ohhhhhh routine, how I will miss thee

I have to share something first that is totally unrelated to anything I want to say.

Yesterday I met another mom from a mom group I joined for a stroller walk. She lives a neighborhood away from us (everything is connected by sidewalks and non-major roads) and this was the first ‘one-on-one’ event I had attended with her.

We met at the reservoir that is within walking distance from both of our houses.

Now, this reservoir is ringed with a gravel path and surrounded by “nature” for the most part.

Part of the path looks like this:

So, it turns out that during this walk I almost RAN OVER nature and freaked right the hell out in the process.

We all know how much I loooooooove snakes (read: horrified, bordering on a phobia, probably is a phobia). And for whatever reason while we were walking yesterday, a small snake decided it would be fantastic to test my ability to remain calm and act like a normal person in front of the potential new mom friend and slither (cringe cringe cringe) right in front of me and almost under the wheel of the stroller (cringe cringe cringe).

I looked at the snake as it slithered away, barely missing my foot and then on the outside was casually all, “Oh…look…a snake” to the girl I was walking with and she was all, “Really? Where? Awesome!”

Inside?

I wanted to jump right into the stroller with Kellan but instead had to settle for internal panic attack all, “OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG SNAKE. OMG OMG OMG I ALMOST TOUCHED IT. OMG OMG OMG OMG. HOLD ME.”

Anyhow, yay for adventures…?…and on to what I was actually going to talk about.

Right now…Kellan is still sleeping, which is totally NOT NORMAL. This child is usually up with the sun and the sun is up around 5AM these days.

(it’s 8:00am right now)

I guess he goes through these cycles where he sleeps A LOT more than normal (which is like 13 hours in a 24 hour period) and isn’t very hungry (eats maybe 2 hours total in a 24 hour period versus 4).

Growth spurt? Neurological spurt? I have no idea. I just know it changes the routine that doesn’t really exist, anyway.

For the last month or so we had settled into a nice morning routine that I know will only last another month or so at best because once he starts rolling over…it’s over.

Currently, after we wake up (this child is notoriously slow in doing so…he needs a few minutes to cuddle and talk and just get ready to take on the day) and change his diaper, I’ll lay him on the bed with two rolled up blankets on either side of him and turn on the Baby Channel (293 for DirecTV people). He is fascinated with it…and I know I said before that he wouldn’t even know what TV was until he was AT LEAST TWO…but then reality got in the way and I needed a way to distract him so I could have a minute to myself. I’ve mostly gotten over the guilt.

So, then, while he’s enthralled with the balloon man and vocabu-Larry (parrot who learns words…) and Tec the Tractor, I’ll shower and brush my teeth and manage to get on a clean nursing tank. By the time I’m done with all of that, he has pretty much reached his limit on TV and is ready for something new.

Still, this inability to roll over and fascination with the Baby channel allots me with a small luxury every morning that soon I’ll have to revamp and figure out a way to keep him entertained IN the bathroom IN his bouncy seat because he’s too mobile to lay on one spot on the bed.

He’s already rolling over from his tummy to his back during tummy time…he doesn’t succeed every time…but he has figured out that, “Hey…if I don’t like this tummy time biznas, I can just maneuver myself back over onto my back.”

I can feel change coming, folks…and it’s coming quickly.

Also not related: the other day Tim saw Kellan nursing with his hand in my temporary cleavage (because let’s be honest, that’s what it is) and he was all, “Isn’t that weird?”

I casually looked down all, “Nope.”

Kellan likes to put his hand there or right on my boob when he nurses…it’s just his “thing” and honestly? I think it is adorable.

And the little man has woken up from his slumber…off to mommy duties and, later, to the library for baby story time!

6 Responses to “ohhhhhh routine, how I will miss thee”


  1. 1 jobo June 6, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    Way to go for not completely freaking over the snake in your son’s presence. LOL! eek!! I hate snakes!! And love the cleavage comment, hysterical!

  2. 2 Mrs Loquacious June 6, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    I think every baby has a *thing.* My little girl likes to stroke my breast from the top to the nipple over and over again as she nurses. Sometimes she will rest her chubby hand on the rounded top of my breast and pat at it. No idea why.

  3. 3 Whitney June 7, 2012 at 12:12 am

    Kellan, I’m right there with ya. I need to cuddle and talk and just get ready to take on the day before someone changes my diaper, too. Also, I would probably LOVE baby story time! Being a baby sounds great and being a mom sounds HARD. (By the way, I don’t always comment, but I always read. Thanks for this!)

  4. 5 Shannon June 7, 2012 at 6:04 am

    Ugh on the snake! Way to not freak out!! Bear’s thing (and she STILL does this) when she is over tired is to rub my ear lobe. She has even started doing it to Hardscape.Sorry routine sucks at the moment. As he gets older there will be more things you can entertain him with and hopefully that helps!

  5. 6 http://lifestartsnow.wordpress.com June 7, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    yikes, snakes!!! cudos for remaining calm-ish 😉

    regarding kellan and lying on the bed – why can’t you put him on the floor to watch baby tv? put a pillow/blanket fort around him and he can’t roll anywhere dangerous.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


