wager a guess?

Anyone want to guess? Well, anyone who hasn’t already…since some of you have already voice your opinions….which is fabulous.

What is baby bista?

I really have no clue….so…..

For any of you who believe in old wives tales….here’s what we have so far. I’m 16 weeks, for the record. I’m sure I missed about a hundred old wives tales, so if you have one you swear by that I didn’t list, let me know and we’ll see what we can do…

Morning Sickness: Yes. It’s better now, but it was 24/7 until maybe 14-15 weeks. I still get nauseous at random times during the day.
(Kellan: had all day nausea until about 14 weeks, then had energy and felt good) RESULT: GIRL

Aversions: Meat. It was all meat for awhile. I still cannot cook meat and most meat is not appealing at all. Milk. Cannot drink it. I don’t want any hot food. Only cold or room temperature (so weird). (Kellan – I don’t remember specific aversions, though I did have weeks where nothing sounded good) RESULT: GIRL

Cravings: Fruit, specifically clementines and raspberries. Also, cheese and triscuits. Like, I would be happy eating cheese and triscuits for every meal. ALSO coffee (finally gave in to decaf every now and then), wine (sad face), and a mojito (so strange, also sad face). And chocolate milkshakes from Chickfila (fun fact: my mom craved Wendy’s frosty’s when she was pregnant with me). (Kellan – at this point, I wanted MEAT and Chalula hot sauce was my BFF. As were pickles on bread with mustard and mayo – gag) RESULT: Mixed (cheese is supposed to mean boy, fruit girl)

How I’m carrying: Ummm. I’m not even really showing…so hard to tell. But I have started feeling kicks (!!!!!) and at times they have been very close to my belly button. (Kellan: I remember feeling his early kicks low and to the right) RESULT: too early to tell?

Baby’s heart rate: At my last appointment about a month ago, it was “in the 160s” per the OB. (Kellan: his started high, ended low, though I don’t remember exact numbers) RESULT: GIRL

Hair: The hair on my head is thick and feels pretty normal, texture wise. My leg hair? Growing like a weed. (Kellan: leg hair barely grew at all) RESULT: BOY

Extra weight: Hello giant butt and hips. You are not my favorite, at all. (Kellan = same) RESULT: GIRL

Acne: My face definitely breaks out. It was waaaaay worse in the first trimester…maybe it’s settling down now. (Kellan = amazing skin) RESULT: GIRL

Chinese gender chart: BOY. (Kellan’s said girl…haha)

Moodiness: I’m pretty volatile this go…and cry or get emotional a lot at everything – even ridiculous things. (Kellan: after the first trimester, my emotional state seemed to even out) RESULT: GIRL

Headaches: Almost daily. And really awful…usually in the afternoon. (Kellan: a few random headaches here and there) RESULT: BOY

This one that I just leaned about: If your age and year of conception are both even or odd, it’s girl. One even and one odd means a boy. For me, it’s 2014 and 31, so, RESULT: BOY. (With Kellan, it was 2011 and 28, so also boy)

Ummmm as for Kellan, he typically says baby bista is a girl or sister, though he has said boy/brother, too, though it’s usually girl/sister.

8 Responses to “wager a guess?”


  1. 1 Amy December 18, 2014 at 10:56 am

    I’m going girl. And hoping girl. πŸ™‚

  2. 3 rjlouise December 18, 2014 at 12:44 pm

    Congratulations!!! (I am clearly VERY behind on my blog reading.) I’m so happy for you! And I have no guesses.

  3. 5 Britni December 21, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    I rarely comment, or not at all lately, but I’ve been reading your blog for years! I also happen to be pregnant, and will be 18 weeks tomorrow! So it will be fun following along and seeing how similar things are. πŸ˜‰ I’m having a girl, and my old wives tales were all over the place and literally told me nothing. So, who knows! But the whole odd/even age and conception year thing, I hadn’t heard that before. For me it’s 2014 (obviously) and 26 years old, and we’re having a girl. So that is a bit interesting!

  4. 7 PJ January 8, 2015 at 5:51 pm

    I just hope (for your sake) that baby bista doesn’t pull the same stunt as my friend’s baby and refuse to show the ultrasound anything but their back. I can only imagine what that would do to two type-A’s. (My friend is due at the end of May – so about the same time as you)

    • 8 Jessica January 9, 2015 at 3:08 pm

      Ahhh! We like cooperators….though I honestly feel like this one is not a type A like the rest of us. No idea why….but I fear they will turn our world upside down πŸ™‚


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


