are we weird?

I don’t know…maybe we’re old school when it comes to this…maybe not…but Tim and I have joint everything.

Well, let’s clarify. Not *everything* per se, but everything when it comes to one of the hot button marriage topics: MONEY/Finances/Passwords.

Good thing, actually, since, um…Kellan doesn’t exactly pay me in cold, hard cash money every two weeks for my never ending services. If I had my own personal bank account, it would currently show a big, fat ZERO.

This jointness doesn’t end with accounts that we can access at any point.

We also know each other’s passwords.

For everything.

Well, everything important.

I honestly have no desire to know passwords for websites that I’ll rarely use…thank you, password manager.

And if we don’t know one?

We ask.

If neither of us know it?

Punt.

Anyway, nothing is secret.

Well, to my knowledge, anyway.

Everything is out there – willingly, I should add.

I’m guessing that this kind of transparency is probably not the norm and I’m sure some of you are like, “OMG. GET YOUR OWN. HIDE THINGS. SQUIRREL THEM AWAY!”

And if I don’t?

Then…what? I’ll end up living in a cardboard box in the rare, off chance that I decided to go find another sugar daddy (read: sarcasm) or he found himself a sugar mama (you never know…again: sarcasm)?

It’s not like Tim would be all, “sucks to be you” and leave me hanging with not a penny to my name.

I mean…I do have pennies…so I guess that’s technically not a true statement…I digress.

Yes, it is always a risk to be the one without a “job” that pays in something other than spit up, giggles and eventually, Monopoly money. It was a risk I was willing to take, mostly because it doesn’t really feel all that risky to me.

I mean, I KNOW ALL.

Let’s just be honest, here.

I’m the boss.

Tim may be in charge at work but oooooh buddy. Once he’s home?

SUBORDINATE.

(I’m kidding, honey. We’re total equals…once you can tell me where the new diaper location is and what brand of bread to buy at the store)

Plus, he would never do that to me – leave me out, shivering in the cold without a dollar to my name.

Plus I have some *really, really* cute collateral.

So, I think the whole point here is that I win.

8 Responses to “are we weird?”


  1. 1 Joann August 10, 2012 at 7:57 am

    You aren’t weird at all. My hubby and I are the same way. We got married to share in everything and for 20 years that’s the way it has been. I’m a stay at home mom of two and I’m responsible with the paycheck he’s brought in. I think it’s all about trust!

  2. 2 Shannon August 10, 2012 at 8:10 am

    We are totally the same way. I know some people feel differently after a divorce but not us. It is just easier. Someone thought I was nuts for being in his facebook the other day but I needed something out of his messages. He doesn’t care. It is all about trust. We are one family and it just works for us.

  3. 3 Arielle August 10, 2012 at 8:43 am

    But you don’t have a joint email account, do you? That’s the one thing I will never understand about some couples. Why? Sure they share everything and mostly know all stuff that’s put in emails anyway, but still I would want my privacy with my emails etc…

  4. 5 Mrs Loquacious August 10, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    Not weird. Again, it’s like we were separated at birth (even though I’m Chinese and you’re…not). LOL. Hubbs and I share everything and we don’t have separate credit cards or accounts. Our names are on each other’s life insurance, in each other’s wills, etc etc. And we have full access to each other’s technology. I guess it is because “divorce” is a word not found in our vocabulary so we don’t have to plan for any “rainy days.”

  5. 6 mm August 10, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    Same for us – we share everything, or for things we don’t share (like email/facebook/cell phones, etc..) we know each other’s passwords. It’s not even a thing. I do have a job that pays an income, but we live off his salary and save mine in case someday we have kids and I want to stay home with them. I manage the money and pay the bills… it works for us too and I wouldn’t want it any other way. 🙂

  6. 7 Maureen August 12, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    Maybe it is because I’m currently the one making the money, but I would never have a joint bank account, and have actually been advised not to do so. As for passwords… I don’t let him know those either. It seems like from the comments, this may not be the norm, but I think it’s partially because I’m more used to being independent, financially and otherwise. Not being married may also make a difference as well.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


