So long, farewell, Colorado…

Did I ever mention how when Tim took the job here in Denver a few years ago (approximately 3 years and 6ish months ago, but who is counting?), that we signed up for it knowing we would have to leave….eventually? As in moved by Tim’s company? As in to a place that is NOT Colorado (from a “Wow! You live there?? You’re so lucky!” standpoint)?

Yes? No?

Either way, that time…..well….it’s finally upon us. It has happened.

We are moving to…..wait for it……

Arkansas.

OMG, why, right? Of ALL places…and FROM COLORADO TO ARKANSAS? Are you nuts? Isn’t it supposed to be the other way around??

If you’re from Arkansas…live in Arkansas…looooove Arkansas….understand I have nothing against you and the state I know zero about. I just…I really like Colorado, is all.

When Tim was first approached about the Arkansas opportunity, he literally laughed (to me) like you’ve got to be kidding me. I tell them absolutely no, right?

Right?

Right?

……..

After some talking, and hemming, and lots of hawing, he decided, at bare minimum. to do some due diligence before completely dismissing it offhand, because I mean, amazing opportunities can grow from the most unlikely circumstances, you know?

You (proverbial you) probably shouldn’t turn your nose up when someone presents something to you that you think is ridiculous before learning more. We are firm believers that if something is supposed to happen and you carefully start tiptoeing on the path God wants you to go, you allow yourself to be led. When you are on the right path, doors open and obstacles disappear.

So that’s what we did.

And you know what? Tim had zero obstacles. Without going into super detail, everything just fell right into place. That’s how I know we are doing the right thing. We don’t have to fight it. It just…..it all works itself out.

While going through the process, some amazing things happened. Things that I absolutely believe will put Tim on a path that will undoubtedly skyrocket him to his desired career level.

Even though I was skeptical.

Even though I was like WHY DOES IT HAVE TO BE ARKANSAS (though it is the prettier part with mountains, the NW and Tim really liked it when he visited).

Even though the whole idea of moving with five animals (oh yes, 2 dogs, 3 cats, and an atrocious amount of fur) and a toddler is very daunting, I just knew….I had that sixth sense that this was the right move, the right way to go.

That feeling got stronger the more we learned as Tim got deeper and deeper into the interview process. I knew before the final step that he would be offered the job. I don’t know how….it’s just one of those things you can’t explain. You just know.

So, now, off we go in a whirlwind mad dash to get the house ready to sell, find a new home in a new place, and everything in between…and there is A LOT of everything in between. The checklists are overwhelming.

It doesn’t even seem real yet…that this is actually happening. It will be very hard to leave Colorado. We have extra special memories with this house, thanks to our wonderful Kellan. This is his first home. This is our first home as a family. That will always be so special for me. This is where I became a mom.

We have amazing, wonderful friends whom we will miss dearly, that Kellan will miss, too. And leaving a state that is so beautiful….it will be very difficult to say goodbye.

I guess it would be one thing if we had many months to prepare ourselves.

But that’s not how it works.

We have until probably the end of May. And it’s already May 12.

So, let the craziness continue….because it honestly began a few weeks ago. We are just now at the point where we are ready to share.

A new chapter…a new adventure…it is beginning.

12 Responses to “So long, farewell, Colorado…”


  1. 1 Anonymous May 12, 2014 at 9:34 am

    NW Arkansas is very pretty. What part are you moving to? My mom worked in Rogers for a while and we visited and it was beautiful.

  2. 2 lucindalines May 12, 2014 at 10:16 am

    Good luck to you and your family and may God’s blessings be with you all. I have come to believe that when a window closes a door opens. I know that is a different version of the old saying, but it is my version.

  3. 3 Angelia Sims May 12, 2014 at 11:26 am

    Three years already??!?! Wow. And I can’t believe it…Arkansas! But hey, if it’s the pretty part that is okay. I visited Hot Springs about a year ago and loved it. A beautiful place. I can’t wait to see how your new adventure unfolds. Best of luck!

  4. 4 PJ May 12, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    Wow – a very fast move! Good for you all for taking a chance and an opportunity. I have always believed the same thing, that when it’s right, there will be no obstacles and that everything will fall into place.

    Though I have to admit, when I read “Arkansas”, i thought “ewww”.

  5. 5 Jolene May 13, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    wow friend! that is crazy – three years already AND moving so quickly!! Happy for you, you’ll find some roots in Arkansas, even if it is Arkansas. Wink ;;-) I have a friend in Little Rock!! Are you going to be near there? Where’s the Beach blog, Heather, she is AWESOME. find her πŸ™‚

  6. 6 Heather Iacobacci-Miller May 13, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    Had to stop by and say that I hope you enjoy AR. The NW part really is quite pretty. I know most people don’t know much about the state, but it’s truly not all that bad πŸ˜‰

  7. 8 mrsloquacious1 May 13, 2014 at 6:26 pm

    It’s because you hung up everything, isn’t it? πŸ˜‰ I’m curious to see how K will do with the move, particularly because he doesn’t get to go back and forth between the current and the new home to get himself adjusted. That said, I’ve been told that little ones are very resilient and as long as you can help him get some closure when it’s time to say bye-bye, he will be okay.

    What does Tim do again? We’re still hmming and hahhhing about moving, but when DD starts preschool, it’s probably going to have to happen because the near-hour commute each way might kill me. Until then, however, we are cherishing our time in our current place.

    Happy moving! If He has opened the door, He has a path laid out for you (even if it’s Arkansas), and you will be covered by His peace even in the midst of the frenetic moving process. Bless you guys, and I can’t wait to see your new place!! πŸ™‚

    • 9 Jessica May 13, 2014 at 9:03 pm

      Thank you for that last part, Mrs. L. It’s what I needed to hear.

      Tim runs manufacturing plants. πŸ™‚

      I’m curious to see how it goes, too. It is high stress all the time lately…and it’s hard to balance everything. Glad to know resiliency is still imbedded.

    • 10 Jessica July 11, 2014 at 5:10 pm

      Thank you!!! I haven’t been getting comment notifications, so I had no idea these even existed until today – months later!!

    • 11 Jessica July 11, 2014 at 5:11 pm

      Tim runs manufacturing plants….for now. I think he will be doing something on a bigger scale, soon.


  1. 1 I am thankful – May edition | booshy Trackback on June 1, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


