we make pretty babies

Before Kellan was born, I fretted over who he’d look like or of he’d only look like Tim, my own genes lost somewhere on toenails and foot shape.

Illogically, I reasoned that since Kellan was a boy and Tim is a boy, doesn’t it just make sense that they look alike? That Tim has a “mini me?”

I have no idea why this was such a sticking point with me. It’s not like I had any control over it. Just like the rest of pregnancy, I’d lost the steering reins a long time ago.

I guess Letting go of control is difficult when you’re a Type A who has almost always been able to control her life and the events wherein.

A funny thing happened, though, after Kellan officially came into this world.

More than anything I wanted Kellan to look like Tim. I didn’t care at all about him looking like me.

It’s like a switch was instantly turned on…or off. One of those.

I’m also more maternal and motherly…but that’s another story for another time.

Anyhow, all I know is that there is something vitally important to me about Kellan resembling Tim. I don’t know if it’s the age gap between Tim and me (13 years for those keeping track) or if it’s just one of those motherly hormones or what but I’m the first person to tell people that Kellan looks like Tim…and I say it with pride and overflowing happiness.

Also? I’m more than thrilled that Tim’s baby picture and Kellan’s look almost identical – minus Kellan’s dark hair. I’ll claim that as my influence, though it looks like it is beginning to lighten up.

I guess I’m mellowing…or something.

Or maybe I drank the kool aid and this is the result. Other people are vastly more important than me and I’m keenly aware of their needs more so than I am of my own.

I’m in love with my little family. Very, very in love.

20120308-111806.jpg

9 Responses to “we make pretty babies”


  1. 1 JessSutera March 9, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    Awwww!! I love love LOVE how happy you are pretty mama!!!

  2. 2 becomingcliche March 9, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    Their looks sometimes shift, too. Mine started out looking like one of us, they’d hit a growth spurt and look like the other, and then they’d switch back. Such a miracle, the blending of genes to create a whole new person.

  3. 3 Cindy March 9, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    Isn’t it funny how priorities change, practically (literally?) overnight? I’m so happy for you guys! Hi Tim! Great picture!

  4. 4 DebbieQ March 9, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    Oh look at the smile on Tim’s face!!!

  5. 5 Txtingmrdarcy March 9, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    Awwww. Cameo by Amy’s blanket. πŸ˜‰ Love it.

    I’m feeling the same… when we’re ready for kids, I hope they look like my husband. If I have to gird my loins for being a momma of boys, I hope they come equipped with his cuteness.

  6. 6 juliaisgettingherlifeback March 9, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    I LOVE YOU! I can’t wait to meet Kellan! I think he looks a lot like both of you… (sorry) but maybe definitely more like Tim… πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Mrs Loquacious March 9, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    Hubbs wanted our girl to look like me and I was ambivalent, wanting just a healthy child. Turns out, she looks a lot like both of us depending on the time of day, expression, etc. Best (or worst?) of both worlds πŸ˜‰

    But I totally understand a new kind of love and selflessness that I never knew I was capable of. πŸ™‚

  8. 8 bevchen March 10, 2012 at 5:44 am

    Awwww, what a lovely post.

    Babies hair colour is s trange thing – my sister and I were both born with black hair. Mine turned a kind of copper colour, then auburn (and is now mostly brown – boring!) while my sister went incredibly blonde! Friends of mine who both have very dark brown – almost black – hair have just had a baby who’s pale blonde! Apparantly the two of them had blonde hair as babies as well though.

  9. 9 jobo March 10, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    awww!! you two make a beautiful baby, there is no doubt about that!! XOXO!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


