the trip of firsts…in pictures.

I seem to have ideas for what I want to write about at the most inopportune times – like at 3am or when I’m driving or in the shower. Problem is, I tell myself to remember and then by the time I finish whatever I’m doing (sleeping, driving, etc), my brain has moved onto the next task and I completely forget whatever it was I was trying to remember.

It’s a vicious cycle.

Eventually I’ll just say it out loud and ask Kellan to remember for me – isn’t that what kids are for? I mean, his brain is like a sponge and *I* remember, as a kid, I could stuff A LOT of information up there. Kids have plenty of space up in the cerebellum for mundane things, like what his mom wanted to blog about (insert eye roll).

Anyhow, our trip to Atlanta went really, really well. I was pleasantly surprised at how great Kellan handled all of the new situations and people. He hit a laundry list of firsts…first trip to the airport, first airplane, first time trying to take a bottle (we weren’t successful) (all that pumped milk for nothing), first time in a hotel, first time being left with someone other than daddy or mommy, first party where everyone wanted to hold him, first time away from home for an extended period of time, first etc, etc, etc.

Granted, we had our share of meltdowns, mostly when he was waaaaaaaay over tired and we had to get into the car to go somewhere. He wasn’t having ANY OF THAT. The car became the enemy, which was not all that great for anyone, since the car was a necessary means of transportation. One in particular, he screamed the ENTIRE TRIP and I was about to lose it myself and curl into a ball of tears…Tim all, “What do you want me to do? Turn around?” And I’d be all, “We’re almost THERE. We’re not turning AROUND.”

Because five more minutes of screaming versus another forty-five?

KEEP DRIVING.

Overall, though, the trip was definitely good for him because instead of clamming up, he became Mr. Social Butterfly. I guess it’s good the separation anxiety thing hasn’t started yet…because that would have just been a bucket of non-fun.

So, here’s a little of our week in pictures…because why not?

Early morning at the airport

Airplane bottle feeding attempt (Shannon! Look who was sporting your outfit!)

Kellan and Uncle Jeff

And my favorite: “Aw golly, Dad…I really don’t think you should order that…”

And before I go…please think good thoughts for Kellan today. He has to have a “corrective” procedure done on his little wee-wee since the OB (who I am no longer seeing…) didn’t do his circumcision correctly (no judgement, please).

Happy Friday, Friends!

4 Responses to “the trip of firsts…in pictures.”


  1. 1 Shannon July 13, 2012 at 9:00 am

    I was exhausted reading all those first. Especially his first airplane ride! Yay! Glad it went well for the most part adn love the froggy outfit on him! I remember thinking it would be foreveeeeer before he would wear it:) Who was I kidding?:)

  2. 2 hellesbelles86 July 13, 2012 at 11:30 am

    Aww poor kiddo- sending lots of good thoughts his (and your) way! I’m thankful this little one on the way is a girl because I really don’t know where I stand on the whole circumcision thing and I was thankful to dodge that decision making bullet this time around. Sounds like he did great on the trip tho so congrats on that 🙂

  3. 3 Mrs Loquacious July 13, 2012 at 11:34 pm

    How is Kellan doing? I always worry about those procedures, since they involve such a delicate part of baby’s body.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


