it’s kicking my ass…ets.

I’m not entirely sure where I first heard about the Wonder Weeks…but after reading about them and then buying the book, I’m a firm believer that every so often, your child goes crazy.

Crazy as in making a giant developmental leap but still, everything goes right out the window.

He naps? Oh? Really?

Watch this.

Enter Wonder Week.

FIFTEEN MINUTE NAPS EVERY TWO AND A HALF HOURS.

You can put him down to play by himself? Really?

Watch this.

Spider monkey. All day, all night.

He rarely cries?

Hello, screaming, fussy baby ALL. DAY. LONG.

This Wonder Week 26 might just be the end of me, y’all, and it’s only the first week (of a potential month). I know…you think “wonder week” and are all, “Oh, seven days? I can handle seven days…come on!”

Yah…no. It’s not seven days. It’s up to FOUR WEEKS.

I’m not that great at math but I know four weeks is way more than seven days (it’s 28 days…I’m not THAT math challenged…usually…)

Add teething and a growth spurt? Welcome to your own personal baby hell where you live on granola bars and shovel down dinner so quickly you easily outpace your typically fast-eating husband while he looks at you like, WTF?

I know that Kellan is figuring stuff out and it’s scary and hard and OMG. I (Kellan) just realized that you (mommy) can get really far away from me REALLY QUICKLY and then you turn a corner and disappear.

Don’t do that, mom.

Hold me. All day. If you’re not holding me? Entertain me. Don’t change my anything – clothes, diaper, mood. Let me be. But let me be RIGHT ON TOP OF YOU. I don’t do swings or sitting by myself. I do sitting ON YOU. All day.

I’m actually really glad we co-sleep right now because I know he wouldn’t be sleeping at all by himself at this point…which means neither would I. Fortunately, when he semi-wakes up now, I can stay mostly asleep and just keep an ear and eye on him instead of getting all the way out of bed and checking on him.

Don’t get me wrong – he’s still a sweet baby – he’s just also a crazy clingy baby who needs mom ALL THE TIME. As long as I’m there?

We’re gooooooooooooooood.

I’ve heard (because I’m assuming people actually survive this Wonder Week) that it’s smooth sailing for awhile once this particular leap is over because there is SO MUCH going on in his brain right now that once it passes and he figures the things in this particular leap out, everybody can take a chill pill and mellow out for a bit (until the next Wonder Week, teething phase, growth spurt, random regression, etc) begins.

I guess we’ll just have to trudge through this and see………….

3 Responses to “it’s kicking my ass…ets.”


  1. 1 the speech monster August 25, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    Hang in there yes it gets better ! Then Uhm…hang on tight for another one at 8/9/10 months!!! Meanwhile take care of yourself too do something nice for you. 🙂

  2. 2 Ash March 25, 2013 at 11:08 am

    this is hysterical! i am right in the thick of this WW i think… or teething… or a spurt – who knows with these kiddos! this was a nice read that gave me a chuckle and reminded me that we aren’t alone and that (hopefully) it’ll pass and our sweet, happy babies will return.

  3. 3 taryn January 4, 2014 at 9:09 am

    So I am up in the middle of the night rocking my poor girl who can’t sleep so obviously I am googling ww26 to help remind me I am not alone and guess whose blog I see? Kellan sounds just like gj. She is nightmare right now. It just came out of nowhere too; she had been so happy recently. Sigh. But kellan is proof it gets better. Hugs.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


