it’s the final countdown

That song…The Final Countdown song…is stuck in my head. I don’t even really like the song, it just feels appropriate because um…obviously.

I told Tim the other day that I feel like a ticking time bomb….the sprout could comeΒ any day now…and no one knows when this preggo is going to start the laboring process.

Not even me.

Also? I don’t know if this is an impending sign of labor but OMG.

I. Am. Exhausted.

The fatigue I’ve had the last few days is almost embarrassing.

Let’s take yesterday as an example. I got up at 5:30am and then, after breakfast, decided it would be a great idea to take a nap from 8:00-9:00am.

The only reason I even woke up was because I had to pee…such a disappointment…but since I was mostly awake, I forced myself to get my lazy ass off the couch and wash both of our dogs – a golden retriever and a chocolate lab – because for some reason the one thing that drives me insane right now is smelly dogs. That’s my crazy nesting, I think.

The dogs must always be clean and bathed.

Their coats must be shiny and soft and I better smell shampoo and not dog whenever they are within a thirty foot radius or else I go whacky and fixate on them getting a bath.

These “baths” are happening almost weekly, now, and it is no small feat with a belly the size of Texas getting in the way. Good thing they both know how to get into and out of the bathtub without me having to lift them or else the whole process would become entirely more complex.

(we do sometimes take them somewhere to have the baths done but yesterday I decided “they” couldn’t do it better than me so *I* would handle it)

Post bath (and post shower for me) I decided it was appropriate to take another nap from somewhere around 12:30 – 2pm.

I went to bed at 9pm but could have easily done so around 7…or even 6…and between 2pm and 9pm I lived on the couch.

It’s a sad state of affairs, the end of pregnancy.

Today I’m (probably) forcing myself to do things, mostly because they need to be done and not at all because I A: feel like it or B: have the energy to do so, like an hour of walking because GET THIS BABY OUT and (begin panic attack in my head) the LAST grocery shopping trip before the sprout comes. The items on my grocery list are mostly easy snack-type things like greek yogurt and granola, lots of fruit, granola bars, oatmeal, etc because who is going to cook anything the first few weeks baby sprout is here?

Hell, I don’t even feel like cooking anything now.

I’ve decided that we’re going to live off of sandwiches and take out.

Also, we’re out of toilet paper and how this happened is beyond my realm of understanding.

You don’t run out of toilet paper with a 39 week pregnant lady in residence.

(I’m saying I’m 39 weeks because tomorrow is CLOSE ENOUGH)

This grocery shopping trip has to be done today because tomorrow is my weekly OB appointment. During the last few appointments, Tim and I have packed all of the hospital bags in the car and dropped the dogs off at daycare beforehand just in case we end up in the hospital and not back at home.

Forethought, people. It’s the only way.

Now…to decide to take a nap before my gym/grocery shopping escapade…

22 Responses to “it’s the final countdown”


  1. 1 Shannon February 8, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Wil lwe get twitter knowledge or SOMETHING to know labor has begun?? Not that we are on your priority I know, just curious:) Oh my God I’m thinking about you three! So excited!

  2. 4 JessSutera February 8, 2012 at 9:07 am

    Wow. I can’t imagine how weird it must be to go on your LAST grocery trip before sprout arrives. SO crazy weird!! I hope he/she arrives soon!!!

  3. 5 Brandy February 8, 2012 at 9:39 am

    First things first…. you deserve a nap ANY time you feel like you need it.
    Secondly, aren’t you glad that you picked a really comfy couch?
    Third, how are we going to know if you’re in laborious. You need to set up an email blast so we all know when you go to the hospital.

    Have fun shopping.

  4. 8 Wildology February 8, 2012 at 9:50 am

    Can’t grocery shopping count as walking? Please say yes. I usually take the Ipod with a book and stroll through for an hour…convincing myself that this is also exercise! We do have an outstanding Wegman’s though…so I enjoy it:)

    • 9 Jessica February 8, 2012 at 2:05 pm

      Yes. Why not? I mean, I spent an hour or so in there….that HAS to count for something – plus pushing a heavy cart?

      I LOVE Wegman’s! Every time we go up to NY to see Tim’s family that’s like my most favorite place ever. LOVE their eclairs. To die for. I wish we had one out here….sigh.

  5. 10 Amy February 8, 2012 at 10:16 am

    sleep as much as you can! I am envious of your sleep. And terrified that you’re so close, because if a baby comes out of you, that means that about 6 weeks later, a baby will come out of me, too! EEK!

  6. 12 maureen February 8, 2012 at 10:36 am

    Ahh… the final countdown. One of my co-workers likes to sing that. Horribly. I am impressed that you wash your dogs so often. Especially since you’re like, pregnant, and stuff.

  7. 13 sweetmother February 8, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    lol. all of my pregnant friends have smell “issues” — one could even smell the chicken in the fridge 3 rooms away…it’s amazing. sounds like the dogs will be glistening AND you’ll have a new little one. too funny. enjoyed it.

    • 14 Jessica February 8, 2012 at 2:06 pm

      Ugh. You reminded me of the smell of scrambled eggs (no idea why). I cannot handle it…at all. Makes me want to gag.

      Glad you stopped in! Wonderful having you and hope to see you around! The ride is about the get…interesting.

  8. 15 lifestartsnow February 8, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    i can’t help it but i’m picturing a round bomb with your head on top of it and a lighted fuse that’s already got sparks flying and all. πŸ˜‰

    no worries girl, you will do great and sprout will make a great entrance into this world! no explosions needed.

  9. 17 Arielle February 8, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    Thanks. Now I have the song stuck in my head, too. I already had it playing when I looked at the RSS feed and saw your blog title.

    Dada da daa. Dadadada daaaaaaaa. *sing*

  10. 19 Papa Guy February 9, 2012 at 12:42 am

    hope the sprout comes tomorrow…and how come whenever anybody says anything about anything that’s big, it’s the “size of Texas”? I do not understand that……

  11. 21 Sarah February 9, 2012 at 2:52 am

    Exciting! Good luck! Thanks now the song is stuck in my head.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


