friday photo + a surprise!

I’ve been a super lazy blogger this week. There really is no real reason, other than this:

20120419-135914.jpg

Not only did Kellan and I have our first solo-middle-of-the-week outing to Babies R Us (obviously) to exchange some clothes for a bigger size and to the grocery store…

20120419-140836.jpg

We also had the dreaded two month well baby checkup.

He’s in the 50th percentile for weight, 75th for height and 96th for head circumference (OMG). Basically, he’s tall and skinny with a giant head.

Tim said he and I both have big heads.

I have no idea what he’s talking about.

Also at the checkup? Shots. Lots of shots.

I knew they were coming…I just had no idea I’d react the way I did.

I was sitting in one of the chairs while Tim held Kellan’s arms as he laid on the table thing and then two nurses, one on either side, counted to three and then stuck him.

I have never heard a worse sound in my entire life. That scream….will haunt me forever. And Tim was torn up because Kellan was looking right at him when it happened and his eyes basically said: “Why are you letting this happen to me?!”

I took Kellan from Tim, tried to nurse him and then after a few unsuccessful seconds, gave him his binkie. As he calmed down I looked at Tim and was all, “I’m going to cry.”

He didn’t think I was serious until he saw tears rolling down my cheeks.

Then he almost started crying because I was crying and Kellan was still whimpering.

That was the most awful day ever.

The shot-gate aftermath:

20120419-140935.jpg

He slept most of yesterday, but managed to bust this out for me…little trooper he is:

20120419-141018.jpg

And I know invert (autocorrect fail) never post videos….but this happened yesterday morning and it’s too cute not to share. The beginning is the best…kinda tapers off from there…

My voice is weird, I know. It’s my “I’m talking to Kellan” baby voice.

I’m getting a haircut this weekend. I’m going to ask for the sexy mommy style. Whatever that is.

11 Responses to “friday photo + a surprise!”


  1. 1 Shannon April 20, 2012 at 8:16 am

    That grin is just too cute! And I love the video. Those baby babbles are the best. Have a good weekend!

  2. 2 Jess Sutera April 20, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    OMGGGG he is so frickin’ cute, I LOVE his super-expressive eyes!!
    Also? I would totally want to cry if I heard that little one scream in pain at the shots, poor little guy 😦

  3. 3 kierrajanay April 20, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    Haha he is so cute and so is the video. The sexy mom style is called short and easy to manage lol

  4. 5 hnMom April 20, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    Oh, I remember those first shots all too well. It is heartbreaking to hear your baby cry on pain. I wish I could say it gets easier but it really doesn’t. I had tears in my eyes every single time.
    Hopefully, Tim will always be able to come with you. It does make it a bit easier.
    What a cutie, by the way. 🙂

  5. 7 http://lifestartsnow.wordpress.com April 20, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    cuuuuuute! kellan that is, not the shots. he’s growing so quickly…

  6. 8 lucindalines April 22, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    It is just so much fun to read this blog and watch him grow. No matter how much time you have to take to be with him, keep coming back to us. We just love to watch this special new life.

  7. 9 cmbold April 23, 2012 at 8:40 am

    I love the super-skeptical look. Seems like he’s got a lot of attitude already.

  8. 11 Katherine O. Cooper April 23, 2012 at 9:38 am

    He won’t remember, I promise. In fact, your memory will even fade as you and the fam add more well baby adventures to the list of “did that” to-do’s. Good job on the outing!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


