bath = win, sleep = never

I cannot believe Kellan will be four months old next week….FOUR MONTHS!

I digress, because I could keep saying that until next Tuesday when he actually turns four months and I’d still be going all, “FOUR MONTHS!!!!!”

So, did I tell you this already? I’m not sure because I’m still not getting much sleep, but we’ve been trying to implement a bedtime routine and part of it seems to be working swimmingly (that’s actually ironic…you’ll see). The other part….eh.

Remember how before Kellan HATED taking a bath? As in rip from from the womb a thousand times over before you put me back in THERE again.

Loads of fun, that was.

So, part of our bedtime routine includes a bath…but instead of a bath in the baby tub from hell (Kellan’s words, not mine), we take a bath with me in the tub with Kellan and Tim on washing duty.

6:15-6:30 every night. You know where I’ll be.

Needless to say, Kellan has gone from crying like a banshee during his bath to actually enjoying himself (don’t tell him I told you). Also? He’s getting really wriggly and mobile and doesn’t want to sit in between my legs anymore. Last night he wanted to full on float on his back all beach chase lounging style. The kid has a serious sense of humor.

The other part of the bedtime routine….hasn’t been as simple.

See, Kellan likes loves ABSOLUTELY MUST – OR SO HELP ANYONE WITHIN EARSHOT -nurse to sleep.

The kid is all about the boob, what can I say?

This isn’t that big of a deal, really, except that’s always how he wants to fall asleep – nap time, nighttime, all the time. IF he happens to wake up at night or during a nap and the boob isn’t right there waiting for him?

I’M AWAKE AND WHERE IS MY FOOD TRAIN?!

So, obviously, getting him to sleep at night without his lovey – aka the boob – has not exactly been very easy.

More like hours of fighting sleep, regardless if we rock him, bounce him, walk him around, etc, etc, etc.

Did I mention I’m already – still – VERY TIRED?

This new little hitch on his way to dreamworld has just made my ability to sleep all that much more challenging because I can’t fall asleep until he’s 100% asleep and put down into bed when, before, I could just kind of nod off while he was nursing.

He still isn’t sleeping more than twoish hours in a stretch at night…so yay, me.

Based on what I’ve read/heard/etc I am assuming that the need to know I am right there in the middle of the night is a developmental thing, not a “I want to make you as tired as possible” thing.

We do not have a baby who is a good sleeper, a long sleeper or a heavy sleeper.

Make one wrong move and he is WIDE AWAKE.

Based on the definition from Dr. Sears, we have a high needs baby, not a docile, easygoing one. Granted, this doesn’t really surprise me…knowing how Tim and I are.

Anyhow, I’m hoping I am paying my zero sleep penance in the beginning and will have a toddler who sleeps like a rock while everybody else is up all night long, like I am now.

Happy Friday, friends and Happy Early Father’s Day to all the daddy’s!

9 Responses to “bath = win, sleep = never”


  1. 1 jobo June 15, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    I’m again just tired reading this! But you are doing awesome, as I keep saying, I am so proud of you! Happy almost 4 months! wow!

  2. 2 hnMom June 15, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    I feel for you. Our little girl was also a high need baby and is now a high need toddler. We still struggle with sleep and naps and I still nurse, but she now wakes only twice during the night most nights, which is a huge improvement. 🙂

    • 3 Jessica June 15, 2012 at 3:01 pm

      HnMom- oh boy….so that is what is in store….

      • 4 hnMom June 15, 2012 at 3:14 pm

        For your sake, I hope not. But yeah, that’s how it is for us. Hang in there, it will get better. Just maybe not the way you’d hoped. 🙂

        • 5 Jessica June 15, 2012 at 3:20 pm

          As long as “get better” equals more sleep, I’m good.

        • 6 hnMom June 15, 2012 at 3:25 pm

          Well, we definitely get more sleep than in the beginning. Only, after 15 months we’ve missed out on so much sleep, that the hours we do get are never enough. Plus, there is no uninterrupted sleep, which I’ve been told is what you really need to feel better. Oh well.

  3. 7 Mrs Loquacious June 15, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    Wow we lead mirrored lives! Baby L is 4.5 (!) months now and I also bathe with her in the tub (where she has just recently learned how to float on her back with my support, and plank and eat the bubbles). She’s also not a fan of any sleep method except nursing. Thanks to kellymom , however, I feel good about keeping her on the boob until she self-weans one day.

    • 8 Jessica June 15, 2012 at 8:36 pm

      Mrs. L: crazy!! I’m so glad bath time is no longer stressful for anyone, mostly Kellan. Also – he’s on the boob for the rest of the night and all naps (unless we’re out and then he just kind of passes out from overstimulation). I’m hoping taking the one nurse to sleep away for now will help him find other ways to fall asleep….time will tell, I suppose. No CIO though.

  4. 9 artchismo June 16, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    Wow…seeing as I myself am not a Mom yet, I had no idea of these details about why you’re not sleeping as much. Hang in there – it sounds to me like you’re doing great. 🙂 And you’re right, nothing stays the same forever, hopefully in no time the tables will turn and you’ll all be sleeping better.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

your favorites (I didn’t pick ’em)

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


