our first ER experience

Our #26Acts of kindness has been delayed, slightly, due to one baby who woke up at 3am yesterday morning. SICK.

It started the night before with an episode of projectile vomit. The vomit story would have ended there, except when it happened, Tim happened to be holding him and I was patting his back (he was crying…and coughing…following a mostly failed attempt at a dose of Tylenol).

Kellan burped once. Twice. Three times annnnd BAM.

Projectile vomit.

ALL OVER TIM.

He stood there, staring at me in silence, while his eyes were screaming, “THE. F. THERE IS PUKE ALL OVER ME. OMG. ALL. OVER. MY. PERSON. PUKE. O.M.G.”

It took me a few seconds to react, and when I finally did, I went into the kitchen, brought back a paper towel, realized that was like trying to stem the dam with a toothpick, and was all, “Give him to me.”

And I tossed the paper towel on the floor.

Tim immediately went upstairs to change and toss his soiled clothes in the wash.

I’m not even exaggerating, you guys. It was EVERYWHERE.

After Kellan went to bed, Tim was like, “Smell my neck. Sour, isn’t it?”

Niiiiiice, honey.

Anyway, fast forward to 3am.

Wide awake Kellan, who had been moaning in his sleep. He felt super hot and I knew – I knew – something was amiss.

We got up, took his temperature and, yay. 102.6.

This child has never had a fever that high. His normal temperature is low, too.

He was miserable. He wouldn’t stop crying. He couldn’t go back to sleep.

Finally, I called the nurse hotline and based on his symptoms, the nurse I was speaking with was like, “You need to go ahead and take him to the ER.”

Stomach. Drop.

I went back into the bedroom and told Tim what we had to do. I barely got the words out. I almost completely broke down in tears. Somehow, I held it together and we gathered our things and headed out.

Did we brush our teeth? Put on normal clothes? Do anything to look presentable?

Nope.

Tim handed me a listerine breath strip on the way.

Kellan almost fell asleep on the short (thank goodness) drive to Children’s.

He woke up when we stopped the car and didn’t stop crying until after triage, being admitted into a room, initial check by a nurse, lots of waiting, another check by a nurse, a visit from another nirse who brought toys and then, finally, maybe fifteen minutes after he was given some ibuprofen. And that went down with a fight and lots of tears.

He was calm by the time the doctor came in, thankfully.

She checked him out and we waited, again, to see of his heart rate and breathing rate would come down – and they did. I had no idea that those two things were a big deal with babies. Now I know.

So, we went home with a “wait and see” directive, since his ears and throat looked good, his abdomen looked good and his lungs weren’t showing signs of pneumonia.

Probably a virus, they said.

Go back to the doctor if his fever isn’t gone in three days, they said.

All of this…for a virus. Or something.

Do we feel silly for going to the ER?

Absolutely not.

When the nurse says go, you go.

However, Tim and I have learned that this child does not do fevers well. The kid with a 103 temp who is playing happily and still has an appetite?

Not ours.

Fingers crossed he gets better soon and isn’t sick for his first Christmas. How sad would that be?

I’m actually having a difficult, time at the moment, even caring about what I got Tim or Kellan or anyone else or what anyone else got me, for that matter. I just want Kellan to feel better. That’s pretty much all I’m thinking about and focused on right now.

20121223-065243.jpg

7 Responses to “our first ER experience”


  1. 1 Valerie December 23, 2012 at 10:59 am

    Aww, I hope he feels better soon! You definitely did the right thing going to the hospital. *hugs*

  2. 3 littlemissobsessivesanatomy December 23, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    sending lots of get well soon hugs to Kellan… well goin to ER was the right thing…poor baby was burning with fever 😦

  3. 5 lucindalines December 23, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    Hope he feels better soon, and lets just say it fells rather awkward to hit like on a sick baby story. My like means, hope your life gets better. Thanks for sharing, again, you make me realize the importance of family and why we celebrate. Merry Christmas.

  4. 7 Debbie December 23, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    Oh poor Kellan!!! Oh poor Jessica and Tim! Hope he is feeling all better soon.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


