leap day…

Since it’s Leap Day, I figured I should post something. It only comes around every four years…

And FYI this is totally random and rambling. It’s where my brain lives 24/7.

So, it has been over a week since little Kellan came into the world and I still haven’t formally written his birth story. I have lots of notes but no substance. Any time I get a minute to start writing it I decide a nap sounds like a much better idea.

Yesterday was an adventure that caused me much anxiety.

We had to trek back down to the hospital (read: 40 minute drive one way) for a hearing test re-screen. Kellan failed the screen twice while we were in the hospital, thanks to A LOT of swelling (as in my fingers would make indentions in his head for the first few days that would freak me out) and tons of loud nurses coming in and out during the tests. They also tested him before he was even 24 hours old. I mean, really? Give the kid a second to recover.

Anyway, third time is a charm, right?

I was super nervous he’d have a meltdown and not be able to hear properly during the exam but, thankfully, he listened to his momma and was perfectly asleep and serene…until he finished the test.

He passed the test in about three minutes (yay!)?and then had a mini meltdown requiring immediate breast milk intervention.

The magic milk kept him quiet and happy until right before we made it home.

Commence diaper explosion.

Tim, bless him, has been changing 90% of Kellan’s diapers. I’m thankful for the small break it gives me, especially at two in the morning, and have no idea what I’m going to do when he goes back to work in a week. He’s been working from home, my mom has been here and even though she’s leaving tomorrow (sadface!), Tim’s parents are flying in the same day to stay for ten days, so I’ve yet to see what life will be like with just Kellan and me.

I’ll be the first to admit the thought is terrifying. He’s an awesome baby and I can calm him down fairly quickly but, still.

The nights are the hardest. The mornings are easiest. The time in between flies by.

We have no schedule. No set bath time (more like sponge random body parts down now and then). No scheduled naps or feedings. Sometimes Kellan wears the same outfit two days in a row. I shovel food down faster than I ever have in my life because I never know when Kellan will require a feeding or diaper change or some cuddle time.

We’re flying by the seat of our pants.

It’s funny, though. I didn’t know what this kind of love would feel like…the love you feel for a child – your child.

I love my little man more than anything in the world, as exhausting as caring for him can be sometimes, I’d never want life any other way nor could I imagine life without him. As Tim said last night, he just fits.

And he does.

20120229-074245.jpg

13 Responses to “leap day…”


  1. 1 carolyn February 29, 2012 at 9:56 am

    Oh my goodness he’s a cute baby. I can’t stand it. If I were there, I’d want to hug and kiss and smell him till I smelled him dry. Or he pooped. Then I’d hand him back to you. 😉

    He’s awesome. Happy for you momma!

  2. 2 Shannon February 29, 2012 at 10:03 am

    He is just so damn adorable. Life does just change when a child comes into it. Enjoy it!! So happy for you guys!

  3. 3 Amanda Perry @ Sistas of Strength February 29, 2012 at 10:05 am

    He is so stinking cute. Can’t wait to hear/see more. 🙂

  4. 4 Cindy February 29, 2012 at 11:25 am

    Yup. I know I keep saying that to you, but it’s true. It’s all that needs saying. You’re experiencing the unexplainable, what you worked so hard to get to through your pregnancy and delivery. It’s motherhood to a newborn.

  5. 5 Amy February 29, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    He is so stinking adorable. I am so excited to have my own outside baby friend! YAY!

  6. 6 Joann February 29, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Sounds like you are doing just fine! He’s absolutely beautiful and I don’t say that about all babies!

  7. 7 Carinn @ welcometothemotherhood February 29, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    My baby just turned one last week and I have been reflecting a lot about the past year. Reading your blog brings all my own feelings right back in a rush of emotion. Great posts!

  8. 9 Txtingmrdarcy February 29, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    You are not helping the arguments my ovaries are making right now. If they could argue, that is.

    He is so adorable and squishable. 🙂

    PS- I had no idea they tested babies’ hearing so early!! You’re educational now!

  9. 10 Zannah February 29, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    How adorable! Congratulations!

  10. 11 jobo February 29, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    He is all sorts of adorable, my friend. And I am glad everything turned out okay, even though it was a little stresseful at times!

  11. 12 lucindalines March 1, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    What a wonderful baby. I love parents who don’t get all stuck on a schedule. Let that baby tell you when he needs you, life will begin to settle into a pattern, and that is all you need. Hint, fun as the extras are at this time, life will really be easier when you are alone. Love that baby!:)

  12. 13 bevchen March 3, 2012 at 11:26 am

    You make me really want a baby! (You and all my friends with kids who are always going on about how it’s the best thing EVER!!). Where are all the “babies tie you down and mess up your life” posts? Just kidding 😉 He is adorable!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


