our first Arkansas ER visit

Okay, so, this is for everyone (anyone?) who reads my monthly thankfulness wrap up. Towards the end of the month, you will read these exact words:

August 20: Getting to the ER in time after Kellan had an allergic reaction to peanuts, we think. Glad I listened to my mommy radar after he started breaking out in giant hives all over his body.

….and I know if I don’t say something now, I will suffer the wrath of worry all OMG! IS HE OKAY?! WHAT HAPPENED?!

So. First, is Kellan okay? Yes.

What happened?

We aren’t exactly sure.

After dinner last Wednesday night, Tim and Kellan were on the couch playing and also eating a combo of peanut butter and chocolate chips. Mostly chocolate chips. Kellan then said he was hungry (again, I think the kid is growing because he legit went through an entire loaf of bread in the form of “toast with jam!” in two days). I took him to the kitchen to eat cereal, as requested, and I noticed three small red dots on his chin and I thought, “Hmm. That’s strange.”

We went outside after he was finished so Tim could look at how to attach our American flag to the entryway and that’s when I noticed that his shoulder had a red rash type thing on it.

Then Kellan said his back was itching, so I lifted up his shirt and I see more redness, which I now realize are hives, all over the small of his back.

I said something to Tim about it and he said he used to get hives all the time as a kid, no big deal. Something about this particular event didn’t seem right to me. Kellan does have really sensitive skin, so he will get mini-hives when he touches certain things that bother him and we have to be careful with what type of shampoo/lotion/laundry detergent we use. This time, though, it was like they were multiplying faster and spreading all over the place. Usually, they stay where the contact occured.

I took Kellan inside and tried to find someone to call to help me. The hives were getting bigger and more numerous by the minute, and it had only been maybe 15 minutes since I had noticed the first few hives on his chin. This is what led me to believe it had been the peanut butter, since the irritation started near his mouth. I couldn’t understand why, since no one on either side of our family has an allergy to any kind of nut or any food at all for that matter, and he had eaten peanut butter many times before. Either way, my mommy sense knew we couldn’t just wait and see what would happen.

Unfortunately, we had yet to find a pediatrician for Kellan in Arkansas and that was a BIG mistake. I wasn’t able to talk to any after hours nurses without first having a pediatrician and the ones from our Colorado pediatrician weren’t able to help because we didn’t live there anymore. I finally called the hospital and asked what to do and they said, “Go to the ER. Now.”

So, off we went to the ER. Poor Kellan was covered from head to toe in hives. He was so swollen. It was very scary.

Flash forward to filling out a check-in sheet and saying it may be a peanut allergy and we were in the triage room in less than five minutes. The guy checking out Kellan was like, “Yep. I can definitely see the hives….”

After waiting maybe another ten minutes, they called us back for the worst thing ever. I mean, Kellan was crying when they took his blood pressure during triage and now waiting for him were two shots with needles that had a circumference the size of the tip of a pen. That’s not even an exaggeration. These things made *me* cringe and I wasn’t even getting one. I had to hold Kellan while they gave him the shots (at the same time, thankfully) and the poor thing screamed a scream that will haunt me forever. It was pure, raw pain.

After we were sent back out to the waiting room again to wait for a doctor, Kellan fell asleep in my lap for maybe 45 minutes. I think his poor body and brain were on overload and he had had enough. The shots with steroids and an antihistamine worked, though. His hives were almost gone THREE HOURS LATER WHILE WE WERE STILL WAITING. Granted, the place was packed, but still. 7pm to 11pm is kind of exhausting for a two-year-old. When he woke up, he kept telling Tim that his legs felt funny. We are guessing it was from the medicine.

Long story short we didn’t get out of there until 11pm, along with a prescription for a 3-day dose of steroids and an epipen.

The next day, I found a doctor who would see him that day versus two weeks from now or not at all because they weren’t accepting new patients. After a quick check and some questions, she made an appointment with an allergist and told us to get rid of all the peanuts/peanut laced products/things that may have been manufactured near peanuts.

Our cupboard is now bare, thank you very much.

We see the allergist next week.

The more we think about it, Tim and I are really not sure if it is peanuts. We are thinking it may be fiberglass, as that was the only other thing that Kellan was exposed to at the exact same time as the peanut butter, as Tim had it on his clothes from work that day, which isn’t typical, and he has gotten a rash from it (fiberglass) once before.

It’s all to be determined at this point. I don’t want to get my hopes up that it isn’t peanut butter but I am really hoping it isn’t peanut butter.

For now, I am that parent who avoids all that say “made on a line that also processes tree nuts” snacks and carries a brightly colored bag that contains two junior epipens along with liquid and dissolvable benadryl.

Happy thoughts for no peanut allergies.

 

8 Responses to “our first Arkansas ER visit”


  1. 1 taryn August 26, 2014 at 11:54 am

    Oh my gosh. That is so scary!! I am so sorry you guys all had to experience that. I really hope no peanut allergy is found!. Hugs. I hope you get answers at your allergist appointment.

  2. 3 Mara August 26, 2014 at 11:59 am

    glad he’s ok! so scary!

  3. 5 Sanibel August 26, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    Ugh what a bummer and poor Kellan! I’m glad he is feeling better though and here is to hoping no peanut allergies!

  4. 7 lucindalines August 26, 2014 at 1:30 pm

    We will keep you and Kellan in are prayers thank goodness for your good instincts.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


