the weekend of everything except…

Over the past four days….

I had another OB appointment where I learned I’ve not progressed any farther from my 2 centimeters dilated and 75% effaced, except baby sprout has moved down another “station” and is now -1 instead of -2 and I gained zero pounds from the previous week.

If you have no idea what I’m talking about with the whole station thing, this visual will probably help.

Zero is good.

Anything in the positive is way better.

So….yay for…that?

Also over the weekend?

My birthday.

We didn’t have a “cake” other than to grab one from Whole Foods on the way home from the OB appointment and dinner. Our plans are super flexible right now since we have no idea when baby sprout will make his appearance.

I’m not even going to apologize for the ghetto swishy pants halfway down/no makeup/crazy hair.

It’s called 38 weeks and 5 days pregnant.

And it’ll be your reality, too if you ever reach this point.

Also? We got a lot of snow.

As in record breaking snowfall.

That ruler reads 14 inches, by the way.

So much snow that Tim had a snow day on Friday. I mean…technically he was awake all night on Thursday watching the weather and was ultimately the one who decided that it would be a snow day for the plant but, details, details. To me, it meant he was home. Yay!

Which? Definitely helpful because he had to make a poo path for the dogs.

They were super grateful.

We also *officially* met our neighbors, which was kind of like fate because sometime during the late morning on Friday, I went upstairs to take a nap and saw our ENTIRE STREET shoveling their driveways. Not being from Colorado, I yelled down to Tim all, “We should probably shovel…the entire neighbor is shoveling.”

So, we did.

Yes, I said WE.

The 38+ week pregnant woman shoveled snow because she can’t help herself…but only the small stuff…don’t have a heart attack, people.

Anyway, our neighbor came over with a shovel and started helping us out of nowhere. So, we struck up a conversation and then Tim and the neighbor – Brian – went to help another lady across the street while Brian’s wife, Niki, came up behind me as I was finishing off some of the small stuff on the driveway all, “Should you be doing that?!”

I turned around, slightly startled because I had no idea she was there, and was like, “Probably not.”

Tim and Brian came back over and we all had a nice little chat in below freezing temperatures and somewhere within that chat they offered to A: make us a meal for after the baby comes and B: watch our dogs in case we end up having to go to the hospital at three in the morning.

WE JUST MET THESE PEOPLE.

Then?

Oh, yes, it gets better.

Then, Saturday afternoon they stopped over and gave us a baby gift and invited us to their Super Bowl party on Sunday.

A GIFT.

THEY BROUGHT US A GIFT.

Seriously, people like this still exist?!

And they’re our neighbors!?

In Tim and my good neighbor defense, we did shovel their entire sidewalk Saturday morning (which is legit forever long) and I dropped puppy chow off on their doorstep during the Christmas holidays.

Puppy chow as in with Crispix and chocolate and peanut butter and powdered sugar. Not as in dog food. Just to be clear.

So, wow. Tim and I were utterly blown away by their kindness and openness and couldn’t stop looking at each other all, “Did that really just happen?”

We are not used to that kind of people behavior, coming from a place where our neighbors literally avoided us like the plague.

We brought a bottle of wine and a thank you card to the Super Bowl party.

That’s appropriate, right?

All of that activity and………..no baby sprout.

I did have crampiness (not a word, I know) Saturday night and Sunday morning but nothing consistent or what would be considered a *real* contraction. It was just enough to be annoying and to get Tim into semi-nesting mode to make sure the house was picked up and our hospital bags were packed according to our list.

*sigh*

Here’s hoping the full moon AND cold front tomorrow start something productive and promising.

I’m also about to head to the gym and walk my little ass off.

I hear that’s helpful, too.

18 Responses to “the weekend of everything except…”


  1. 1 Mouse February 6, 2012 at 9:53 am

    They sound like the kind of person you’ll stay in contact with even after you move. You really are very lucky to have them around 🙂

    Also have you tried rosehip tea? I’ve heard it can induce labour.

    • 2 Jessica February 6, 2012 at 11:36 am

      I hope so! It’s a first…that’s for sure.

      I haven’t tried that tea but I’m definitely going to look into it! Anything to help move this little one along!

  2. 3 JessSutera February 6, 2012 at 10:56 am

    Of course you went out to shovel, I’d expect nothing less from you, haha! I love the pic of you with the cake, your baby belly is so cute and SO ready to pop, I hope anyway! I contend that you STILL look awesome at 38 weeks and 5 days, btw. 🙂

  3. 5 thejessicaness February 6, 2012 at 10:59 am

    You carry pregnancy very well and you have awesome neighbors. Please let me know where to sign up for this luck. I hope the waiting list is not too long. Continue to enjoy the “me” time that you still have that will seem less as will your sleep when sprout arrives, but it seems you have a loving husband and caring neighbors – you will be fine. May you still find time to share your blessings here, and other details.

    • 6 Jessica February 6, 2012 at 11:38 am

      Thank you so much! As for the luck…um…I’m not even sure how we’ve been so fortunate? I count my blessings every single day – especially the one where I have a supportive, loving husband! 🙂

  4. 7 bloggingreluctantly February 6, 2012 at 11:18 am

    Been thinking about you and will be sending you happy labor thoughts!!! Happy belated b-day too btw! 🙂

  5. 9 http://lifestartsnow.wordpress.com February 6, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    oh girl, i want your neighbors!

    and by the way, that belly of yours looks awesome! i thought with no post in he past 2 days i thought sprout may have made his appearance but NO, you were shoveling snow. just what i would do at 38 weeks +5 😉 lol

    push it girl!

  6. 11 jobo February 6, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    you shoveled?! crazy pants!!! 😉 But you still look gorgeous and I can’t wait to hear the news of baby…baby watch in full effect!!

  7. 13 Txtingmrdarcy February 6, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday, Momma-Boosh!

    I agree with Jobo- it’s BABY WATCH 2012! *cue kicky theme song*

  8. 15 shawnandsuzanne February 7, 2012 at 12:14 am

    Ohmygosh! We may not hear form you for a few days, or months, or YEARS! Just kidding. Best of luck to you, it sounds like any moment now…
    It’s gonna be great 🙂

  9. 17 rjlouise February 8, 2012 at 11:37 am

    Total newcomer here (thank you, sunrises)! I officially love your neighbors. I can’t say I’m terribly surprised, though. I’ve lived in Colorado most of my life (though an hour south of Denver) and I have noticed that we’re really good at the “no such thing as a stranger in a snow storm.” I’m so glad we’re treating you well after the neighborhood from hell! Good luck as the due date approaches, and I hope the snow doesn’t make the burgeoning birth more complicated. ~Joie

  10. 18 Sam February 9, 2012 at 4:23 am

    Re the snow
    Presumably you were somewhere under this lot then:
    http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/badastronomy/2012/02/06/hey-i-can-see-my-snow-covered-house-from-here/

    And don’t worry about being compelled to not rest: My wife had to be virtually restrained in the last stages of pregnancy such was her inability to do nothing. She did laps in the pool the morning before our first was born.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


