babybabybabybaby

Happy Valentine’s Day! Tim and I totally celebrate, by the way, Hallmark holiday or not. Did I ever tell you about the time I left heart shaped post-it’s all over the house for Tim with love quotes on them? It was during the time I’d leave for work WAY before Tim ever got up. I wanted to avoid traffic…he didn’t have to worry about traffic for his commute…I digress.

I tip-toed around the house and put them all of the places he visited when he got ready in the morning so he’d have a quote to read as he got in the shower, put on his socks, ate breakfast, etc.

It was an awesome, creative idea if I do say so myself. Sneaking around the house at 4 in the morning…slightly more challenging.

And I think I’ve mentioned how Tim has always gotten me roses for Valentine’s Day? It all started with the first Valentine’s Day we spent together…this isย our thing and it’s fun so I’m wishing you a day of love and chocolate and roses.

Anyhow, for you non-celebrators (lovey-dovey party poopers), what I really wanted to say today was…

Funny how I went from OMG. FREAKING OUT. about having a baby to OMG. SO READY. in the span on nine months.

It’s a strange transition, really. One I didn’t think I’d fully make, to be honest. I really didn’t see myself as “ready” for the whole labor and delivery and you’re giving me a brand new baby to take home? Without supervision?!ย 

But, I am.

There are random things I think about, probably because of the hormones or lack of sleep or something else that leaves me just as delirious.

For instance, earlier today I realized that Tim I just had our last weekend ever in the whole entire universe as a family of two. Even if the sprout holds out until next week, my mom will be here this weekend so without really realizing it until now – and now is too late to really do anything about –ย Tim and I will never have a weekend where it is “just us” ever again.

Once I realized that this was, truly, our reality, I started thinking back to all of the recent weekends we’ve had and got all nostalgic on myself like, “WHY DIDN’T I PAY MORE ATTENTION?! TAKE PICTURES?! CHERISH IT?!”

(begin pregnancy tears)

But let’s be realistic. Every waking moment for the past two weeks has been babybabybabybabybabybabybabybabybaby.

Is he coming? Are you feeling anything? Will I wake up and my water has broken? Will I wake up to contractions? Will we have to call someone at 2am to take care of the dogs? Have we packed everything? Do the cats have enough food? What about the water bowls we need to put down? Are we sure we packed everything? Who is going to remember the car seat? Are you sure that wasn’t a contraction? Remember we put a checklist on the door…

It’s exhausting, really, waiting on the sprout.

Tim and I make sure the house is generally picked up and declutter every day and then vacuum, run the dishwasher and wash and put away all of the laundry every three days or so. The last thing we want is to come home to a mess so we’re preemptively striking.

Hopefully it pays off.

I’m sure all mom’s – first time or not – go through this anticipatory period at the end of their pregnancies when the due date you were given is really just a guide and any day could be THE DAY your life changes.

Unless you have something scheduled and set in stone where you know the baby is coming on X date.

And even if that was my reality, I’d probably still be nervous.

So…….waiting.

Still.

13 Responses to “babybabybabybaby”


  1. 2 Brandy February 14, 2012 at 9:08 am

    Wow! You’re so gonna be the best parents! You and Tim and all of us are waiting too…. so excited! I can wait to see what he looks like and read your funny pet/baby/tiddler/food stories. ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Valentine’s Day. Glen and I are not big celebraters of the day. We try to make everyday special.

  2. 3 Cindy February 14, 2012 at 9:10 am

    Happy Valentines Day! Sounds like your head is in the right place once again. Enjoy the day together. I’m eagerly watching for news of the Sprout’s arrival.

  3. 4 thoughtsappear February 14, 2012 at 9:39 am

    I saw the title, and I thought maybe baby was on the way. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. 5 JessSutera February 14, 2012 at 10:06 am

    I always wondered how that happened – the transition from “OMG I am SO scared of labor” to “OMG WHEN WILL I GO INTO LABOR ALREADY” and no longer being afraid so much as READY. I guess that’s how you know your body is ready to go, huh? I hope sprout makes a grand entrance VERY SOON!!! Until then, Happy Valentine’s Day girl!

  5. 6 jobo February 14, 2012 at 10:43 am

    You are SO ready! That transition has officially occurred, I do believe ๐Ÿ˜‰ Happy Valentine’s Day beautiful!

  6. 7 Angelia Sims February 14, 2012 at 11:15 am

    Happy Valentine’s Day!!

    I remember that READY feeling. C’mon sprout! Be a good boy for ya mama!!:-)

  7. 8 shawnandsuzanne February 14, 2012 at 11:16 am

    Happy Valentines day! Go to our blog 2/14 we gave yo a shout out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. 10 txtingmrdarcy February 14, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    Happy Valentine’s Day!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I missed reading you the last couple of days, and ran in in a panic going “OMG Did Jess have the baby?!?!?!” Hang in there… I’m sending labory thoughts. Whatever that means.

  9. 11 http://lifestartsnow.wordpress.com February 14, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    happy valentine’s!
    sprout – get here, will ya??

  10. 12 lucindalines February 15, 2012 at 11:05 am

    Good luck to you. Ironically waiting for the second one was harder than the first, but the third was just sort of, “Oh you are coming today, I am not ready for you today.” Cherish every day you have with that child. Too soon, almost in the blink of an eye, they are calling you from college or from their home far away, and you can’t hold them to help them through whatever is the problem. I envy you even the labor pains, it is all worth it.

  11. 13 Mrs Loquacious February 15, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    I thought I was ready; baby was late and the wait was killing me. Now that she’s here, I am quickly learning how *not* ready I’ve been this entire time. She is her own little person, which I did not factor in. In hindsight, part of me wishes that those 6 years of marriage pre-baby were cherished more, and all of those lazy Saturday mornings and impromptu date nights would have lasted longer. I love my little Baby Loquacious but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t miss the DINK life.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


