i’m judging you

Is it bad that I judge people based on their cars?

Wait. It’s deeper than that (not really, but let’s pretend).

If you have a sketchy looking beater car with dents and rust and scratches?

I am afraid of you.

Well, maybe bot afraid, per se, but I definitely give you a leery eye all, “I’m onto you.”

Lucky for me? There are two of these particular kinds of cars in our neighborhood. One with rust, one without. Both fitting the sketchy, you belong on CSI and not in the crime fighter type way description.

Every time Kellan and I go on a run (which hasn’t happen in awhile…no judgement…I’m already judging myself for you), I am terrified someone is going to jump out with a shank and rob me. Or something. Kind of pointless to rob a runner (“Give me your….your….hmm….your….damn….YOUR SHOES!…?”).

But that’s beside the point.

I give both cars the Bold eye (I learned from Tim. Ask him to do it for you sometime. You’ll turn to stone. Immediately.) because *if* anyone *is* in there or behind it or watching me?

I want them to know I mean business and my kid looks weak but he’ll kick the crap out of your balls…just ask my husband…AND I HAVE PEPPER SPRAY! SEE! SEE IT?!

And these people who own these cars?

They play right into the sterotype and park the things ON THE SIDE OF THE STREET instead of in the garage or the driveway.

So you can see my fear is totally founded in facts. Solid. Facts.

****BACK STORY****

I feel obligated, now, to say something else. I never grew up with new cars. We had this blue Toyota van that had zero air conditioner (hello, blistering hot Georgia summers and eight hour drives to Florida) and is actually probably still running, somewhere. That car WILL. NOT. DIE. After my mom finally decided to part ways with it, it went to someone else…and then someone else after that…and now it’ll probably end up in our driveway one day soon…like a lost dog finds it’s way…anyhow. *I* never had a new car, either. I had old cars. Used cars. Cars with 100k plus mileage on them by the time they made their way to me. So, I have nothing against keeping a car or having an old car. I just have issues with scary looking cars because I actually had one follow me during a run once and the giant dudes – three of them – inside were up to no good and let’s just say had I not had the wherewithal to dive into and hide in the bushes while they drove past me, at a snails pace, I might not be here right now, writing this.

****END BACK STORY****

Then, one day not too long ago, on our way home from a run, we met the owner of the non-rusty beater car while he was standing in the driveway coming at me with a shank retrieving a ping pong ball.

His young son was waiting in the garage behind a ping pong table.

The dude smiled and said hello.

I froze.

Do I smile? You have a kid! You are normal! And you are not scary!

BUT YOU HAVE A SKETCHY CAR!

My brain still isn’t even sure what to think about this whole “situation.”

I’m going to wrap Christmas presents now. That seems like a safe plan.

6 Responses to “i’m judging you”


  1. 1 Kathleen Reifsnyder December 13, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Wow! Well in defense of people who may have a little rust on their cars…… I like to keep my cars for 12 to15 years. There is bound to be a little rust on them after 8 years, around here. Salt in the winter does a job. I guess I have to hope that I would not be judged by my car as my car has nothing to do with who I am or what my life is or the house I live in or the friends I keep……….

    • 2 Jessica December 13, 2012 at 11:18 am

      The judgement comes mostly with empty cars on the side of the road…actually had a run in once with someone in one…that now makes me scared…because they were not nice…and did not want to do nice things…

  2. 3 lovedyoumore@hotmail.com December 13, 2012 at 11:17 am

    I judge by cars also but sometimes in a different way…as in you drive a Toyota truck-I judge you. Rusted out cars, yes, I think with anything nowadays there is a sterotype. Then again my brother has a rusted POS for his long commute and two nice new cars in his garage.

  3. 4 Kathleen Reifsnyder December 13, 2012 at 11:55 am

    I understand what you are saying about your experience, I had a similar experience when I was 18. Car full of dudes, me walking through a park, the car was not rusty or old, so I would not associate one with the other, but I certainly understand how it could trigger a bad feeling. Of course, for the reason of my experience, I will never own a Black Car….

  4. 5 Jeanette Lawrence Ghioto December 13, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    Had a much worse experience…. running by the Sea Turtle hotel in Atlantic Beach – still light but getting dusky… I hear a car behind me – slowly coming beside me… in my peripheral vision I noticed it was very BRIGHT… I hear “excuse me…” like he was asking for directions or domething… so I glance over into this PINK LIT white car with the driver in his birthday suit – SMILING at me…. I was NEVER NEVER the fastest runniner until that day… be careful

  5. 6 PJ December 16, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    For me it depends on the driver – rusted out car with a teenager it in – perfect! Usually, the only rusty cars around here also belong to hoarders and the car is filled to the windows with crap. And honestly, I’m judging them more on that than on their car. Though I really don’t see them that often. Unless, I get out of the immediate (like 5 mile radius) DC area – then you see a fair amount of older cars.

    One year when I was trick-or-treating with a group (like 8-10) of my friends there was a car (a jacked-up truck, I think) that followed us. I’m not sure what the guy thought he was going to get away with given the large group. Anyways, eventually I realized that he was always on the same street as us and no one in the group recognized the car – so, when we got to a house where I knew the family (though this wasn’t my neighborhood), I told the mom and the dad happened to be police commissioner (I knew he was a police officer) of the city and he was home. Needless to say, the guy in the truck did not have a good night and we all continued on with no problems.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


