i am not at all prepared for brown logs in the pampers

So……………..Kellan will be six months old on Sunday. I know. I KNOW. I think I’ve already mentioned his age milestone about seventy billion times already.

but.

This time, instead of it just being, “Aw! Another month older!” it’s “Aw!….WaitOMG. We’re supposed to start introducing REAL FOOD. As in my boob isn’t going to be the sole source of nourishment anymore. As in there goes my simple daily feeding plan (whip out the boob).”

I realize that year one is “just for fun” when it comes to food BUT I still have to, like, I mean…he and his little virgin palate has to be introduced to REAL food.

And *I* have to prepare it and feed it to him.

No more dozing off while he eats. Noooo….I have to be an active participant.

Also?

I’m hell bound on making my own baby food (which you probably gathered from the whole ‘preparing’ bit above). I want to avoid the jars if at all possible. Not that I have anything against the jarred stuff. I just want to……ok, here it is: I want to learn how to cook WELL and ENJOY IT (it being cooking). I’m hoping that starting with the basics (if I mess up baby food?…fail) will give me more confidence to do more complicated things. Like chicken.

So, no jarred food except maybe when we travel because I’m not that Martha Stewart Little Miss Susie Homemaker. Imagine having to find a kitchen or a way to make sure his food doesn’t spoil? Because how much fun would a tiny upset stomach be far, far away from home?

Zero percent.

And pre-planning what I’d have to bring versus just grabbing some pre-made sweet potatoes at the store?

Why do that to myself?

Making baby food should probably be an at-home-only endeavor. Plus? I’m not out to win any My Baby Never Ate From a Jar medals.

Pre-made with a spoon, please.

But, since we’re home more than we travel, I have lots of things to help me. I hope.

I have a Baby Bullet (that is still in the box, unopened) that we got from someone at our baby shower. I have a book (that I haven’t even cracked the spine on) with all kinds of help and FYI’s and recipes. I also found a super awesome website about making your own baby food.

Now I just need to get into the groove…and tackle the Bullet. I don’t really like reading a litany of instructions…

Oy.

I made the extra effort to buy carrots and a sweet potato at the store the other day for Kellan.

But wait.

With the real food comes the real food diapers.

I am not at all prepared for brown logs in the Pampers.

*hold me*

7 Responses to “i am not at all prepared for brown logs in the pampers”


  1. 1 Casey August 16, 2012 at 7:37 am

    1. Ok, so at first, real poop is gross and can be messy. But, BUT, after a while it’s actually much easier to deal with than breastmilk only poop. Trust.
    2. I’ve written a bunch of posts of making baby food… here’s a good one to start with: http://thebakerbee.com/2011/07/12/stuff-you-need-to-feed-your-kid/
    3. We used homemade baby food when we traveled (by car… not by plane). It was actually really easy. We just put the food in little plastic containers and brought a cooler with us. At restaurants, we’d ask for a cup with hot water and we heated the food that way… bottle style.
    4. Don’t stress & have fun with it! Eli’s favorite first foods were bananas & avocados. And, you don’t even have to cook those!

  2. 2 Caity King August 16, 2012 at 8:30 am

    The best way to save your own baby food is to buy an ice cube tray and once you have your purees, freeze individual portions for quick warm ups. They are good up to 3 months.
    Also, baby poop not so bad. My first gag was the first time I had to dump a poop from the training seat. 🙂

  3. 3 Cindy August 16, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    The poop starts out pretty squishy still, anyway. 🙂 It’s a transition. (I love how talking about poop becomes completely normal once you’re a mom)

  4. 4 sarah August 16, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    What about baby-led weaning? My girl is four months, so I haven’t thought too much about it yet, but I don’t personally know any Asians who bother with purées and blenders 😛

  5. 5 Adrianne August 16, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    Excited to read about another baby food maker! It can definitely be time consuming, but it is super easy! And I actually do take my homemade stuff when we go out to restaurants and what not. I’ve found that if I take it out of the freezer before we go, it’s thawed and ready to eat by the time we reach our destination but it’s still chilled enough to where it’s not getting contaminated. If we were actually traveling out of the city, that might be different, but in that case I think I’d just stop by a grocery store in my destination and pick up some bananas and avocados and what not that are really easy to mash up with just a fork.

    This post was written several months ago, so obviously a lot has changed since then (might as well be years ago in baby talk), but maybe you’ll find it helpful/interesting! http://chasingfulfillment.wordpress.com/2012/05/20/solids-part-2/

    Good luck and have fun! 🙂

    P.S. I started making baby food partially for the same reason: to learn to cook in general and I actually have learned quite a bit! Sad but true.

  6. 6 lucindalines August 19, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Oh the fun of real food. By the way when babies start eating real food, they are more satisfied and tend to sleep longer at a time. Good luck with that. We fed our children whole food way before the doctors now would approve.

  7. 7 Monica Jones (@Dirty_Hooker) August 19, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    You can do it. I believe in you.

    I plan to cloth diaper when this one is born, because apparently I hate myself, and I’m very scared of real poop. Terrified.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


