giant

So…have we talked about how big Kellan’s head was?

No, like, for serious. Kid has a giant head.

So much so that we had to go back to the pediatrician on Friday to have the circumference of his head remeasured because the rate at which his head is growing is literally off the charts.

We found out that his entire person is basically off the charts – at or close to the 99th percentile.

In a month, the child grew 1.5 inches, gained 2 pounds and his head grew a half an inch, bringing him to 24.2 pounds, 30 inches tall and a whopping 19.5 inch head circumference.

Our pediatrician was all, “You are not going to believe the graphs on this kid.”

(He shows us where Kellan is relative to “normal” on graphs based on his measurements)

He also told us that Kellan is the size of a 14 month old baby. So, it’s like his body went ahead and had its first birthday party, all, “Why wait for 12 months when we can do it in seven?!”

Overachiever runs in the family. Obviously.

Long story short, we are going back again in another month to see if his head growth slows down. If not, we have to decide what route we want to take. One such path leads to a CT scan, which we are not exactly thrilled about. The other…is the waiting game. The doctor is concerned about extra cerebral spinal fluid, which is bad mojo.

We are pretty much convinced that he’s just….BIG.

Yesterday, my mom was all, “Jessica. You come from BIG PEOPLE. He’s fine.”

Then, I thought about it for a second and my knee bones are kind of ridiculous and my femur is legit two feet (or so) long and I’ll never have that lithe frame I always dreamed about…

I’m big.

Kellan is big.

We are BIG PEOPLE.

3 Responses to “giant”


  1. 1 Whitney September 29, 2012 at 10:42 am

    I personally just love the particular shape of his head. It’s awesome and cute!

  2. 2 Cindy September 29, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    Logically I think your mom is right. If all of him is that big, then most likely it’s just him, ya know? If his height/weight were average, continuing to grow at an average rate, then I can see the worry. But his height/weight and their growth rate mirror his head growth. So most likely he’s just big. Certainly you can’t completely blow off other possibilities; that wouldn’t be prudent parenting. But I hope you aren’t worrying (easy to sit here and say, eh?).

  3. 3 Evelyn October 1, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    Don’t worry. I weighed in at around 30 pounds when I was 12 months. I started Kindergarten at the same weight and finished high school at 98 pounds. And I’m only 5’2″. Sometimes babies are just chubby and adorable.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


