bringing back the buff-tober

Remember years ago when I did Bufftober?

(**Disclaimer** Four letter word usage)

(If you’re still here since Bufftober, high five! Look how far we’ve come? Also? You deserve some kind of recognition…lemme check Pintrest and see what I can find…(the obsession is unhealthy. I know)).

Anyway, for everyone else, Bufftober was basically what it sounds like: Get fit (or at least start to) in the month of October. There are no real rules other than you’re supposed to exercise and eat (fairly) healthily. However you deem “exercise” and “healthy” is up to you, but it usually involves forgoing things like cookies and cupcakes and instead getting your sweat on in a variety of ways (running, walking, cycling spinning, weights, gym classes, yoga…).

You’re kind of supposed to carry the buffness past the 31 days…but who knows if that really ever happened originally (I’d guess the obvious answer to that is NO. WAS NOT CARRIED THROUGH)…point is, today Tim is starting a “Biggest Loser” contest at work and because actual money is involved, he’s bound and determined to win.

(So am I)

(For him to win, I mean)

(I’m not in the competition)

(Probably a good thing)

(I’m competitive to a fault, remember?)

(And I’m breast feeding)

(I digress)

We also decided to use this competition as a jumping off point to (finally) clean up our eating, get into a regular exercise groove and be good examples for Kellan in both arenas. The timing of this is perfect, since Kellan is juuuuust on the brink of wanting to really start eating *real* food and I would rather be able to give him a taste of whatever it is that I’m eating instead of being like, “Nope, sorry, kid. This is chocolate and you can’t have it…(but mommy can?)”

This is going to be super difficult at first, because I haven’t really cared much about what I’m eating (see above: breast feeding) but I’m excited to finally pay more attention and get back into my exercise groove that I totally lost post-baby (read: no sleep).

I’ve wanted to do this since forever, it seems, and I always told myself that I needed to make sure I had healthy (and realistic) habits to teach my (no longer future) children. I know that this needs to happen and I guess we’ve procrastinated long enough. My original *plan* was to have these healthy habits in place before pregnancy…then during pregnancy…then pregnancy cravings/nausea hit and, well, hello, Taco Bell!…obviously, the habits never really happened.

So, here we are.

The Biggest Loser thing goes through the middle of January…but let’s just start with a month and see how we’re feeling come November 1, shall we?

If anyone wants to join me for Bufftober (YES. DO IT!), let me know via email or comments. We can check in every week (I can link up to your blog if you want to write your own little diddy about how you’ve done the past week) and encourage each other and laugh at with each other and become BUFF.

If you stick it out until the end, maybe you’ll grace one of these bad boys.

(Ladies who are still here *and* participated in the original Buff-tober? Don’t think I didn’t forget about this little masterpiece of mine)


So, who’s with me?

I’m gonna need help and motivation.

Loads.

And for all you (JoJess…etc) who are on the permanent buff-wagon – feel free to chime in with tips and help and words of wisdom!

13 Responses to “bringing back the buff-tober”


  1. 1 Jess Sutera October 1, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    Bring it on #bufftober!!! I love this idea — I’m in full support and would love to join in as well. Perhaps a daily twitter reminder with hashtags and all to keep us accountable??

  2. 3 Mrs Loquacious October 1, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    It’s like we are blog twins! I *just* (as in last week) returned to the Y and h myself a

  3. 4 Mrs Loquacious October 1, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Let’s try that again. It’s like we are blog twins! I *just* (as in last week) returned to the Y and got myself a new membership. Went 3x last week and plan to do 4x this week. Bring iton Bufftober (although when I’m done, I still won’t be buff … Just less fat)! πŸ˜‰

    • 5 Jessica October 1, 2012 at 8:37 pm

      Go you!! You’ll be MOAR BUFF! I am kind of dragging myself into this, partially kicking and screaming….though I know once I get back into the groove, I’ll love it.

      I also have to see if Kellan will tolerate the nursery at the gym. Scary (mostly for me)!!!

  4. 6 jobo October 2, 2012 at 9:28 am

    I am obviously in on #bufftober too! Love this! I think it’s a great goal for accountability and to head into winter with buffness in mind πŸ˜‰ I think it’s just easier to want to slide into comfort zone heaven in winter months when you can wear big bulky sweaters and such πŸ˜‰ Let’s amp it up everyone!! πŸ™‚

  5. 8 Angelia Sims October 2, 2012 at 10:08 am

    I still have my page somewhere. Lol! I think I’ve gone rogue. I’m bluff-tober and FLUFFtober. I should really try for buff and aim high. πŸ™‚

  6. 10 Evelyn October 2, 2012 at 10:49 am

    I’ve done 39 pounds this year, and stalled for the past couple of months. Really want to do 5 or 6 pounds this month and to become bathing suit worthy for a sun vacation in November. Alas, cycling weather is almost done and so I need to pick up the walking from 20 miles a week to 30. And get on the old exercise ball to tighten up. And hit the gym, or the pool. Yikes. When am I going to have time for my job?

  7. 11 trishgruenwald October 4, 2012 at 10:25 am

    Buff-tober is ingenious! I am so in with everyone as I finally joined a gym heading into the cold winter months so I don’t have any excuses not to run! My husband and a friend of his hired a personal trainer a few months back so we always say to them “WTF” = “Witness The Fitness”!

  8. 13 adewvall October 17, 2012 at 11:01 am

    Aww, Bufftober. Those were the days. The month’s only half over, guess I could still jump on the bandwagon! And goodness knows I (and my thighs!) need it!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,431 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


