I am thankful – November edition

At the moment, I don’t even have the energy for an intro…but I was thankful! Every single day.

November 1: We are officially weaned!! It’s actually been a few weeks, but I wanted to make sure it wasn’t a fluke before I said it out loud. Yay!

November 2: collecting wood with Kellan for our first fire in the fire pit, complete with apple cider. It was so nice. And then, later during bedtime, Tim hit his knee on I have no idea what….oh. The corner of the door…this man and his weird injuries….anyway, Kellan walked over to him and goes, “It’s okay, daddy. Accidents happen. I’ll kiss it.” Ensue laughter from all. He is the sweetest kid.

November 3: Kellan is such a polite kid! He burped in the grocery store and goes, “excuse me, I burped!” And then when we left from checking out, he waved at the dude and goes, “Goodbye, have a nice day!” Also, Tim coming home and making homemade spaghetti and meatballs. It was divine.

November 4: All day rain. It’s been awhile….

November 5: Being able to rescue Kellan from choking. I think maybe he finally gets the message…SIT AND EAT. DO NOT RUN AROUND WITH A MOUTH FULL.

November 6: I know I’ve said it before….but I am so thankful Kellan enjoys….LOVES….being outside/nature.

November 7: Tim genuinely happily whistling while he was making cookies, even though he was really tired and didn’t really want to, but did it for me.

November 8: Getting garage sale pricing done. Whew. I can’t wait to be done with it.

November 9: Managing to obtain a family photo for our Christmas card. It’s always an ordeal and a feat to accomplish. No idea why….but it never goes as planned/ends up being stressful/everyone gets upset at least once. It’s amazing we even still attempt this, honestly….one year may end up just being a picture of a sign laying against a tree that says, “WE TRIED.” Not this year, though. We powered through! Yay us!

November 10: A beautiful warm day where we could enjoy the park before the cold weather. And a successful trip to the dentist for Kellan, albeit it was full of tears, but we got our teeth cleaned!

November 11: Tim being nice and understanding when I’m super tired at the end of the day and he plays with Kellan without complaint or with any snide comments.

November 12: heat!!! It is so cold outside!

November 13: finding the last winter coat in the city that would fit Kellan. Guess I waited a liiiiiittle too long this year. But, we found one!

November 14: A nice, crisp late afternoon exploration in the woods behind the house. Kellan really loves going back there.

November 15: A pretty successful first ever garage sale that Tim and I have done together. Yay for less stuff!

November 16: Tim saying he was glad he was home, too, because he knew that meant all of the “have to do everything” burden wasn’t all on me.

November 17: Meeting a very nice man for a newspaper story. Some people really affect you, even by doing one simple, small, unexpected thing.

November 18: Kellan’s ability to entertain himself and be creative with styrofoam while I put together patio furniture. The styrofoam was everything from runway for his planes to building material to make a house.

November 19: Even though Kellan is absolutely showing signs of the “threenager” stage of asserting his independence and saying NO to everything, there are also lots of heartmelting moments. Like today when he threw a pillow all the way down the stairs and said daddy had to get it. And I told him no, he needed to get it. And he did. I eventually came over to help him bring it back upstairs, as he was struggling. Also, I asked him to go put a face sponge in the bathroom for me, and later when I went to go look for it because I didn’t see it on the counter/in the trash can/some place obvious, I finally looked in the cabinet under the sink where we keep extra stuff, and there it was. Placed nearly right in the front. I went and told him how proud I was and how that was a perfect place. He had even closed the cabinet doors after he put the sponge away. Seriously so proud of him.

November 20: finding a haircut person that Kellan LOVES. It’s a big deal when he warms up to someone immediately and there are no tears.

November 21: Somehow, by the grace of God, Tim made it home last night against all odds.

November 22: Safe super rainy – as in pouring buckets – trip to the grocery store an hour away for Thanksgiving shopping.

November 23: How excited Kellan is about Christmas. Today he wanted to “deck the halls!” I have no idea where he heard that, but it was so cute. Holidays really are so much more fun and magical with a child.

November 24: I let Kellan finish brushing his teeth in the bathroom on his own/unsupervised while I had to go do something else…that I now cannot recall…and then when we were reading his bedtime story, all of a sudden I was like, “Wait. Did you rinse your toothbrush and put it away in the yellow cup?” He looks at me and goes, “……..(thinking)…YES!” I was like, “I’m going to go check.” I walked in and sure enough, there was his toothbrush, put away in the yellow cup. I walked back into his bedroom with a huge smile and gave him a
big hug and kiss and told him how proud I was and how what he did was so, so responsible. He was so proud of himself…then wanted me to go check again so I could come back and tell him again how he was responsible. So cute and I am so blown away. He’s growing up so fast! So thankful he is making the right choices even when on his own.

November 25: Safe travel day for Nonni and Papa AND Kellan was beyond excited to see them!

November 26: Finding the last toys I was looking for after searching three different stores. It’s a long story. But I had to have them TODAY and they apparently didn’t exist anywhere, except the last place I looked (of course).

November 27; Nice Thanksgiving with family and for the best husband ever!

November 28: Sitting in the history museum soda shop/old pharmacy area with Kellan, Tim, Nonni, and Papa. Kellan was eating ice cream and sprinkles (in separate bowls, always). Out of nowhere Kellan looks at me and says, “This is the best time of my life.” No one else heard him but me, which I think was on purpose. He is the sweetest kid….and then, when we get home, Tim and his parents make a leftover thanksgiving plate of food (my stomach wasn’t having any of it), and when Tim sits down, I look at his plate and he put all dark meat on it, which he doesn’t really like, to make sure there was enough white meat for everyone else. I am so thankful for my extremely thoughtful boys!

November 29: Kellan’s smile. Honestly, this kid brightens anyone’s day. Everyone he meets smiles back at him. He is such a light.

November 30: Not completely losing it when Kellan pooped in the tub and I had to clean it. No idea how I remained calm so he didn’t get more upset about what happened…oh the plot twists of motherhood.

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


