dear kellan month 8

My little nature bug. I can’t believe we are at eight months already. I know, I know. I keep saying that, month after month, but you have no idea how quickly this precious time is passing. Every day you do something that makes me laugh or smile or just amazes me. You are so smart. You figure things out so quickly.

I’m not sure I can convey to you how much you love plants. We let you sit in the front yard and pull on the bushes. You grab one piece and shake it, which makes the whole bush move and absolutely fascinates you. You also love books and have figured out how to turn the pages if I start it for you. You do this slap-hit kind of motion but it gets the job done. Your daddy and I have memorized so many of those books (Moo, Baa, Lalala; Happy Hippo, Angry Duck; Dr. Seuss’ ABCs; Are You A Cow?; The Barnyard Dance) that we recite them to you sometimes without the book in front of us and you still get excited, especially during certain parts of certain books, like the part in Happy Hippo Angry Duck that goes, “Or you’re frazzled like a…um…frazzled thing. I’m not sure what it is.”

You also are beginning to form some kind of relationship with Chole and with the dogs. You love them all but Gracie and Alegre are still pretty standoffish. If the dogs are laying on the floor, you will roll over to them and pet them…or pull out their fur…and both Maddie and Lexi are pretty tolerant. You also like to help us throw the ball for Lexi outside. You get the biggest smile when we throw the ball and she goes to retrieve it.

As for food…we are still working on it. You don’t really get super excited about anything we’ve given you so far. You did try a Bosc pear (9/19) and you seemed to like it. You are not a fan of baby cereal or puréed food. I still try to give it to you every now and then but it is met with a sour looking face and fingers in the mouth to fish out the offending substance. Apparently you like to chew – even though you still don’t have any teeth! I did make homemade chicken noodle soup one day and you really seemed to like the chicken and the broth – so that’s a start! You also like those squeeze pouches of fruit – sometimes – and also cooked pasta. We figured out the pasta thing during our trip to Rochester (10/11 – 10/15) so you could meet your uncles and aunts and cousin and other family members…but back to the pasta…you just kind of kept asking me to put another piece in your mouth (or you put a piece in) and you squirreled it away in your cheeks instead of actually eating it and then an hour or so later I’m like, “Pasta? Where did this come from?”

And a bit more about that Rochester trip – you were great! We had to take two different flights there/back because there isn’t a direct flight from Denver. Throughout the entire process you were the best baby ever. People on the plane even complimented how great you did! Granted, it is getting slightly challenging to hold you/nurse you in the tiny seats because you are so big, but we managed. Our layovers weren’t even that long – the one home we had enough time to get off one plane and then race to the gate of the other plane and get on – and you still were such a trooper! You also had lots of fun at your Nonni and Papa’s! I think your favorite was their yard with all of the plants and trees and bushes to play with and touch. You probably would have camped outside had you had a choice.

As for your other milestone type achievements…we are still working on crawling. So far, rolling is your only mode of transportation. You have figured out how to pivot on your belly so you can roll in a different direction to get wherever it is you want to go. I know you’re working hard on your tummy because sometimes you’ll be laying there on your belly, and lay your head on your hands on the floor like, “Whew. I need a rest.” It’s actually really cute but I also kind of feel for you like, “Wow. You’re really working hard!”

You are also semi-pointing/leaning – like I said earlier – to tell us you want to see something that is out of your reach (that started 9/23). You also figured out how to clap, which is so cute, especially if we say, “Kellan! Clap clap clap! Can you do it?” and then you’ll clap and smile.

It’s one of our favorite games to play with you. That and to ask you a question like, “Can you pick up the taxi (or whatever toy)?” and you’ll follow the directions.

I’m still in awe as to how you figured out what we mean…what we are asking…it’s not like we had to explain to you what a question meant or what certain words mean…it is incredible to watch you learn. Simply incredible.

You also figured out object permanence without your daddy or me doing anything major to teach you. I realized you knew that something didn’t disappear forever if you dropped it or lost sight of it when you were sitting in your highchair, playing with your spoons. You dropped one and instead of just picking up the next thing on your tray, ignoring the spoon that fell, you instead looked over the tray on the floor and stared at the spoon like, “Aren’t you going to get that? It’s down there. On the floor.”

You made up your own little game one day. If you have the red football and are on your tummy, you will toss it and then roll/reach to try and grab it…and then do it again. I’m not sure where you got the idea for that game but it is fun to watch you challenge yourself. You also like to play catch with your red football or any ball, really. We will roll it back and forth to each other on the floor while you’re sitting up (which you do without any support, now, though you sometimes like to test gravity and lean backwards to see how far you can go, which will eventually mean you fall over. I still put pillows behind you because the one day I didn’t, you decided to do your little lean back experiment while I was in the kitchen and you fell and smacked your head on the coffee table. Tears everywhere. Mommy felt awful! So, until you have a little more control, pillows.

Your head had a rough month. I also nailed you in head with my elbow one night when I laying down to nurse you (10/6). You looked shocked and then you started bawling. My elbow left a giant red mark on your forehead. I felt terrible! Daddy sang the “we’re on our way” song and I bounced you to calm you down. I know it was just a bump but it was completely avoidable. Mommy is sorry. Still.

Anyhow, I can tell you are working hard on your pincher grasp because you pinch me while you’re nursing. It was really bad for a few weeks (10/1) – to the tune of bruises on my chest – but it has since lessened. At first, you thought it was funny. I, obviously, did not. I know you’re just trying to figure out how to do such a small movement, so I didn’t really stop you because I knew your pinching would stop once you figured it out. Now, your pinching is much lighter and not at all painful. You haven’t totally mastered it, yet, but I’m sure it’ll happen soon.

As for sleep…well, we had a breakthrough one night (9/26). You and I are still co-sleeping and that night you stopped nursing, rolled away from me and went to sleep. All by yourself. I kind of just lay there in shock like, “Did that just happen?”

It did. You’re making progress!

You also sleep most of the night, waking 2-3 times for a few seconds and then you fall back asleep…usually on the boob but that doesn’t last long. We are both getting more sleep and that is a good thing. However, you are smart enough to know if I am “fake sleeping” to try and goad you to go back to sleep and you don’t want to sleep anymore. Instead of falling back asleep, you’ll start touching/hitting my face like, “Hello! MOM! Wake up!”

Thanks, kiddo. I’m awake, now.

I also learned you do not sleep at all when you have a cold. You caught a nasty one after coming home from Rochester and you and I were awake all night long. You couldn’t breathe, your nose a bonafide snot factory. The next day and night, we did everything we could to make you more comfortable – we elevated the bed with towels, had the humidifier going, nasal spray, camilia, booger sucking, baby Vicks on your feet with socks, a bath in a super steamy bathroom, Tylenol (we took you to the doctor to make sure it was just a cold because you would wake up screaming – and found you are also teething). The next night was better but seeing you sick is so hard! I do everything I can to make you feel better because I can tell you are so confused as to why you can’t breathe and why you feel sick.

We also had another doctor’s appointment to measure your head (9/28). You are off the charts, little man. I am keeping all of your stats in your baby book so you can see how much you grow every month. It is truly incredible. You are literally the size of a 14 month old…

Another mini-milestone? We had our first first play date sans mom with your friend Keegan (9/30). It was the first time mommy and daddy babysat and everyone did great! We read stories and played and then you napped for half of the time Keegan was here, so that kind of made it a lot easier, but, still. We are all becoming a competent little family! It is so exciting!

It is so crazy to think we are almost at one year. It is getting colder outside and soon, it’ll be winter. Last year at this time, colder weather meant one season closer to having you! This year, it is one season closer to celebrating one year with you, the sunshine of our life. The best thing that has ever happened to us. The most precious little boy in the whole wide world.

I love you so much!

Mama.

2 Responses to “dear kellan month 8”


  1. 1 adewvall October 24, 2012 at 11:33 am

    Aww warm fuzzies! It’s amazing to watch children grow and learn about the world around them! So glad you are spending so many wonderful moments with Kellan.

  2. 2 Shannon October 30, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    Holy crap! I can’t believe he is 8 months. It flies! happy 8 month Kellan you are such an adorable baby!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


