she lied

So…..what does one do ON their due date with no baby?

………………

I’m just saying, the OB was obviously wrong when she was all, “You won’t make it to next week.”

Surprise!

Here I am.

Sans baby.

We had another appointment today where, first, the OB walks in and says, “You’re still here??!?” and then told me I was a “good 3 centimeters” and would only require one day for an induction because my body is, well, basically ripe and ready and just….waiting.

You better believe we scheduled that induction.

At first, the OB was all, “We usually wait until 41 weeks”

I looked at her and said, “The other doctor said I could go 40 + 4, so…”

I guess I had some kind of tone in my voice because the next words out of her mouth were, “Get dressed and I’ll take you to the lady who schedules inductions.”

Induction date?

February 20.

Baby sprout, your eviction notice has been served and your mother’s patience is wearing thin. An induction is absolutely not in my desired birth plan and it’d probably be better for everyone if you just pulled the trigger and came before then.

I’m begging…no…as your mother, I’m telling you to obey me on this. You might be stubborn but I’ll be damned if you can hold a candle to the fire of a 40+ week pregnant woman.

By the way, do you have any idea how hard this part is? Just waiting? Not knowing? Hoping something happens?

FYI: The waiting game sucks big fat donkey nuts.

My mom came into town yesterday and she’s dying for baby sprout to come. Like, on pins and needles, eagerly anticipating, forcefully willing him to greet the world.

When we came back from the OB appointment this morning she was all, “I don’t hear a baby crying!” when we walked in the door.

Yah. No kidding.

Believe me when I tell you I had Tim go to a cupcake store after our appointment to buy half a dozen giant cupcakes because that’s just the kind of mood I was in.

I’m still in that funk even after I ate so much pineapple my mouth is raw and then lugged myself out the door for a three mile walk.

(that sentence is structured funny and at this moment in time I have no desire to fix it but I think you get my point)

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a date with a yoga ball and an eggplant sandwich.

18 Responses to “she lied”


  1. 2 Jess February 16, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    I’ve got my fingers crossed that Lil Baby Booshy comes before the 20th, but am elated that THERE IS A DATE! Holy donkey nuts. I’m stoked.

  2. 3 Brilliant Sulk February 16, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    I was induced. With both kids. They ended up being born on the same day two years apart. Weird, I know.

    It was good because they gave me plenty of drugs.

    Best of luck! You’ll do just fine.

  3. 4 Spot February 16, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    That’s it. You tell that sprout who’s boss! Fingers crossed that baby makes an appearance without the induction. But they induced me with Sean and all they did was break my water and put some gel on my cervix. The rest happened naturally, so don’t worry. It’s not a fork in the road of your plan, just a speed bump!

    ♥Spot

  4. 5 Brett Minor February 16, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Let’s pray this is not his first act of disobedience.

  5. 6 http://lifestartsnow.wordpress.com February 16, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    there is a date – you can work towards that. you know that’s when sprout will be there for sure.

    now bounce that yoga ball like there is no tomorrow (i meant to say induction date) 😉

    yay to mom being there for you two/three!

  6. 7 Amy - Hamlet's Mistress February 16, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    Get out, sprout!!! The upside? Feb 20th, my friend’s birthday. It’s suited her and she’s done well with it. Better than the 26th which I don’t want to talk about.

  7. 8 Amy February 16, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    The only problem I have with you having a baby, is that means that soon I will also have a baby. And, while I’m personally ready to NOT be pregnant anymore, I’m not actually ready to bring home a baby and care for it. Also, so much stuff at work I must wrap up!

    BUT – I hope that your sprout comes this weekend! Fingers crossed for you.

  8. 9 lucindalines February 16, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    By the way, have you felt like cleaning your entire house with a toothbrush? Have you sorted every drawer and put all things in order? Those two things often happen just before the baby comes. It is called nesting. I washed all of my mother’s vases the day before my first child. I was staying at her place at the time. I don’t know how that was going to prepare for the baby, but…it was just one of those things.

  9. 10 Katherine O. Cooper February 16, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    Waving my magic wand…your child shall be born at 10:63 on Saturday, Feb 18.

    I say so.

    a.m. or p.m.

    you pick

  10. 11 Brandy February 16, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    Come on Sprout! We are all waiting! Rah, rah, rah!

  11. 12 carolyn February 16, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    You’ll know your mom has officially gone off the deep end of anticipated grandparenthood if you wake up from your nap and she’s got your feet propped up on pillows and is just waiting and watching your yoohoo. And at that point, no one would blame you if you called the police. Or the funny farm. Just sayin’…

  12. 13 Shannon February 17, 2012 at 7:54 am

    My friend just went over three weeks over due. She does home birhs and talk about out of patience. See, could be worse:) few more days this is so exciting!!

  13. 14 thoughtsappear February 17, 2012 at 8:25 am

    Can I put money on the 19th for his arrival?

  14. 15 maureen February 17, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Hey, if he’s born on the 20th, his birthday and George Washington’s birthday can be the same day! Ok, maybe it’s just his (observed) birthday, according to the calendar, but still…

  15. 16 JessSutera February 17, 2012 at 10:54 am

    Oh MAN, I totally thought after I didn’t see a post from you yesterday that you’d gone into labor. Poor thing!! Hang in there!!!

  16. 17 jobo February 17, 2012 at 11:21 am

    I thought for SURE yesterday was the day! cmonnnn baby!!!!!!!!!

  17. 18 Haute Milk February 20, 2012 at 1:50 am

    I hope you don’t have to induce. I induced and it wasn’t too bad because they let me move around and labor in a hot shower (which was awesome).

    My only advice is to not let them make you push while on your back, it makes your birth canal so much smaller. Have someone be your champion, hands and knees is the way to go. (obviously I’m a new reader as I have no idea what your birth plans are, good luck and enjoy your baby!)


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

your favorites (I didn’t pick ’em)

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


