexi ate BOTH of his Christmas cookies he was so proud of….His response when his hard work was gobbled up in 0.5 seconds? Can I have the snowman cookie instead? Tim and I were like, we need to take a page out of his book and learn to just roll with the punches.

December 22: Kellan seeing and taking pictures of Christmas lights at this huge house….and his cooperation in general while we ran random errands all over the place and went to dinner.

December 23: a clean house AND all laundry done before Christmas fun! Haha….that rhymed…

December 24: Being able to get up after Kellan went to bed to help santa!

December 25: A really nice and LONG Christmas Day. And dinner was perfection.

December 26: After a multi store quest, we found Blade!!! The ONE gift from santa that was broken and that Kellan had asked for and wanted more than anything and EVERYONE was out of stock. We all feel better now.

December 27: Laughter. Batman cape (Tim saying, “It was just my cape!” After I turned lego batman’s head around to face the right way and then lifted his cape up to realize his head was already the right way, just his cape was backwards). Mangos (Kellan (while eating dried mangos…what are you thinking about? I’m thinking about these mangos.), socks (Tim walked downstairs after his shower and said he lost his socks from the bathroom to downstairs. Hours later I open the dryer and see towels and a pair of socks inside. I ask Tim why there are socks in there and then I realize and start laughing right as he goes, “found ’em!”)

December 28: THE SUN! BLUE SKY! It’s been WEEKS since we have had a nice day. WEEKS! We went to the nature center. How could we not be outside?!

December 29: Steak and spinach. I’m low on iron, apparently. Because I NEVER like steak.

December 30: A morning in the woods behind the house with the family. It is so rejuvenating. And it was perfectly cool and crisp.

December 31: Finishing another 365 project! First, sunrises. Now, thankfulness.

If you want to relive all of 2014 via thankfulness, here you go….

January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November

6 Responses to “I am thankful – December edition. aka one whole year of being thankful!”


  1. 1 Brandy January 1, 2015 at 11:14 am

    These are wonderful! What changes are going on in your house! I love all the photos, blogs, comments, recipes and everything you share. May you all have blessed 2015 with lots of new adventures.

  2. 3 Britni January 2, 2015 at 4:46 pm

    Congrats on reaching a full year of thankfulness! It’s a pretty awesome goal to reach, I think anyway. I’m a bit jealous of your “100% sure” you’re feeling your baby. I can’t say that yet! This is my first baby (19 1/2 weeks) and I just can’t be sure. There’s been a couple things where I think “hmm, maybe? Is that you?” But I don’t know. I can’t wait until I can say it’s her for sure!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


