*37 week bump update* + fu manchu

If I start making zero sense at any point it’s because I feel like I’ve been hit by a bus. I have no idea why but I am d-r-a-g-g-i-n-g and could definitely sleep ALL. DAY. LONG. if it weren’t for the constant bathroom interruptions.

As far as pregnancy symptoms go, I have no idea what this means but it seems to be happening more often these days.

Anyhow.

My birthday is Thursday.

I’m in denial.

My birthday was the last “thing” on my “What Has to Happen Before the Sprout Comes” list and that thing is Thursday.

THURSDAY.

……..

Not to mention that after Thursday I’ll only be a year away from 30….

I told Tim if we don’t celebrate my birthday then technically it didn’t happen and then maybe everything will just slow the hell down so I can have a minute to process the fact that our lives are about to be turned upside-down and backwards. The anxiety and mini-freak-out-attacks I have now are both ridiculous and necessary, I think. I mean, having them means I understand that my life and my role as a person is about to change forever but having them also means I’m having them…which does nothing to encourage the calming thoughts I should probably be having at this point.

And then, I have other moments where I’m completely giddy about the sprout.

It’s like I have multiple personality disorder and FYI it is extremely confusing to live inside my brain right now.

Also? Did someone forget to tell me that the heartburn gets worse at the end? OMG. I’ve never had heartburn in my life and now it’s like I need an ongoing prescription for Tums.

(the ironic part is I’ve yet to even take Tums…ever)

In the middle of my multiple personalities, I have moments where I’m all, “I’m ready! Let’s get this show on the road!” and then I have other moments – usually somewhere between 1 and 4 am where I’ll be awake, unable to fall back asleep even though I’m exhausted, and think, “Dear God…please don’t let my water break now because I’m really not in the mood to deal with it.

Of course, because I’m saying this, my water is going break at 2:15 in the morning.

That’s how pregnancy karma works, I think.

At this point, I’m preparing myself for “any day now” or having the OB tell me that I’m not going home after my appointment but instead straight to the hospital.

Notice I said preparing.

I’m not entirely sure how I’ll handle the situation when it happens.

Tears come to mind.

I had a list of things I wanted to get accomplished this weekend because, you know, “any day now…” so we managed those even though neither of us really wanted to do them.

The big one was cleaning the house. Tim was in charge of the kitchen and vacuuming while I dusted and did little stuff. I don’t know why but cleaning the kitchen is A: the most difficult and time consuming task ever and B: the most rewarding when you’re finished.

Our kitchen is literally sparkling, now. Mostly because Tim did extra super cleaning on stuff we normally don’t clean because he said he “knew I wanted a super clean house.”

How sweet, right? I know.

Then…because you can’t have a weekend of no fun, Tim shaved off his goatee and things got real.

This…the man I married:

Who the hell these people are…I have no idea.

I think somebody’s uncle Ralph is the second one and I’m pretty sure the first dude shot up an old saloon.

And lastly, (also probably what you’ve been waiting for), the bump!

I really don’t see much change from 35 weeks to this weekend (37 weeks). Do you?

35 weeks…

35 weeks, 3 days

37 weeks…

37 weeks, 4 days

I guess my boobs look a little smaller?…and my face looks fatter.

The hell with it all at this point. I’m big. I know it.

People notice I’m pregnant even with a huge bulky jacket.

The sprout is in there and taking up all the space and I’m just saying it’s about time he comes O-U-T.

10 Responses to “*37 week bump update* + fu manchu”


  1. 1 becomingcliche January 30, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    I was resolved to work all the way up until D-day with my third. And I did. Sort of. By about 2pm each day, I’d say “Yep. Tired. Going home for a nap.”

    Best wishes!

  2. 2 Mrs Loquacious January 30, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    Yep, I can relate to the fatigue; mine hit around 37 weeks as well. Suddenly, I became an eating/pooping/sleeping machine (not unlike the life of a baby). Heartburn hit me bad in week 38; I’m finding that peppermint tea helps a little bit. And the swelling…that was week 39. Now, at 40+, I am just plain impatient and wanting baby to come and put me out of my misery! 😉

  3. 3 PJ January 30, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    I love the pictures of Tim in the process of shaving off his goatee! And your boobs look smaller because your bump is bigger. Not much but a little.

  4. 4 thoughtsappear January 30, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    I’m excited that you’re almost there! Happy Birthday!

  5. 5 maureen January 30, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    A woman in my office just had her first baby a week early. (So maybe you will be early too?) The whole time she was pregnant, she did not appear to change at all, besides the obvious bump. She worked up until Friday, all la-tee-da about the whole thing. Went into labor on Friday night and didn’t have the baby until Sunday morning. That part sounds pretty craptastic, to be in labor so long… blah.

  6. 6 http://lifestartsnow.wordpress.com January 30, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    bump!!! girl, look back a few weeks where you doubted you would ever look pregnant to someone just passing you by on the street. you’ve definitely passed THAT stage. 🙂

  7. 7 Wildology January 30, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    I am so excited for you!! You look GREAT! Seriously. Really great! Hang in there and happy birthday;)

  8. 8 JessSutera January 30, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    I think everything you’re feeling – the rollercoaster of emotions is totally normal (this from the chick that has yet to experience it herself!) and honestly? you’re ready. MORE than ready. And um hi, you look fantastic at 37 wks, seriously!!

  9. 9 Papa Guy January 31, 2012 at 12:10 am

    aww, sweetie, 30 is nothing. just wait until 60…..
    Happy Birthday!!!
    I hope you have a sprout for your Bday.

  10. 10 Carolyn February 1, 2012 at 10:35 pm

    Happy Birthday tomorrow. 🙂

    And I assume that you’ve heard this, but I’ll say it anyway – *they* (whoever they are) *SAY* that if you have heartburn during pregnancy, your baby will have lots of hair on its head when it’s born.

    But I don’t know if that is really, really, really true or not.

    Congratulations and wish you an easy delivery.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

your favorites (I didn’t pick ’em)

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


