privacy and mom go together like, wait. they don’t go together.

Mommy needs a stiff drink.

And I don’t even drink.

Much.

Kellan is going through a developmental something. Leap. Bound. Rocket ship to the moon. Whatever it is, I am not allowed to be out of sight, regardless if he is awake or asleep, for a nano second.

Nano. Second. Don’t blink. Don’t turn away. DO NOT GO WHERE I CANNOT FOLLOW. And if you’re going there, pick me up and take me with you.

I did not make up this rule, by the way. Hence my opening remark.

We eat together. Play together. Poop together. Really, it all leads to the same thing at this point: zero time for me to do anything but the most basic of tasks. And when I say basic, I mean anything he can be involved with and none where he’s left out.

I know, it sounds like I’m complaining. I’m not, really. I’m just setting the stage. I haven’t even gotten to the good part.

My child?

Let’s just say if all of his gross motor abilities were on par with his verbal/intelligence/linguistic skills, he’d be a shoo-in for Rio 2016.

I’m not even kidding.

Tim and I don’t know how to keep up. We literally have to open the dictionary and feed him random word after word because Kellan will hear a new word we happen to say un conversation, repeat it, and then clamor, “More more more!”

More what?

WORDS!

Going back to his counting skills I mentioned awhile ago – we decided to see of he had just memorized the sequence, versus actually knowing what counting means, and started asking if he knew what number came after four?

“Five”

What comes after eleven?

“Twelve”

And so on.

He will correctly say a simple phrase after hearing it ONE TIME.

Here’s a recent example I like to call bedtime? Five minutes. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jmcpvCEWLZA

This is my life, you guys. It’s such a challenge but it is also hysterical. This child cracks us up and blows our collective minds minute after minute, day in, day out.

We have moved on to the days of the week, the months of the year, and whatever else we can think of that he may be interested in learning. We are not intrigued by toys, really. Words. Conversations. Outside.

Also? He remembers words and phrases from DAYS ago and then will say something out of the blue that is completely relevant in a conversation and then Tim and I will look at each other with wide eyes like, “When did he ever hear that?!”

I was not prepared for this. I’m still not prepared. I didn’t realize we would already have to spell words to keep Kellan from saying them (like “stupid”) or knowing what we are saying and wanting whatever it is we are talking about. This example is true even with videos he watches of himself on my phone. The other day, he saw one where we had sloppy joes for dinner. I told him on the video that he was eating beef and (basically) ketchup. In the video, he repeated both back to me – “boof” and “tatschup”

Guess what we had to have for dinner last night because he would. not. stop. asking for it?

He remembers.

He also understands. Like in the video above, how I asked him to say it without being silly and he did?

I have not once, to my knowledge, said that to him before. Yet, he knew exactly what I meant.

So, big reason why I rarely blog at the moment. I’m busy trying to figure out how to parent the child who never ceases to amaze me.

1 Response to “privacy and mom go together like, wait. they don’t go together.”


  1. 1 mrsloquacious1 July 18, 2013 at 9:32 am

    Yes!! I know exactly what you mean!! Every day it’s like a new world verbally. Little L is imitating and seemingly understanding too, although she’s not so keen on days or months or numbers and letters. She’s more about animals and adjectives (eg tasty, delicious, bendy, yucky), and random phrases all over the place. We got ourselves some geniuses, I say! 😉

    But accompanying that is a lot of clinging to my legs and a renewed need to comfort nurse every three hours. It’s jolly good fun when she won’t even go to her nanny but insists on being underfoot while I try to cook. The only distractions are reading (but you have to read to her all the time and leave pauses for her to read/fill in the blank), and going out to the park.

    So I hear ya busy momma! Let’s hope that this is momentary!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


