the not so glamorous side of pregnancy

Not to try and discourage anyone from creating life because that’s obviously entirely more important and awesome than anything else a person will ever do, but just a friendly little PSA:

These things are real and if you find yourself knocked up, they will absolutely happen.

To you.

After your boobs get past the OMG. RAPID GROWTH PRON STAR QUALITY but OMG OUCH! DO NOT TOUCH phase, they will begin to leak. And sometimes, particularly after having a dream about a baby or, even better, YOUR future baby, you will wake up to a cold, wet half dollar (do they even make those anymore?) sized puddle on your shirt.

Your vaj? Always leaky. Always secreting something. The best remedy? Change your panties.

I’m a huge booger-phobe. As in – I cannot even stand my own – and pregnancy has given me the most disgusting, blood tinged boogers that make me want to gag every time I get out of the shower and blow my nose.

If you have any moles, they’re going to get bigger and there’s nothing you can do about it. Then, one day, while you’re going to shave, an inconspicuous mole that used to be flat is going to catch in your razor and you’ll scream like you’ve just been nailed in the shin by a swinging baseball bat.

NO sexy time because your husband…well, suffice it to say that once you can no longer ignore the fact that there is, absolutely, another person inside of you, you just aren’t the same “woman” anymore. Once you can feel actual body parts moving across your stomach? It’s over.

Almost from the word “PREGNANT” your brain is in a constant fog and you’ll forget you said things, forget where you put everything and need daily reminders plastered on your forehead.

And then? Your whacked out hormones, which have removed the brain to mouth filter, will have you arguing with anyone who tells you that you were wrong about anything.

Then? You’ll burst into tears when you realize they’re right.

Repeat cycle. Daily.

At some point, you’re going to get a case of the ‘roids. Hemorrhoids that is.

Uhh…the obvious: weight gain. More than likely, you’ll eventually outweigh your husband.

Stock up on toilet paper because you’re going to go through more rolls in nine months than you have in ten years. The bathroom will be your new home and when you’re out, be sure to know where the nearest one is located because when you have to go, you have to go RIGHT. NOW. There is no “holding it.”

You will be tired. All. The. Time. (except somewhere in the second trimester – hello ridiculous energy!) and those bags under your eyes? They’ll probably get bigger. And darker.

Heartburn will help you decide how much you *really* want to eat something…or not.

You’ll be reduced to sitting on puppy pads and towels on the couch and the car and the bed will crinkle every time you roll over.

Speaking of rolling over, you will wake up every single time you need to do so to remember to keep your knees locked together. There is no spreading of the pelvis unless you want to cry out in pain when it feels like a knife was just shoved up your hoo-ha.

Your hips? They’re going to get wider and they will ache for no other reason than the giant belly you’re lugging around.

Your lady garden? Butcher shop. After awhile, you’re really just guessing and hoping you don’t shave off something important.

Saggy pants and sweatshirts = BFF

Prunes and/or milk of magnesia = BFF

If you have issues burping or farting in front of people – or your husband – you may as well go ahead and get over it now because both will happen and you will have had no idea that either were coming. There is no longer a “dainty” burp option. They’re sneaky and will shock everyone, including you, with both their force and magnitude.

The new form of communication around the house will be grunting. Even if you try to avoid it, you’ll soon learn that without that extra oomph, you’re never getting up from anywhere.

You will celebrate every single time you manage to take a decent poo. You will also announce it to your husband like you’ve just own the Nobel Prize.

Walking is reduced to waddling.

(So far, I’m fortunate to not have any stretch marks (knock on wood) or out of control acne (yet), so I’m not even going to tempt fate, but both…completely possible).

At the end of the third trimester, you’ll begin to get excited about looking for a snot like substance in the toilet a la mucus plug because that means “things” are happening.

At some point, probably at 3am when you cannot sleep thanks to pregnancy insomnia, you will accept that things that only seem normal in a horror flick are about to pop out of your vaj, you are going to be spread eagle for someone other than your husband, multiple sets of strange hands will be going in and out of you all over the place, at some point, you will probably make noises that sound like a mating boar and you might just take a dump in front of a room full of people.

No biggie.

(been there, done that moms: feel free to add more in the comments!)

29 Responses to “the not so glamorous side of pregnancy”


  1. 1 Ellie February 7, 2012 at 8:38 am

    It is so funny! I have no kids of my own but now that I have read your post, I am thinking maybe I should adopt one… 🙂

  2. 5 JessSutera February 7, 2012 at 9:28 am

    OMG you are a riot. And you just scared the crap out of me. Just kidding. Kinda. 😉

  3. 7 Kathleen Reifsnyder February 7, 2012 at 9:35 am

    It’s all just part of the “maturing” process…. We suddenly find out how much we can really endure for the love of another being…..

    I think that’s why we have 9 months to adjust, we need it to really come to terms with what lies ahead….

    It’s all good!!!!!!

  4. 9 rachelwhims February 7, 2012 at 9:51 am

    HAHAHA! This is great. I’m 24 weeks along and as I was reading this I kept saying, “Yep that’s right” “Mhm, preach it!” “Just happened last night.” My newly wed cousin just recently asked how she’s suppose to know when she’s ready for kids. I think I’ll pass this along to her. Thanks for posting!

  5. 11 hellesbelles86 February 7, 2012 at 10:01 am

    LOL!! I’m just getting into the 2nd trimester myself and I have so many of these symptoms already. The constantly stuffy nose is my newest achievement. I did decided to do a home birth with a midwife and a doula instead of the hospital random strangers bit so that’s a bit better, but as a trade off, although the midwife is someone I’m just getting to know as a professional and friend, my doula is a very good friend from high school who will soon see waaaayyyyy more of me than I’ve ever been comfortable with anyone seeing who wasn’t also my spouse. Fun stuff! Loving getting to see someone else with a sense of humor ‘go before’ as it were- you’re much more honest than a lot of the books.

    • 12 Jessica February 7, 2012 at 11:54 am

      Good for you on the home birth! I don’t think I could do it…I’d have to black mark the room “it” happened in…skeeves me out for some reason – not that there is anything wrong with it…just…not for me.

      Wow on your friend being your doula. I don’t know if I could do that, either. You’re a braver woman than me.

  6. 13 Brett Minor February 7, 2012 at 11:51 am

    To any man that says they want to experience the magic of childbirth – they can have it. This does not sound like fun. Thanks for doing it for us.

  7. 15 thegozes February 7, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    Bwah ha ha…true. All.Of.It. After giving birth, you will find yourself talking about things you would have never DREAMED of talking about nine months ago. Nothing is embarrassing after that! Good luck with the final days of your pregnancy. It’s all worth it. (I found your blog through the sunset pics…awesome idea. Not that I’ll be doing it anytime soon.)

    • 16 Jessica February 7, 2012 at 12:10 pm

      So glad you found me! 🙂 You never know with the sunrises. Maybe you’ll be inspired one day….

      Also? Thank you! I’m really starting to understand that modesty is overrated.

  8. 17 Shannon February 7, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    In the middle of this crap day I needed to laugh. I know it shouldn’t be funny and I’ll be there one day but only you can turn it into humor:)

  9. 19 lifestartsnow February 7, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    oh my, you aren’t making having kids any easier 😉 love it!

  10. 21 Wildology February 7, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    Ahhh yes. I totally cheer when a good poo comes along;) funny lady!

    The bad news: average 1st time moms give birth at 41 weeks and 1 day. Patience is not a virtue I own. ***sad face**

    You look great, though:)

  11. 23 Mandy February 7, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    I’ve never been pregnant, but this is an awesome, awesome post. It’s going to be so much easier once I do get pregnant and stuff starts happening; I can think, “Yeah, I read that would happen. That’s not weird at all.”

    Thanks!

  12. 25 jobo February 7, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    OMG this made me laugh and cringe just a little 😉 I love this post though, nobody tells you this stuff!!

  13. 28 sarah February 8, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    At 32-ish weeks, all I ditto are the leaky vaj and overgrown lady garden. I hope I don’t pay for an easy pregnancy with one of those three-day labours I’ve heard about.

  14. 29 Katie Spencer White February 10, 2012 at 7:47 am

    Very true – all of it. I’ve experienced it all, lol! I’m currently 36 weeks on pregnancy #5 and have a couple more to add:

    1. Vericose veins (and spider veins) – I made it through four “priors” without one of these little buggers and let me just say not only are they unsightly, they hurt, too! These had better disappear after Little Dude is born or mama is not gonna be happy.

    2. Hernia – yes, you can develop these in pregnancy! Who knew, right? Painful and less than endearing when the Little Dude sticks his foot in the gap.

    I’m telling you, women deserve hazard pay for this.

    Best wishes for a safe and happy delivery!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


