random rundown

A little rundown on what has been happening in my life, completely random style:

My perineum is still sadface…except the new OB said it looks *much better*

Whatever. Pooping is still painful and, ahem, bloody.

I survived an entire week alone with Kellan, including an activity every day and making cupcakes for dessert during dinner with a friend.

I know. I’m pretty much Super Woman.

Kellan has yet to sleep more than three hours at a time at night. So, really, it’s like I’m Super Zombie Woman. I have no idea if we are hitting the four month sleep regression early and it somehow melded with the three month growth spurt/12 week “Wonder Week” or if he just doesn’t like to sleep. Ever.

I’m also not sure how he managed to regress any more with sleep…yet here we are.

I decided to start a bedtime routine. It goes something like bath, lotion, sleep sack, nurse, story/rock or walk or whatever works to sleep. We’ll see how that works out.

I went on my first run since sometime in the second trimester. Three miles of pure pain. Everything hurt the next day. That’s why I love running.

Related: I have to run/walk a 10k in a month. Yikes.

Kellan can *sometimes* roll over from tummy to back. The other times he just gets super frustrated, puts his head down onto the floor and cries. I help him during those moments.m

Kellan is also giant baby. When I took him to the doctor a few weeks ago for his cold, he weighed 14 pounds (did I tell you this already? I can’t remember)! We measured him at home and he was somewhere in the 25 1/4 inch range.

Needless to say, we graduated to size two diapers the other day. I can’t believe how big he’s getting!

(FYI for the non-parents because had someone said something about how diapers had sizes I would have looked at them like they had springy antennae for ears: diapers start in newborn (preemie if you have one), then go to size one, then size two, etc)

Kellan is also mostly laughing. More like a donkey hee-ing (huh-a, huh-a, huh-a!), but it’s funny either way. It makes playing with him a lot more fun. He loves dancing to songs (he *really* likes Justin Bieber….the Baby, Baby, Baby song) and being picked up and put into a standing position, even though he just bends his knees…

I’m currently craving birthday cake, which probably means I need to drink more water and/or eat some protein (sugar craving = dehydration or lack of protein or both, FYI). But…the cake sounds so much better right now. Anyone want to send me some? Or cupcakes. I have an incredible weakness for cupcakes.

On that subject, I haven’t really been dieting or trying (very hard) to lose weight. I still have about 7-8 pounds left before I’m at my pre-baby weight. I read somewhere that weight loss is highest during the 3rd – 6th month if you’re breastfeeding. I just hit that milestone a week or so ago and magically dropped two pounds without blinking, so there is hope for me yet!

Related: I miss my old body that wasn’t basically a 24/7 feeding trough and cradle.

I will get it back in time, I know. In time.

I’m just not a very patient person.

And lastly, as brother Jeff calls him: Kell-a-saurus Rex, sporting his new shades.

20120601-102048.jpg

6 Responses to “random rundown”


  1. 1 Jess Sutera June 1, 2012 at 11:53 am

    He is the cutest kid ever. Seriously.
    And now I want a cupcake too. Damn you! LOL

    (but seriously, rock on with the post-baby weight loss, how awesome are you?? zombie and all!)

  2. 2 littlemissobsessivesanatomy June 1, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    so cute..Kellan is no less than a rockstar 🙂

  3. 3 averagechildhood June 1, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    Cool dude there! I find I don’t usually lose the weight till 18 months (uggggh) breastfeeding or no…

  4. 4 Mrs Loquacious June 1, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    You’re more awesome than I. I am weaksaucing out of doing a week alone with baby Loquacious. We’re flying my mom in while Hubbs is gone :S

    I’m still about 10 above pre-baby. That, plus the 50 pre-baby I had to lose..well, I have a loooong ways to go 😉

    And my almost-4-month old is also a chunkster. She’s at 16 or so pounds now, and in size 9’s for sleepers (3 for diapers). We’re getting official measurements in two weeks’ time. She is rapidly outgrowing her change table (on the play yard) and her clothes.

    BTW Kellan is adorable. 🙂

    • 5 Jessica June 1, 2012 at 9:16 pm

      Mrs. L – I keep trying to comment on your blog and I keep getting errored out! Fail! Your baby L is SO adorable and can I get a high five for nursing laying down? Best. Ever.

  5. 6 jobo June 4, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Awesome job with the weight loss!! You are doing great and seriously ARE super woman!!! And that is the cutest pic yet, I love the shades 😉


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


