bea-u-ti-ful!

My thankfulness today is for Tim and my Type A, organizational, detail oriented, anal personalities.

I know.

Why?

Clutter and stuff laying out everywhere and not put away and total messes make us CRAZY.

CRA-ZY

Except when it comes to Kellan. He can make messes and be a kid and that’s ok. For some reason, that’s no big deal. Like, at all. The fuzzy angry mess monster doesn’t rile itself up in my sternum when it comes to Kellan.

Anyway, I’m thankful for our anal tendencies because it allowed us to go bananas over the weekend and do all kinds of projects that we had been putting off since forever (read: since Kellan). For instance, somehow, Kellan’s toys multiplied over the past few weeks to the point the family room was a MESS.

TOYS.

EVERYWHERE.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It finally got beyond Tim or my ability to cope.

Sooooo what did we do?

Buy a giant storage cube, of course!

And put all baby things in the basement.

And pick up all the nonsense.

Now, our family room…is BEAU-TI-FUL!

(and it feels 50% larger because all the stuff is gone. Hallelujah! Praise the baby  Jesus!!!!!!!)

(the cube is behind the entertainment center so you don’t even know it is there!)

(but, it’s totally there — see?)

We also bought things at Lowe’s, like a cat door and a jigsaw, so we could keep the basement door permanently closed instead of half open with a door stop (that I never put back). It was part of the baby proofing but it made us SO MUCH HAPPIER that it was finally done.

BEA-U-TI-FUL!

And Tim deep cleaned the kitchen!

BEA-U-TI-FUL!

We probably definitely spent too much time cleaning and running errands and wracking our brains with what else needed to be done because while at Lowe’s, Tim and I spent a good minute  at the trunk of our car, trying to open it with the automatic key thing.

It wouldn’t open.

Grrrrrreat.

After the third time Tim pushed the button and it didn’t work (sound familiar?), I was all, “It’d be faster if you just used your hand to open it.”

Finally, Tim was like, “Why does the beep sound so muted…OMG.”

Me: “What?”

Tim: “THIS ISN’T OUR CAR.”

Good thing we didn’t attempt a physical hand entry…….that might have gotten a little awkward.

I guess that’s the downside to a Type A – we get so lost in the details that we don’t even realize what’s going on in the bigger picture, as in there is a reason the key doesn’t work and, oh! Would you look at that? The license plate isn’t even ours.

Even though, to our defense, the car was the exact same…

4 Responses to “bea-u-ti-ful!”


  1. 1 lucindalines November 5, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    Your home is beautiful, and I can totally relate to the car thing. This was too funny!!

  2. 2 jobo November 6, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    LOVE your house!!! want it!! can I have it? Please? 😉 What a productive day, and love the car story. so funny. aw-kwardddd.

  3. 3 bevchen November 7, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    Your house is gorgeous! I don’t think my flat looks that clean EVER, including when I’ve just tidied.

  4. 4 vindictivehippie November 19, 2012 at 11:11 am

    I have never seen my home that clean. Well, i have, but it happens like twice a year, or if I move and don’t have anything unpacked yet. And I lose my car in the parking lot of wherever I am about 50% of the time, so don’t feel bad 🙂


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


