Every pregnancy is…well…not the same

Honestly, the only reason I even took a pregnancy test back in September was because I had a dream that I took one and it was positive.

Later that day, I was just like, “Whatever, I’ll just take one and it’ll be negative and we can move on.”

Hahahahaha ha.

That thing popped up positive before I even set it down on the counter. I was shocked. Tim had gone to pick up the dogs from daycare and when I handed him the stick as he walked in the door, I just started crying because HOW IS THIS EVEN POSSIBLE.

Most of the TMI begins here. Fair warning.

I’m irregular at best. I mean, I can go 40+ days with nothing one month and then 30 the next go….and it’s been this way since forever. So, how we can manage one attempt and YAHTZEE! is beyond me.

(The Yahtzee comes from an email from Tim earlier this week regarding a woodland creature finding dog poo….and hitting the jackpot. Anyway. Made me laugh. Totally irrelevant…)

So. That’s one reason I had zero clue I was knocked up. I also assumed (hahaha) that my first “sign” would be sore boobs and having to pee a lot, because that’s what happened with Kellan.

I’m finally having to use the restroom more frequently, though I’m still waiting on the sore boobs that become ginormous. Neither have happened this time like they did with Kellan. Maybe it was because Kellan was still breastfeeding in the beginning of this pregnancy? I have no idea.

I also assumed (hahaha again) I would be hit with unbearable first trimester fatigue. Like cannot. keep. my. eyes. open. must. take. a. nap. fatigue.

That never happened, either. Sure, I was ready for bed early, but with Kellan, it’s like I HAD to nap during the day or I wouldn’t survive. Maybe I’m just used to functioning while tired, now, so it didn’t seem as noticeable?

As for morning sickness….yes. Lots of that. I keep wondering when it will end, even though it has only been nausea to varying degrees. With Kellan, it started around six weeks and ended around 13-14 weeks. I definitely had food aversions and many days/weeks where I could only eat a few things. *However* the nausea didn’t stick with me through the night. This time….I started feeling sick around six weeks and it was 24/7 until maybe….13 weeks? And now it is just random bouts of nausea throughout the day and a lot of the time after eating. This time, I had huge aversions to meat, namely chicken. I still can’t cook any meat, and there are only a few meat items I can handle. I can’t drink milk at all (gag). I still prefer mostly bland foods. Cheese and crackers or bread is a favorite. No hot foods like soup. No foods with lots of flavors/spices. With Kellan by this point, I was putting hot sauce on EVERYTHING (I kept a pregnancy journal, this is the only reason I remember). This time, I am already getting heartburn with certain foods, like pizza, so again, I stick with bland. Oh! I went off chocolate with Kellan. I like it this time, as well as clementines and grapefruit and apple juice and pineapple. I actually ate about 3/4 of a pineapple the other day. Oops. It is so weird how much different my likes/dislikes are between the two. My big cravings with Kellan were Taco Bell bean burritos and soft tacos (I know. Strange things happen to preggos) and meat. Obviously, not the case at all this time.

Also, I am breaking out like whoa. My skin was amazing with Kellan. My hair on my legs also stopped growing with Kellan…this time it is growing like a weed. And I SMELL AWFUL. I mean, yikes. A shower and loads of deodorant is an absolute requirement these days. It’s really, really awful.my gums seem more sensitive, too. And I keep getting headaches this time.

Some things are the same. My hair has gotten really thick. It’s back to mostly shiny, though in the beginning it looked and felt like straw. My nails grow really quickly. It’s taking forever to show, I think because of my height….

Oh! And I have had so many dreams about boy/girl that I don’t even know what to think. I’ll just post the notes I wrote down after each one, and you can go all Freudian on me. The dreams are in order of earliest to most recent.
I have not had another dream since the very last one, thankfully, because they just confuse me, now. Anyway….here we go. Excuse the typos because I didn’t edit the notes:

-had a dream peed on a stick and it said it was a boy, then frantically ran around to find the box to read the instructions, checked the back of the box and it said 34% accuracy. So, there’s that.

10/7-8: holy heartburn ALL NIGHT and in the morning. Never had it this early with Kellan. It kept me up it was as so bad.

10/20: crazy weird dream that I had the baby but had zero memory of the entire process. Tim was holding it and I kept asking him million questions about what happened (did I have an epidural? Where was Kellan? Etc). Tim kept getting mad that I was asking all of these questions and I was just like why do I not remember ANY of this?!?! I should remember this! Finally I was like, wait. What is it? And Tim said to look, so I looked in the diaper and it was a boy. And then I was like, does he even have a name? Did we tell anyone this happened? It was really strange and disorienting.

11/15: I had the craziest dream last night. I was in class in school and this person came up to me and handed me this used bright pink lipstick pencil (that was mine and I had loaned out, apparently. Ew) and they were like, “they want to see you in the front office. The person who handed me the lipstick had the pink lipstick on, and I had to put some on, and when I got to the front office with the principal and his assistant (both men, the principal was gay), they were also wearing the pink lipstick. And the principal looked at me and was like, “Are you sure you’re a girl?” And I was like are you serious right now? And he’s like, “Even ‘down there?'” And I was like, I’m positive I’m a girl.

11/23: another gender dream. This makes 2 boy and 2 girl dreams, sooooo. Hm. This one, I was laying in bed with two babies. One was Kellan (but as a baby) and the other was baby 2. They were sleeping side by side and I thought to myself, “Wow. Even her sleeping face and mouth shape is different.” And I knew it was a girl. She woke up and wanted to crawl next to me, so she did. She had basically no hair but it was very light in color, basically blonde. It was very surreal. I never had this many gender dreams with Kellan. I think I may have had one.

11/26: ANOTHER dream about baby’s sex. This one was an OB showing me an ultrasound picture that wasn’t super clear and was like, see? You’re having a boy. I honestly didn’t see anything, it was a pretty grainy picture. Then she shows me a very clear picture of the baby’s face, which did not look like a boy or girl, just a baby. Fairly wide set eyes, no hair? And then she goes, “Well, you never know I guess. We just had one couple who thought they were having a boy based on a picture like this and it was a girl.” Super confusing. I still have no idea what this one is….

11/29: Yet another gender dream that was totally confusing. I was at a machine that was like a gumball machine, and you put money in and it would give you a round disc like a coin with either a B or a G on it to tell you if you were having a boy or girl. I finally decided to put money in and my coin pops out, smaller than a dime. It’s upside down. So, I hesitate for a minute, wondering if I really want to know, and I decide to do it, and it says B. So in my head I go, “okay, it’s a boy.” Then right as I say that, a larger coin, the size of a quarter, comes out of the machine and has a big G on it. And I was just like….seriously?! Now what?!

12/4: had a dream last night that we were walking (?) Near the church on Jenny Lind and someone (ultrasound person?) had told us it was a girl, so we decided to name her Claire.

15 Responses to “Every pregnancy is…well…not the same”


  1. 1 Peggy Nolan December 10, 2014 at 1:48 pm

    You crack me up! Let’s talk about the dream thing, though. So glad you are writing them down. Seriously. The dreams I had with both my pregnancies proved to be mostly true when both my girls were born. Except the gender thing. Nah. That was totally WRONG. but the birth weights were exact and the entire delivery scene with my youngest was word for word spot on.

    Congratulations!!

  2. 3 Cindy December 10, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    Sounds like twins to me! One of each. 😉

  3. 5 jennygirlpower December 10, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    Congrats on you pregnancy! I loved your blog the dreams are so funny. I too had several gender dreams with my pregnancies….I have 2 little girls myself and I wanted to introduce myself. I started “mommy blogging” a few months ago…My favorite routine to relaz or get my energy back are yogurt facials, walking or running in the morning, and my absolute favorite “preggy” bars which were a huge part of my healthy pregnancy diet plan that I get at sprouts or online and post pregnancy as I still love them. Lots of Kumbucha, chia and yoga….
    Ok look forward to more funny blogs.

    Thanks and Merry Christmas
    Jenny….

  4. 6 Joann December 10, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    Congrats! I craved Hatch Chile, cucumbers, and chocolate with my first. Citrus with my second. Both girls. You are right, pregnancy is like finger prints and zebra stripes, never two alike!

  5. 9 Angelia Sims December 11, 2014 at 11:54 am

    Okay, I’ll give it a go…. I think your preggo brain is struggling with what you WANT to have….and your confusion between boy or girl is coming across in crazy dreams. Your mind is probably trying to make sense of what you want the gender to be (even though you probably don’t care or maybe you do?) and it doesn’t know which to pick. And maybe, you are struggling with whether you want to know ahead of time or not, as well.

    That’s my take. And OH MY GAWD are those dreams crazy and FUNNY.

    I’m predicting girl. 🙂 Baby ista (sista) for Kellan.

    • 10 Jessica December 11, 2014 at 3:47 pm

      Haha – i thought i cared? Maybe I did in the beginning? But now….I don’t. And I haven’t had another dream since realizing I really don’t care, that whatever it is is exactly what it is supposed to be….go figure. 😉

      • 11 Angelia Sims December 11, 2014 at 4:34 pm

        Knowing you through your blog all thsese years, I would think you would be swayed to boy (at first) because that is what you know. But, of course, I have only girls. And YES. Already done and you will be so happy no matter what. Are you finding out? Or waiting to be surprised? 🙂

        • 12 Jessica December 11, 2014 at 4:49 pm

          We will find out. 🙂 We are too type A to wait (haha). I know how to “do” boys better than girls….sounds weird but….and ignore the double entendre….oh my….but I could figure out a girl, too. A whole new experience.

  6. 14 PJ December 14, 2014 at 10:37 am

    I keep forgetting to comment and say CONGRATULATIONS! Also, though I might be biased, I think early June is great time to have a birthday, with the 5th being the best day (and my birthday)! For what it’s worth, I’ve often heard that first babies are late and the second tends to come early. So hopefully that’s true for you.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

your favorites (I didn’t pick ’em)

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


