I am thankful – October edition

Wow. It’s been a super busy month, you guys….

October 1: Kellan and his crazy vocabulary. I asked him if he was finished eating his snack and his response? “Not quite yet.” Not QUITE yet, well, okay, then.

October 2: The storms with the cold front weren’t as bad as anticipated. Whew.

October 3: Having Tim home for a long weekend. Also, naps.

October 4: the most perfect fall weather day, complete with a trip to the park and dinner outside on the deck!

October 5: A nice long family walk in the evening after dinner. The weather was pretty nice! And this kid – maybe 10? – thanked Kellan when he brought a soccer ball back to their yard (it ended up not being theirs). And then, the kid, who was in the middle of playing with a friend/brother, stops, bends down, looks right at Kellan and says hi and asks his name. Tim and I were in shocked silence. Whoever is raising him, is raising him right. What a kind and genuine gesture.

October 6: Kellan wandered off this morning while we were eating breakfast and went to go play by himself in the family room. It was kind of strange, him doing that, but also kind of nice to see he’s becoming his own person and wanting to do things by himself/as an individual. He’s growing up.

October 7: The ability to lay with Kellan in the morning until he’s ready to get up. Sometimes it’s five minutes, others it’s 45. Either way, I have the option to do that, and I see how much of a blessing that is, versus having a hectic morning where we are trying to get ready for work and him ready for daycare or preschool….I am really thankful we can have mellow mornings.

October 8: Kellan being a super big cooperator and getting up early so we could take my car to get service at the “deodership.”

October 9: Kellan really trying to be more and more independent. He’s asking/saying he wants to do so many things by himself.

October 10: Tim stepping on the vacuum cleaner cord while I was vacuuming. It was olive branch attempt 3, after I rebuffed his, then he mine, then he stepped on the cord like a seventh grader and made us both laugh.

October 11:The most relaxing evening outside…it has rained all day, it was cold, and we decided to go on the deck. The feeling and sounds of rain very lightly falling on the leaves, along with the smell of someone who had made a fire, it reminded me of camping…in a good way. If you have been camping and you know how relaxing that kind of moment can be….it was pure bliss. Also, Kellan has learned how to climb in and out of his bed. He needs to use the quilt on the bed to pull up, and tonight during story time, he said, “I don’t need any help. I can do it by myself.” There was not a blanket available to use, so he started to say he needed help, so I pushed the blanket over. He tried using it once and didn’t get a good grip, couldn’t get up on the bed, stopped his attempts, and looked me right in the eye and goes, “That didn’t help.” Commence hysterical laughter from Tim and me. Kellan never fails to crack us up, no matter the time of day or night. And I love that.

October 12: Tim watching Kellan, even though he didn’t feel well, so I could go run a few errands.

October 13: Kellan being a really big cooperator running a million errands after nap, which is usually a difficult time to do errands.

October 14: A super windy day. It reminded me of Colorado. While I didn’t really like the days on end of super winds there, the one today was nice because it reminded me of Colorado. And we are all really missing it.

October 15: The most amazing surprise in the mail from the BFF! We cannot find Horizon organic peanut butter crackers ANYWHERE IN ARKANSAS…and Kellan keeps asking for them….and Amazon only lets you order a case for like $70. And then….an unsuspecting package turns out to be two boxes of crackers! Kellan was ecstatic (me too!)!!!

October 16: sage travel day for us….and Kellan did SO WELL for the whole thing, from having to get up super early to flying on an airplane to dealing with airports to bring patient with a rental car mini fiasco to driving to my mom’s, and everything in between

October 17: A really nice dinner with family and my high school basket coaches, whom I have not seen in forever, at a restaurant I used to frequent in my college town. Super fun night.

October 18: Amazing day. Sports Hall of Fame induction. My first ever permanent mark. So grateful for all of the wonderful experiences today and all of the wonderful people who were there to celebrate with me.

October 19: Seeing all my old friends and their children! So sweet they all took time out of their schedules to stop by. Also, at the end of the night, post party, the uncles and Tim and my mom and a few adopted family members were outside on the deck and Kellan went inside to grab a snack from the party food table. As he was running in, he stopped, turned around, and said, “I’ll be right back so I can be with my family.” Hearts melted everywhere.

October 20: A nice, low-key day with family.

October 21: Papa had a successful surgery!

October 22: Safe travel day home AND Kellan did SO WELL the whole time. He was patient and nice and understanding. Definitely mature for his age, in a good, amazing way.

October 23: Realizing Kellan is having a developmental leap in the form of trying to engage us in power struggles….and arming myself with some knowledge and tools to appropriately handle/not engage in them.

October 24: Homemade mashed potatoes.

October 25: A safe day of running all over the place doing errands.

October 26: The cutest FaceTime session with Nonni and Papa. Kellan knows exactly who they are, even though we do not see them very often. It’s very sweet and endearing.

October 27: walking out of a small store and Kellan turning around and waving to the owner while saying, “Have a nice morning!”

October 28: Safe travel day for Tim and a successful day of getting stuff done here.

October 29: completely random fun evening finding acorns in the backyard with Kellan. It was so neat to watch him enjoying nature.

October 30: Safe travel day for Tim and a really fun, impromptu fall leaf activity with Kellan. It was his first time, since we didn’t have trees like this at our Colorado house.

IMG_2480.JPG

October 31: Meeting a Vietnam veteran. I interviewed him for a few hours for a newspaper story, but he really has had an incredible life…and it was truly a pleasure to speak with him and hear his story. I was also reminded today that life is so precious…and should never, ever be taken for granted.

2 Responses to “I am thankful – October edition”


  1. 1 Sanibel November 5, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Yay for playing in the leaves! I keep thinking this on your FB pictures but I feel like Kellan is starting to look more like you lately.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


