five years ago: the wedding (part music)

***Obligatory “please vote for Kellan by clicking here” header***

Tim and my wedding anniversary is coming up this weekend.

Our five year wedding anniversary.

Five years, people.

WOW.

It really has gone by so quickly. I know it didn’t feel that way sometimes…but this day surely doesn’t feel like five years ago:

But it was.

Since most (read: 99.9%) of you probably weren’t at our wedding, I thought it would be fun to share with you some of the things we did. I loved our wedding. Every single bit of it. Every little detail – and boy did we do it down to the detail.

Today I’ll share with you the music we had during the ceremony. It took weeks of Tim and me sitting in the computer room for hours at a time, listening to song after song after song, trying to decide what to have played during each part of the ceremony (and we had to figure that out, too) and who was going to play it. The whole project was tedious and sometimes annoying because it was like, “JUST PICK SOMETHING” and then it was “BUT IT’S OUR WEDDING.”

Ahhhhhh!!!!!!!!

Finally, we settled on a string quartet and, at the time, my brother, Mason, played the trumpet, so we enlisted his services for the Interlude.

The quartet played everything else.

Prelude music (which I heard NONE of, by the way. I was busy in the downstairs part of the chapel, by myself – save the photographer. Nervous as can be.)

(and I don’t remember what any of these sounded like, for the record)

  1. Eine Kleine
  2. Queen of Sheba
  3. Music of the Night
  4. Only Time – Enya
  5. Water Music – Hornpipe
  6. Jesu Joy of Man’s Desiring

Processional: Cannon in D

Bride’s Entrance: Edelweiss

Unity Candle: Bless The Broken Road

Interlude: Trumpet Voluntary

Recessional: Spring from the Four Seasons by Vivaldi

I have no idea why all of that took forever to figure out, but it did. I wanted something special for my walk down the aisle and I don’t even remember the reasoning behind anything else…that’s how unimportant these things end up being AFTER THE FACT.

While you’re in the thick of it?

MOST IMPORTANT THING IN THE HISTORY OF EVER. DEAD SERIOUS.

I know the music was awesome with the string quartet…I just wish we had recorded it because, honestly? I barely even remember the ceremony, much less the music. The only part I actually remember is the unity candle and that is only because it took five seconds to light that thing and the song was a few minutes long. I looked at Tim like, “We didn’t plan for this dead air part. WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO?!”

He whispered to enjoy it.

I think I tried?

I remember feeling really exposed, like the entire world was staring at me.

Which, technically, it was, if the “entire world” meant the tiny chapel we were in with our friends and family.

The song was over soon enough and we went on with the business of getting married, as most people do in that kind of situation.

I really wish someone had recorded it, though. I’d really like to relive that day…that moment…in something other than pictures.

Also? I just wanted to say hi! and thank you! to anyone and everyone who follows my little blog. I know it isn’t much, but it means something to me when I get an email letting me know that you decided to follow along…

2 Responses to “five years ago: the wedding (part music)”


  1. 1 Anonymous September 6, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    It was a beautiful day and a great memory.

  2. 2 Shannon September 7, 2012 at 8:43 am

    We have been doing the same thing on music lately! I think, having done it once before, I know better now so the stuff isn’t stressing me out as much. Probably a good thing:)


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


