no judgement…but…

Who is excited for the Olympics?

OMG. MEEEEEEE.

I’m also stoked for the Olympic Trails, too because who doesn’t love a little DRAM-A on home court?

Less than 50 days! Wheeeeeeee!

Anyway, that’s all brought to you in whole by sleep regression number four – as in almost four months and definitely NOT sleeping any decent stretch of time at night – or during the day for that matter.

I haven’t slept longer than 90 minutes at a time in…days. Maybe it’s been a week. I have no idea anymore. Give a great big high five to co-sleeping because I don’t think I’d be able to manage otherwise.

I’ve read about all kinds of ways to remedy this but for one, I’m 100% against the cry-it-out method (of any genre). There is nothing wrong with it if that’s your cup of tea. I’m not judging. I’m also not supplementing with formula or oatmeal or rice cereal or anything else. Again, no judgement.

It’s just me, my boobs and Kellan all. night. long.

I’ve tried giving him the pacifier when he wakes up – absolutely no bueno. He wants absolutely nothing to do with it and has gotten to the point where he’ll purse his lips together if I try to shove it in there, still half asleep. If I *do* manage to get it into his pie hole, he promptly begins screaming in protest, so, the boob it is because we all need to stay sane.

Since I don’t have to go back to work and there isn’t a specific schedule I *have* to follow every day, I’ve been pretty laid back with the whole thing. I’m mostly in a state of acceptance where before I was more pulling out my hair, crying, begging the sleep gods for a respite.

Now?

It is what it is and we move on with life.

There is no point in complaining or wishing it would be different or forcing Kellan into something he isn’t ready for. Zero point.

I will say that I have read methods of getting your child to sleep longer or sleep through the night or sleep for more than 90 minute stretches, but I keep coming back to an article on a website called kellymom that makes me go, Hmmm…I can soldier through…because what Kellan is doing isn’t on purpose and it isn’t to torture me and it is 100% normal, probably, and there is definitely a reason for it.”

(I love this website, by the way, new moms or soon to be moms. That and askmoxie)

Maybe I am, again, doing things that a small amount of the population (at least in the Westernized world) does…and maybe you think I’m crazy…

I’m just going with my gut and maternal instincts.

(my maternal instincts did not come with bionic hearing, unfortunately, only paranoid, “IS HE AWAKE?!” hearing where every noise sounds like a baby crying and the baby monitor has run out of juice (read: batteries) and I right now I have to go check on the little non-sleeping-man because I have a feeling that is exactly what he’s doing: NOT sleeping (anymore))

It’s all I have, really, that make any sense to me.

5 Responses to “no judgement…but…”


  1. 1 nonanelson June 8, 2012 at 8:58 am

    Always go with your instincts and as long as you are getting enough rest and the baby is thriving, you are on the right track.

  2. 2 http://lifestartsnow.wordpress.com June 8, 2012 at 11:50 am

    i LOVE the olympics! and i’m kind of bummed that this year i’ll suffer the time difference even though i could have had it with basically no time difference….yeah, i really HAD to move this year…

    as for the rest, instincts are good. you have them for a reason!

  3. 3 lucindalines June 8, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    How old is that son of yours? Remember I am old and I forget things, Ha! Back in the olden days when babies kept mothers up eating all night, Dr.s yes the Dr.s said give them a little real food, like some cereal flakes. Ok, that doesn’t work when nursing. We used to sneak just a pinch into the bottle and they slept because it satisfied them. But we now know that wasn’t good for our babies. Oh well.

  4. 4 Arielle June 9, 2012 at 9:36 am

    Oh yeah, I am excited for the Olympics! I love all the swim stuff, especially when it’s synchronized (and the men in their bathing slips are hot! :D).

    But for now, everybody in Germany- except me- is excited for the European Soccer Championship. I’m only annoyed with it… :-S

  5. 5 Mrs Loquacious June 11, 2012 at 12:18 am

    I’m with you on not doing a CIO. I just hope and pray that when Baby Loquacious is good and ready, she’ll magically sleep through the night. Until then, I’m supplementing (due to low supply) and comfort nursing/bed-sharing to get through the weird middle-of-the-night wake-ups.

    And yeah, I *love* the Olympics. Esp. when Canada wins gold (go Canada!)


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


