things that happened while i was preoccupied

Lots of things happened while I pounded out Kellan’s birth story……

He turned a month old (WOW):

20120324-121554.jpg

I had to give up dairy products. Poor Kellan kept having serious tummy troubles and I read that dairy products tend to be the culprit. So far, it’s looking like dairy was the gastrointestinal offender, as we haven’t had any major tummy rumbles/ridiculous gas/baby screaming in discomfort.

So…..I guess this means I made my first big motherly sacrifice (Not really. The broken vajayjay trumps dairy free).

Do you know how hard it is giving up dairy? Did anyone realize how many things OTHER THAN MILK contain dairy??

Me neither.

Related: I miss cheese.

Over the weekend, this happened:

20120324-120834.jpg

Tim left early Saturday morning with my car and came home Saturday afternoon with that.

I think it means I’m officially a mom, now.

I also probably should have bid farewell to my (now former) car.

I mean…it was a good car….loyal and faithful and dependable. It’s like I sent it packing without it even knowing it was going anywhere. Mean little game I (didn’t know I) played.

(Honestly, I haven’t driven it since before Kellan, which is over a month ago)

(Related: I hope I remember how to drive)

(Also related: the new car is a Toyota Highlander Limited)

I sucked my first booger from Kellan’s nose (gag, gag, gag). I’m a booger-phobe and believe me I tried to avoid said action at all costs.

I’m still coming to grips with my new reality: I can no longer escape free range boogers. This makes me sad. And cringe.

I’ve realized I miss being married.

Whoa, right?

Good news: I’m still 100% married.

Not as good news: I miss my marriage.

(more on that later)

I’ve become a pro at the super fast, OMG-did-he-wake-up-is-he-crying?! shower.

Related: The water hitting my nipples stings like a crazy, tiny person walloping on my little nubs with a mini whip, so I’ve also mastered shielding them from the dagger water.

I finally understand why, as hard as it is and as sleep deprived, grungy and non-sexy one feels, you miss this infant phase.

Why?

Because they’re so tiny and helpless and love you without question.

You are their entire world.

They never disobey and they will never snuggle and melt into your arms the same way when they’re two.

20120326-083717.jpg

11 Responses to “things that happened while i was preoccupied”


  1. 1 cmbold March 26, 2012 at 11:03 am

    He’s SO cute! Such big eyes! (all the better to eat you with?) My friend’s doctor told her that eating berries and other allergenic foods was bad too because it was passed through the breast milk; it was making her son break out. Not what you want to hear with summer around the corner 😦 but a friendly head’s up to check out with the doctor.

  2. 3 maureenlynn March 26, 2012 at 11:23 am

    I love his face in the first picture! It’s like… “why are you taking a picture of me?” I also like the Highlander and would consider getting one even though I’m not a mom. Hated the commercials with that bratty kid, but the car itself is nice.

  3. 5 http://lifestartsnow.wordpress.com March 26, 2012 at 11:32 am

    oh how cute!!!!

  4. 6 jobo March 26, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    SO sad about dairy products! Hopefully just temporary?! And I am sure it is really tough on the marriage aspect of being a new parent, but I trust that you two are doing just fine, of course, and adjusting to your new normal for the time being, which is pretty much a blur! boogers, yuck. πŸ˜‰ I’m with ya there.

  5. 8 JessSutera March 26, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    What a snuggler he is!! I have to say — I do miss that infant phase with my niece. she would do anything to be held and snuggled. Now? She is too busy running around wreaking havoc for much snuggle time. I totally miss that (and can’t even fathom that feeling as a mom!)

  6. 9 Shannon March 26, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    I have video of Dustin and his bro sucking out the boogers from Bear with the bulb. They LOVED it. Like woah. I have so much footage of it. I could not handle it. To this day that kid still runs from those things. Too funny.

  7. 10 Amber March 26, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    We had the same dairy issues but you know cheese is processed differently so it doesn’t always have the same effect on babies. I was able to eat cheddar cheese on sandwiches with no problem. πŸ™‚ You may want to give it a try if you’re desparate.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


