just be

Happy Christmas Eve! It’s supposed to snow for Christmas this year.

I’m very excited.

We baked cookies yesterday.

Baked and baked and baked.

And baked.

We still have one more batch to bake, but only because the dough requires overnight refrigeration. I saw a recipe for the best chocolate chip cookies from an old NY Times article and decided that now is as good a time as any to try them.

The recipe still scares me.

Just check out the first sentence on the step where us *normal* people would just drop a rounded teaspoon on a pan and call it a day.

20121224-075512.jpg

We’ll see how they turn out.

After, of course, I turn all of the vertical chips to a more eye pleasing horizontal position.

Between all of the baking, I dealt with an on-the-mend-clingy-sick baby and Tim dropped off/picked up the dogs off from getting groomed.

Everybody is going to be clean for Christmas. Every. Body.

Why so much baking?

Because I decided we had to make cookies (plain, easy chocolate chip and peanut butter) for the Post Office and Police Department as part of our random acts of kindness.
20121223-173900.jpgThey better like them, is all I’m saying.

I have no idea what is wrong with me, either.

We also made *our* cookies — Hazelnut-but-really-pecan balls and Jammies. And the dough for the crazy ingredient chocolate chip cookies.

20121223-173505.jpgThe powdered sugar on the Jammies got a little out of control. I blame sleep deprivation.

20121223-173616.jpgFive Four batches. All baked.

Lucky number six five tomorrow.

Obviously I can’t count.

Oh, and we wrapped Kellan’s gifts. I think we are done wrapping, now, wrapping and baking and cleaning.

Tomorrow should be way chill, minus the aforementioned cookie delivery and the rolling of sausage balls for Christmas morning. We do it classy here, people — cookies and sausage balls and OJ.

And it’s awesome.

Also? To anyone and everyone who has family nearby?

Thank them. Appreciate them. Roll your eyes one less time at them.

It is really, really hard to raise and care for a child on your own AND do evvvvvverrythiiiinnng else all by yourself. And by “yourself” I mean our little family of three

It’s really hard.

I currently dangling at my wits end. Just so you’re in the loop as to my current state. Too much. There is too much going on. I’ll be glad when it’s over and I can have a minute to myself to just BE.

2 Responses to “just be”


  1. 1 Jeanette Lawrence Ghioto December 24, 2012 at 10:44 am

    Merry Christmas sweet Jessica! Peace on earth is what He was all about. May you have that peaceful respite. Love, Tante

  2. 2 lucindalines December 24, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Love all those cookies!! Great idea where to send them, too. Last year, I took cookies to the local newspaper office on Valentines’ Day. It feels good when you drop off stuff like that. Merry Christmas!! Glad to here the little one is feeling better.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


