life goals

First off, I know I keep talking about how tired I am. It’s because I’m obsessed with sleep, so, apologies if it’s getting old. You go four plus months with only around two hours of sleep at a time – average – and then come talk to me (if you’re able to have a coherent conversation. Because I’m not).

(and that sounded harsher than I meant. Maybe imagine hearts over the I’s and lots of smileys at the end)

Moving on….

I don’t think I’ve shared this before, maybe I have…but one of my lifetime goals is to complete an Ironman triathlon. And FYI that is a 2.4 mile open water swim followed by a 112 mile bike ride followed by running a full marathon (26.2 miles) followed by collapsing from the effort followed by the biggest meal I’ll probably ever eat followed by sleeping for three days straight.

I’ve yet to even do a sprint tri (the shortest kind)…but I feel like that kind of event is something that would be the ultimate challenge, mentally and physically. I know I would need a trainer, for sure, to get me through the grueling training.

And I’d have to find the time to train….this would probably be a “before I’m 40” bucket list item. Tim’s goal was to run a full marathon – and he did it – twice (go Tim!).

My goal is slightly more intense.

I blame the years and years and years of playing competitive sports. I love physically challenging myself, pushing myself to the brink of my physical and mental capacity. I’m pretty sure anIronman would do that.

As would training for the Boston marathon, another desire of mine. I’d love love love to qualify for Boston. Looooove. Again, I’d need a trainer because the kind of speed work and hill work and pace runs needed to get fast enough to qualify would require someone screaming obscenities in my ear the entire time, probably. Definitely.

And I’m sure I’d be screaming right back.

But the pain and agony would be worth it. So, so worth it.

I’m not a fast runner, so getting my body to the point it can run around eight minute miles for 26.2 miles? Muy dificle.

(Tim and I are determined to learn Spanish…gotta start somewhere, right?)

I used to be a decent swimmer and swam on a swim team for six years, so I’m not as worried about that….and I’d have to harden my butt for 112 miles in the saddle….it’s the running FAST FOR HOURS that scares me the most.

But I want to do those two things SO BADLY.

I just need to start. And step one is making my goal public so I end up being held accountable.

Check.

9 Responses to “life goals”


  1. 1 reneehicks June 20, 2012 at 11:29 am

    Great goals!! You can do it! (and a short term goal you might consider is getting some sleep) =D

  2. 3 Jess Sutera June 20, 2012 at 11:38 am

    I love it – nothing like blog accountability to get you going, huh?? I would BOW DOWN TO YOU like whoa whenever you hit this ironman goal of yours. INSANE. Seriously. INSANE. (but you’re a rockstar and could totally rock this!!!)

  3. 5 jobo June 20, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    I love this too! I love your competitive spirit and you have it in you to compete LIKE WHOA! I’m excited for you, now, at 40, whenever 🙂

  4. 6 http://lifestartsnow.wordpress.com June 20, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    you’re nuts. or determined. or nuts with a plan. no, better yet, sleep deprived with a plan! 🙂 good luck!!!

  5. 7 Whitney June 20, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    That’s AWESOME! You can definitely do it! My ultimate running goal at the moment is a marathon, and I’m thinking I’ll give myself until 35 to do it. I might try to sign up for a half within about a year or so. It does help to tell other people about these things!

  6. 8 Casey June 21, 2012 at 8:17 am

    That is one intense goal! DO IT, GIRL!

  7. 9 PJ June 21, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Ooh, I’ve done a sprint tri and I loved it! I would love to do an Ironman Tri also – but I don’t think my knees would let me run that much.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


