baby sprout is…………………………here!

Introducing (drum roll)…..

Kellan Reece Bold

20120223-165111.jpg

(I have no idea where the picture posted within the post…hopefully somewhere, beginning, middle or end…I’m writing this one handed from the bed, breast pumping at the same time)

He actually came on February 19 at 6:37pm…this is just the first time I’ve had a free five minutes to even contemplate something other than Kellan – which is a good thing for sure. I’m so doing a “you know you’re a mother when” post.

Long story short, for now, anyway: Kellan was born 8 pounds, 4 ounces and 22 inches long with a head circumference of 14.25 inches.

He also came out “sunny side up” with means he came out the hard way.
My vajayjay only knows one word at this point: OUCH and why just OUCH?

Third degree tears is all I’m sayin.

Also, I made it to 7 centimeters before getting the epidural. My labor stalled, thanks to Kellan first deciding to lay transverse in my pelvis for a few hours.

I probably definitely would have died without the epi, by the way. OMG. Contractions are no joke and there is absolutely no mistaking them for anything else.

Tim was an awesome, awesome coach and we’re all doing great, minus serious sleep deprivation. Thank God for my mom, who has been here, feeding us, stocking our freezer and giving me more helpful, useful advice on being a mom than any book ever did or will.

More to come….like the full birth story that started at 1am Sunday morning and 15 hours later, ended with one and a half hours of pushing. My OB thought it would take me three hours to push him out.

Obviously, I’m an overachiever.

38 Responses to “baby sprout is…………………………here!”


  1. 1 pollyeb February 23, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    Huge Congratulations! And welcome little Kellan πŸ™‚ Love your blog btw Jessica.

  2. 2 DebbieQ February 23, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    Congratulations! Fabulous job, both you and the vajayjay. I have a little something for The Sprout.

  3. 3 Amy - Hamlet's Mistress February 23, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    Aw jess. He’s awesome. So proud of you. I loves ya woman. Good job, mama.

  4. 5 hellesbelles86 February 23, 2012 at 9:00 pm

    Congratulations!!

  5. 6 shawnandsuzanne February 23, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    Beautiful baby Boy!!!! Congratulations!

  6. 7 Cindy February 23, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    Congratulations once again- on Kellan, of course, but also on getting back to your blog within 4 days. That’s impressive!! So glad you’re back; I missed reading your posts. Just a bit of FYI cause I’m a new (again) mom and because I like stats: Kellan is the same size Charlotte was at birth! I think that’s kinda nifty in a it-really-doesn’t-matter-at-all way. πŸ™‚ Anyway, it sounds like you’re enjoying your little (not-so-little) guy. Good work kudos to both you and Tim. Glad you’re home and all is well.

  7. 8 Jenera February 23, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Congratulations! He’s adorable and the name is great! Glad things seem to be going relatively well.

  8. 9 Amy February 23, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    So many congrats! He’s beautiful.

  9. 10 Shannon February 23, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    So happy for you guys!!He is so adorable!

  10. 11 Breeza February 23, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    Congrats! So happy and excited for you. Love the name!

  11. 12 Destiny February 24, 2012 at 12:07 am

    Love the name, too! A perfect WHOLE baby!

  12. 13 jamesramirez February 24, 2012 at 1:34 am

    I am very happy for your family. I love kids (I have 4) and they are wonderful. Enjoy these times and try to remember them, as lack of sleep is not your friend. I like the pic. Beautiful baby.

  13. 14 Anonymous February 24, 2012 at 1:44 am

    your baby is perfect and whole take him home perfect and whole and stand up for your little boy, hold him cherrish him and don’t let anyone hurt him

  14. 15 Heather February 24, 2012 at 3:43 am

    Congratulations! He’s beautiful.

  15. 18 thoughtsappear February 24, 2012 at 7:35 am

    Congratulations! He’s such a cutie!

  16. 19 nysoonergirl February 24, 2012 at 8:35 am

    He is gorgeous! So happy for you guys!

  17. 20 jobo February 24, 2012 at 9:06 am

    OMG you are my hero!! What an awesome job pushing that baby out, my dear (third degree tears?! OMG)…and he is absolutely gorgeous. No joke. So SO happy for you!!!!

  18. 21 Katherine O. Cooper February 24, 2012 at 9:17 am

    I’m so glad that I was wrong! That means that you and your mom and the hubs had one more Saturday to worry and dream.

    What a little stinker for the flip side…wish I couldn’t relate on the 1st kid rough housing. John was 9lbs and got himself stuck.

    So glad for you with your mom. A stocked freezer sounds like paradise.

    He is the most darling dude ever…go easy, drink water, and rest when you can’t sleep. Don’t make me get out my teacher voice.

    peace, Kate

  19. 22 JessSutera February 24, 2012 at 9:21 am

    Owwwww on the third degree tears but YAY for being an overachiever in the pushing department, hehe πŸ˜‰

    Kellan is PERFECT!! I’m so happy for you guys!!

  20. 23 Casey February 24, 2012 at 9:50 am

    YAY!!! Congratulations! I am all teary-eyed for you! He is absolutely beautiful and perfect and everything a newborn should be. Also, Kellan is a fantastic name… LOVE IT.

  21. 24 maureen February 24, 2012 at 9:54 am

    Yay! He’s cute! I like his hair!

  22. 25 debut dad February 24, 2012 at 9:59 am

    Congratulations! Also props for doing this post 1 handed whilst expressing!

  23. 26 Monica February 24, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    Congratulations! He’s beautiful.

  24. 27 littlemissobsessivesanatomy February 24, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    Kellan welcome to the world.. …
    congratulations to you … πŸ™‚ so happy for you…

  25. 28 PJ February 24, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    Congratulations! I love the name (but I have to know – did you go with the original name or the new one?)! Also, look at that hair!

  26. 30 Mrs Loquacious February 24, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    I laboured with my girl sunny-side up too, so I feel your (back) pain!

    Congratulations on your little boy! So glad to hear that both you and he are healthy and well!

  27. 31 Jodi Q February 24, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    Way to go, mommy and Kellan! You both made and will make it, one day at a time. Enjoy, take pics and forfeit everything that doesn’t bring life to you, Tim and your son. God bless and keep you! Congrats!!

  28. 32 Michelle Kreifels February 24, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    Congratulations! He is BEAUTIFUL!

  29. 33 Papa Guy February 25, 2012 at 1:22 am

    Ya’ll did good!!

  30. 34 carolyn February 25, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    YAY!!!! SO happy for you! And see? Heartburn = Baby has a head full of hair!!!!

  31. 35 bevchen February 27, 2012 at 5:26 am

    I go away for a few days and you go and give birth πŸ˜‰

    Congratulations! He’s gorgeous. Look at all the hair!!

  32. 36 lucindalines February 27, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    Congrats on the little guy. I have been wondering where you were and what had happened. I must have missed this post when it first hit. This is sooooo cool, my youngest daughter also has a Feb. 19 birthday. She just turned 17 this year, so it has been a few years, but you will remember it every year just as if it happened yesterday. Anyway, CONGRATULATIONS!! And enjoy every minute, even the tiredness, it passes away far too quickly.

  33. 37 backstripe February 28, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    He’s a keeper! My youngest son’s (he’s 22 now) middle name is Reese (thanks to the hospital’s misspelling) — great name.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

your favorites (I didn’t pick ’em)

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


