my little gluttons

Funny thing, Tim and I both actually lost weight over this little Thanksgiving break. I think it is probably the only time in my life I’ve been able to say that. Apparently, food – along with everything else – becomes secondary when you have a baby. Thanksgiving was no exception. I had one plate and one piece of pie and that was it.

Seconds?

There is no time for seconds.

However, I am sure that after seeing all of your plates, those extra pounds are going to just fly right onto my hips. It’s practically a given.

So, first, thank you to everyone who took a few minutes to take a picture of your plate and then take another few minutes to email it to me! They all looked amazing and I want all of you to come over for dinner next year and we’ll have a giant feast of all things delicious.

Second?

THE PLATES!

The lovely Lucinda. You can check her blog out, too, after seeing her perfectly proportioned plate., extra potatoes (I think?) and stuffing, hold the turkey. My kind of gal.

Next. my actual-in-real-life friend, Jessi. She texted over a picture…and no, I didn’t have a chance to try any of the deliciousness, which she described as “Turkey, ButternutSquash-Apple stuffing, sweet potato mash, Parmesan-almond cauliflower, and broccoli salad.”

YUM.

And next, my bloggy friend since almost the beginning of my blogging adventure, Maureen. First? You need to come teach me how to grow sweet potatoes. Second? I love her in real life job. As in, I’d love to do a “day in the life.” Go check out her blog once you see this giant, gorgeous sweet potato she grew IN HER GARDEN. I don’t even have a garden, Maureen…I don’t even have a garden. Also, this is what is on her plate: Turkey breast, green bean casserole, croissant and organic baked sweet potato from our garden <— still jealous, Maureen.

Another bloggy friend of mine since almost the beginning is NySoonerGirl. I know her name in real life but her blog is kind of anonymous so we’re going to keep it that way. Maybe if you read her blog and make nice, you’ll know her name one day, too? Anyway, the important part? She gave me a take two of her dinner plate (better half eaten than never, right?) and also her dessert plate, which I’d like to shove right into my face because I LOVE DESSERT.

Her dinner plate *was* filled with  was turkey, mashed potatoes with turnips and cream cheese and a few turnips. Just so everyone knows, she wasn’t a fan of the turnips.

I don’t think I would have been, either.

Dessert totally made up for those turnips, though. Who wouldn’t love a chocolate torte with homemade whipped cream, a pumpkin whoopie pie, and a chocolate peanut butter oatmeal bar.

Nysoonergirl, I’m coming to your house the next time we’re in town.

Up next? Britni from Rhode Island. First? Hi, Britni!! I love the way your name is spelled and I love that you are along for this crazy ride AND sent a picture! It is so fun to learn when someone I didn’t know about reads the blog…it makes me smile. Yay!

Ok, enough on me. On Britni’s plate? Roasted turkey, Mashed potatoes and gravy, Turkey stuffing, Cranberry sauce (jellied), French onion soup (our tradition). She called it a simple dinner for two but french onion soup? YUM. My favorite. Seriously. I love that stuff. Secondly? We do jellied cranberry sauce, too. Wobbly all the way!

Next, Ms. Elvira from Western MA who blogs over here. She wins for the prettiest plate. I pretty much wanted to trade plates with her the second I saw it. I’m not even sure what everything is, but is doesn’t matter. She’s coming to my house for Thanksgiving next year. She is also someone I didn’t know read my blog  didn’t realize I knew read my blog, so I am extra, extra happy today!

My father-in-law also sent his plate. Except…I think maybe he got confused as to the request of a “before” picture. I’m getting a hint of some kind of sweet potato…possibly stuffing?…well, whatever it was, he obviously liked it enough to become a member of the clean plate club!

And lastly, my dear friend who I have known since forever (legit like since we were three), sent me pictures of her THREE Thanksgiving plates.

THREE.

No judgement, Whitney. No judgement.

(Read: sarcasm)

I have no idea what all if on these plates or if they happened in one day or in multiple days but, still. I’d like them to all be recreated and put in front of my face. They look amazing. Drooling over here, excuse me.

Oh, wait. You didn’t think I forgot about MY PLATE, did you?

Wouldn’t that be funny if I had forgotten to take a picture of my own plate when I’m sitting over here asking you to hold off on digging in before you snap a shot?

Truth is, I did ALMOST forgot and Tim was like, “Wow…that would have been bad…”

On my plate? Homemade bread (by Tim), turkey, cranberry sauce (wobbly all the way!), Brussels sprouts (recipe), stuffing (recipe), and whipped sweet potato.

We decided to try a new stuffing recipe, since we can’t seem to get the family recipes right. Ever.

And Kellan’s plate. His has…a little turkey, stuffing, butternut squash, peas, cranberry sauce and blueberries.

He mostly just ate the blueberries. They’re his new favorite.

And the pie. Pumpkin, of course. I love pumpkin pie like whoa. That’s a little homemade whipped cream on the side, too.

And my day after meal plate. It’s tradition and it’s also a croissant with turkey, stuffing and cranberry sauce. THE BEST SANDWICH EVER.

If you have any leftovers, I implore you to try it.

We also eat pie for breakfast the day after Thanksgiving.

Just thought you should know.

Thank you again, everyone who shared their plates! If I forgot someone…yell at me. It’s entirely possible.

The rest of the week? Stories from vacation! And boy, do I have some stories that involve yogurt and cars and crazy “it’s the end of the world!” sunsets. And art projects. Let’s not forget those.

10 Responses to “my little gluttons”


  1. 1 lucindalines November 26, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    This was so cool. I forgot to tell you, I made pumpkin/potatoes that is why I had so many. Also my daughter made the turkey, and she does NOT like meat to be shoe leather as I do, so that is why I didn’t eat much. Family joke by now, but I want my meat to be laying in a prone position with no chance of it getting up and walking off the plate. Great job you did here with all of the plates and remarks. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving with that great little guy!!

  2. 2 lucindalines November 26, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    By the way, I am reblogging this, so that some of my friends can see your neat blog.

  3. 5 lucindalines November 26, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    Reblogged this on lucindalines and commented:
    Hey everyone, just wanted to share a great blog with all of you. Hope you enjoy this post and check out other posts on Booshy

  4. 6 Britni November 26, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    Love this post! It’s fun comparing all the of the different foods. Do it again for Christmas???

    Thanks for the shout out about the spelling of my name. I happen to love it too! Even though no one spells it right. Hahaha!

    BTW, the french onion soup was awesome! And why have I never put Thanksgiving leftovers on a croissant?!?! Must do next year!

  5. 7 PJ November 26, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    I really wanted to take a picture of my plate and send it; but, I was at a friend’s parents house and I didn’t want them to think I was completely insane for taking a picture of my plate. But we had turkey, mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole (with the mini marshmallows on top); green beans, stuffing, homemade cranberry sauce, and rolls.

  6. 10 Whitney November 27, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    This was cool! I’m glad I could add my gluttony to the mix. And for the record, those 3 meals were not on the same day! I don’t think I would have survived that. Although, one of them did include three different kinds of potatoes. We all had no choice but to do nothing besides sit very still and watch tv for a long time after that one. Happy Thanksgiving!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


