it’s a cluster f…..

Feeding, people. Feeding.

We’re G rated, Sesame Street only, now what with the little man in the house.

Anyhow, let me just say that my boobs have NEVER seen so much action or received so much attention. I’m pretty sure they’re going to feel neglected once this little growth spurt is over.

Oh, right. Let me explain what little i actually know about infants (read: nothing). Apparently we’re starting our two week growth spurt.

Timely, really, since today is Kellan’s official two week old “birthday.”

(I can’t believe two weeks have already passed)

We have another pediatrician appointment tomorrow where we’ll find out if he’s gaining back the weight he lost and if his jaundice is improving. I’m pretty sure both are happening but it feels good to make it official.

Anyhow, back to the growing. Kellan has been eating every hour…sometimes less…around the clock…for the past day or so.

“They” call it cluster feeding and OMG. My boobs and my psyche feel it. This mommy got zero sleep last night and to top it all off, Kellan is becoming a pro at peeing during a diaper change.

This little stunt always requires a complete change of clothes and results in a very unhappy baby. We try to tell him to get his business done inside the diaper but alas…he doesn’t seem to want to listen.

Maybe it’s not him. Maybe it’s the cold air.

Either way, my boobs feel loved and my brain is overly tired.

Also? Tim is going back to work for part of the week next week and I already know I’m going to miss his 3am diaper changing duties.

PS: The birth story is coming. I swear.

7 Responses to “it’s a cluster f…..”


  1. 1 linzster March 4, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Love the title of this post! Hang in there!

  2. 2 Susan March 4, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    Jessica…it’s so good to hear you understand that baby’s have growth spurts and you need to feed them more frequently during this time and they will settle out in time. So many people don’t understand this and add formula therefore sabotaging their milk supply. As a Lactation Consultant, I am proud of you!!

  3. 3 sweetopiagirl March 4, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    Reblogged this on UNIQUE GREETING CAKES.

  4. 4 jobo March 4, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    girl, I am going to sleep FOR you. I am tired just reading about this 😉 But in all honesty, you still sound so happy. And that’s all that matters. ❤

  5. 5 Brett Minor March 4, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    My daughter was jaundiced. She wasn’t getting better by the usual methods so they gave us this sci-fi blanket that had tons of fiber optic cables attached to it. The blanket glowed while plugged in giving her the light that she needed. It was cool. She was better in about 3 days.

  6. 7 Carinn @ welcometothemotherhood March 5, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Awww! You capture the beautiful chaos of the first few weeks so well! Mine are 3 and 1 but I feel right back there again. It gets better (and worse). Probably at the same time. Can’t wait to keep reading!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


