operation: don’t think about it

You know…going overdue is way worse than on time. Or early. Or anything else in between.

We have everyone sending labor juju and it just…isn’t happening.

WHY?! WHY!?

I realize I’m only one day overdue at this point, but after man handling a basketball inside my belly for the past FOREVER LONG, one day is like an eternity.

I’m hoping and praying the sprout doesn’t pop out a ten pound behemoth because OMG.

His clothes will not fit him and he’ll have to go home from the hospital wrapped in a towel instead of the cute outfit we have packed.

Also? We don’t even have that many outfits for him in the first place.

I was telling my mom that if he doesn’t come soon OR if he ends up being a giant, we would have to cut off all of the feet on his sleep-n-play outfits because he’d be too long to wear any of them. I mean, I can feel this kid in deep my pelvis and my ribs at the same time.

FYI: I’m 5’10 and don’t exactly have a short torso.

So, because my mom understands what it means to carry around a baby who doesn’t want to come out (I was something like 2+ weeks late), she instituted operation don’t think about it this morning.

It consists of things like antique shopping and a pedicure, neither of which have I done in a looooooong time and both of which are desperately needed.

I love, love, love antique shopping. Tim has always like antiques and we have a TON of them in the house. I didn’t really get the draw at first – why buy old stuff? – but now? It’s like this huge treasure chest of awesome and I’m always looking for something old and fantastic.

As for the pedicure, considering I cannot even SEE my feet anymore…that part is pretty self explanatory.

So, we’re off on that adventure today.

Hopefully it does the trick!

And by “trick” I mean eating hospital food by tomorrow morning.

Also, dear What to Expect App: I hate you and want to punch you in the mouth.

Yesterday was absolutely NOT “the day”

PS: I read and love every single one of your comments. They help get me through the day and it isn’t that I’m ignoring you by not responding. Truthfully, I can barely put together a blog post at this point, much less communicate coherently with another person. My brain has been 100% taken over by WHERE IS THE BABY. Once we get this dram-A over with, I shouldn’t be so rude and obnoxious. Please don’t bail on me, now.

26 Responses to “operation: don’t think about it”


  1. 1 Mara February 17, 2012 at 11:26 am

    I have never been pregnant (and, reading your blog the last couple of weeks, I’m not 100% sure I ever want to be pregnant :)), but I can definitely imagine the frustration you must be feeling. Hopefully sprout comes TODAY and really, you couldn’t have gone to the hospital with yucky toes anyway, so maybe that will be the critical component 🙂

  2. 2 Breeza February 17, 2012 at 11:32 am

    I’m with Mara 🙂
    My good friend is having her 4th and going through the exact same thing right now. So you’re not the only one and you will have your baby very, very soon 🙂

  3. 3 argonzalez312 February 17, 2012 at 11:39 am

    The pedicure is the best idea!!!! I don’t know why but its like shaving your legs before you go to the hospital. It seems so silly afterwards (or to your husband who is going frantic picturing delivering the baby in the car) but somehow it helps…

  4. 4 Angelia Sims February 17, 2012 at 11:45 am

    My first due date was April 28th. My second due date according to the sonogram was April 21st. My baby was induced and born May 6th.

    I am SO GLAD they are inducing you the 20th! That is so much better than letting it go another TWO miserable weeks.

    Seriously…..I get ALL that you are having to endure. Still sending mojo your way……in hopes it will be today. Tell him it’s FRIDAY, he needs to come on….Friday, Friday Gotta get down on Friday.

  5. 5 Amy - Hamlet's Mistress February 17, 2012 at 11:48 am

    Hang in there woman. There is an end in sight even if it’s Monday. Which is really only 2 days from now because today doesn’t count because it’s already today and Monday doesn’t count because it’s that day so the only days that count are tomorrow and Sunday and anyone can wait for most anything for just two more days. Hopefully the sprout makes his appearance sooner, but if not… the time is close at hand and you will be just fine regardless. I’m thinking of you and pulling for you and sending strong GET OUT vibes to the sprout. Who, incidentally, I cannot WAIT to stop calling “the sprout”. 🙂

  6. 6 Katherine O. Cooper February 17, 2012 at 11:54 am

    I’m telling you…tomorrow is the day…

  7. 7 jobo February 17, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    I know this is not possible…buuut the minute you stop thinking about it, it’ll happen. My guess hehe 😉

  8. 9 Amy February 17, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    I am so excited to be able to do personal grooming myself again someday! BUT – in the meantime, pedicures (and whatever else you need to pay someone to groom) are a good backup.

    I hope you buy something old & awesome today.

  9. 10 Cindy Suzette Fausel February 17, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    I can’t even imagine all that have been going through but I do know that all will be forgotten when you hold that precious little one in your arms. Actually, going longer in one regard is better cause at least his little lungs will be fully developed. Sprout is just not done yet. I will keep my fingers and toes crossed too if that will help that he arrives soon and you and Tim can carry on to the next phase. Loving and raising him.

  10. 11 linzster February 17, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    Hang in there! Enjoy the pedicure!

  11. 12 Arielle February 17, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    I love love love the app’s comparison of sprout and a watermelon.
    Now you can say “I carried a watermelon” like Baby did in Dirty Dancing *lol*
    Somehow I always wanted to say that sentence, but never had the chance to. Now you go girl, tell someone you carry/carried a watermelon! =)

    Btw, baby sprout, you’re in serious trouble there, with parents like that! And I’m with them, I don’t like i when people show up late! 😉

  12. 13 Brandy February 17, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Love antique shopping! Have fun! Enjoy the pedicure.

  13. 14 http://lifestartsnow.wordpress.com February 17, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    i still get a kick out of the watermelon-status. that is because i don’t have to push sprout out of me 😉

    moms are great, aren’t they? they pamper you, they are patient, they understand. and i’m sure she’ll mop after you if your water breaks in the middle of your kitchen while you indulge in something GOOD! 🙂

  14. 15 Diane February 17, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    A pedicure is important because your toes will be the first thing he sees when he comes out! Did you paint hello sprout on the nails??

  15. 16 Jen @ Dear Mommy Brain February 17, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    I’ve heard that pedicures can actually put you into labor… Good Luck!

  16. 17 Cindy February 17, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    You’re doing great, and your mom seems to be a very wise woman! I didn’t go late with either of mine, but within a week before my due date I was already like, “Ok, you’re cooked, time to come out NOW!” so I can only imagine it gets worse and worse. At least you have an “end date.” I pinned my doctor down for that date a week before my due date because I needed to wrap my head around the “worst case scenario.” Hang in there- it feels like an eternity, but he really will be here very soon. You’re almost there! Really and truly!

  17. 18 Jodi Q February 18, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Soon this will be a memory. Enjoy these last moments with your hubby, find an antique for baby and get ready to see your feet, girl 🙂 Saying a prayer for you and sprout and sending a hug from sunny Minnesota.

  18. 19 Mrs Loquacious February 19, 2012 at 1:28 am

    Hang tight Momma! Baby will arrive when baby is good and ready. I went into labour on 41+2 and my kid still fit the onesies I packed in the hosp bag. Enjoy your last moments of kidless “freedom” – sleep in, sit in the front seat, go shopping at stores with narrow aisles, and spend time online and watching your fave TV shows, take long bubble baths and go for romantic dinners with your honey. I miss those things now and wish I wouldn’t have taken it for granted before. :S

  19. 20 grumpysleepyandbashful February 21, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    Overdue, oh, no! 🙂 Here’s to hoping you have this little kiddo ASAP!

    I haven’t been to your blog in quite a while … I was just sifting through old comments on my own blog and rediscovered yours.

    I’m just in time to wish you well and a quick, safe, moderately pain free birth. Good luck with everything … it’s like your wedding, it’s over before you know it (even with my first, and I was in labor for 17 hours!).

    Hugs to you!

  20. 21 cmbold February 22, 2012 at 10:45 am

    It’s been a few days. Does that mean the sprout is here??

  21. 22 Amy February 22, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    I don’t even understand why you haven’t updated your blog yet! Are there really more important things going on? 🙂

  22. 23 http://lifestartsnow.wordpress.com February 22, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    please enlighten me on how you pronounce sprouts name. you know, being a foreigner and all i don’t know much besides tim, david and kevin, lol 😉

    again congrats to the two of you!!! ❤

  23. 24 carolyn February 22, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    Congratulations on your newest addition to your family! He is a real cutie!!!! Love the name!!!!

  24. 25 delishhh@delishhh.com February 23, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    Just came across your blog as i was googling labor stations – so funny – we had the same due date and i am still waiting. . .i am assuming you have had your little one by now since i see a Congratulations in the comment section. Congrats!


  1. 1 kellan’s birth story « booshy Trackback on March 16, 2012 at 9:08 am

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


