i still exist…

but…

I smell like sour milk.

I live in nursing tanks and robes.

I’ve realized that four hours of sleep is a luxury.

I’m seeing hours of the day and night that I haven’t seen in years.

My entire day revolves around feeding, diaper changes and naps.

My brain doesn’t function as well as I’d like it to.

Stitches somewhere in your hooha aren’t nice. I refuse to figure out where they are, exactly. It’s on a need to know basis and I definitely do not need to know.

I love showers more than I’ve ever loved showers before.

My existence is relegated to the bedroom and bathroom…to the point Tim moved the TV from the loft into it. This is monumental because we’ve never had a TV in the bedroom.

I now understand why motherhood is a club that you cannot understand until you have a child of your own.

18 Responses to “i still exist…”


  1. 1 Amanda Perry @ Sistas of Strength February 27, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    It’s really so true….you want to understand (especially when you’re preggo), but you just don’t get it until you are a mom. Welcome to the club mommy.

  2. 2 Amy - Hamlet's Mistress February 27, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    So happy for you. And I’m sure I don’t get it. But I do enjoy reading you describe it.

  3. 3 jobo February 27, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    Aww! Glad to hear from you, friend! And glad you are surviving and thriving in the first weeks of motherhood. So proud of you! (and uh, just thinking about stitches there makes me cringe…there.). XOXO!

  4. 4 KB February 27, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Welcome to the club!

    KB

  5. 5 maureen February 27, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    At first I thought he moved the TV into the bathroom, which would have been pretty awesome.

  6. 6 Jeanette Lawrence Ghioto February 27, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    happy 1st week of motherhood you are doing great!!!

  7. 7 Jenera February 27, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Though it may not seem like it now, it does get better. Sort of. Just remember not to do anything sort of resembling a squat. I did that after my first and may or may not have popped a stitch, or two. Glad to hear things are going relatively good πŸ™‚

  8. 8 Amber February 27, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Oh yes, I remember those days…showers were so sacred and still are. πŸ˜‰ Congrats on your beautiful little guy. I love his name!

  9. 9 Diane February 27, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    My Hoo ha hurts just hearing the word “stitch.” So glad to hear you are doing well!

  10. 10 Derek Devine February 28, 2012 at 4:15 am

    Sounds like fun! It’s definitely worth it in the end.

  11. 11 Carla February 28, 2012 at 9:49 am

    I’m so glad things are going reasonably well πŸ™‚ How are the fur-kids taking the new addition?

  12. 13 Lori @ I Can Grow People February 28, 2012 at 10:03 am

    Welcome to the Motherhood Club! It’s tough–especially in the beginning. The first six months are a blur! I didn’t want to see my stitches either. I didn’t ask how many were there…I just wanted them to do their thing and then be on their merry way. Hang in there, mama!

  13. 14 Angelia Sims February 28, 2012 at 11:33 am

    It’s amazing. Your son is gorgeous. Congrats Mom!!

  14. 15 Txtingmrdarcy February 28, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Yaaaaay for Kellan! The name reveal was so exciting, and I super love it. He’s gorgeous, and you’re finding your way… Can’t wait to hear more from you. Take it EASY Momma Boosh. This isn’t a competition to see whose ladybits are the heartiest. πŸ˜‰

  15. 16 Cindy February 28, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    What you say is soooo true. All of it. Welcome to the club! Glad to hear things are going as they should. It definitely does get better, as far as the hooha, the sleep, the wardrobe, the radius you feel like traveling, and the limited repertoire of activities. Gradually. Very gradually. Hang in there, you’re doing great!

  16. 17 Mrs Loquacious February 29, 2012 at 12:05 am

    Yes, yes, and yes. I can relate to every single point you’ve listed. Isn’t motherhood grand? πŸ˜‰

  17. 18 Papa Guy February 29, 2012 at 12:27 am

    it changes as the days and weeks and months go by.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


