the unexpected name dilemma

Tim and I have had a name for the sprout for…awhile.

Obviously, it’s a secret.

No one knows the name except Tim and me, though our hair person always tries to get it out of us EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. she sees Tim and me all, “Come on! What’s the name? Tell meeeeeeeee!” Or out of nowhere she’ll be like, “So, what’s the baby’s name, again?”

We tell her sprout.

Or baby Bold.

She tried to guess this past Saturday while Tim got the second to last haircut before the sprout arrives (EEEEEEEEE!!!!!!)

She wasn’t even close.

It’s stressful, giving someone a name they will have for the rest of their life. I mean, having the last name of “Bold” already causes some confusion. I guess people cannot fathom someone having that last name. It should be Gold. Or Bolden. Or Bolt.

I’ve gotten so used to saying my name this way without skipping a beat: “Jessica Bold. B-o-l-d as in dog.”

And people are usually still confused.

So, we obviously don’t want to name the sprout something crazy hard to pronounce because he’s already starting with a name disadvantage.

(Even though it’s a small sacrifice since Bold is the best last name in the universe)

I also have a sensitivity to having the sprout have the same name as a zillion other boys. My name isn’t as popular as it used to be but growing up I don’t think I ever had a single class where there wasn’t another Jessica. I always had to share.

I don’t want the sprout to have to share…as much.

Tim and I went over name after name after name and it took FOR-EVER to pick one that we both liked and were happy with.

After that, we didn’t think anymore of it.

Sprout had a name.

Check that off the list.

Then…THEN during the surprise work lunch shower thing (did I ever mention that? I know I said I made dessert for lunch for Tim’s work thing but I don’t remember if I said anything about the shower?….) that Tim’s direct reports did for me last week, one of his work peeps, out of nowhere, was all, “What if the baby comes out and doesn’t look like the name you picked?”

Begin massive tailspin in my brain of OMG. WHAT IF?! THIS CANNOT HAPPEN!

I told Tim we needed a backup name. ASAP.

Tim told me he was going to kill the person who put that fear into my brain.

Thanks to the possibility of the sprout looking nothing like the name we picked, I spent part of this past weekend going back over the name we had and searching for another one we would like just as much and would also work with the middle name.

I LOVE sprout’s middle name and definitely do not want to change it. Period.

Tim indulged my craziness with the name and suggested we look back at the original list we made and lo and behold!

A NAME!

A name that I um…have to admit that I actually like better than the one we had in the first placeΒ and double bonus! It matches perfectly with the middle name.

Tim liked this new name from the beginning but because I was like, “eh” he didn’t push it.

Now…we just have to decide on the spelling…but at least that has been narrowed down to a few options. I asked Tim after we had decided on the second name option (which has technically become the sprout’s name in my head because I like it somuchmore) if he was 100% ok with either name.

He said he was.

Crisis averted!

Random Sidebar: Why does my entire abdomen ache today? Like, the whole thing huuuurts. Constantly. Pair that with random Braxton Hicks and I’m not exactly feeling awesome. Someone, diagnose me.

Better Than Random Sidebar: GUESS WHO RECEIVED A FANTASTICAL SURPRISE LAST NIGHT?!

This girl.

The lovely and super talented Amy over at Hamlet’s Mistress made and sent us this handmade, adorable little baby blanket for the sprout. I mean, seriously? Amy? You’re awesome and as you already know, this was one of the most thoughtful things anyone has done for us. We’re so touched and blessed to have you as a bloggy friend!

Also?

Did I mention that WE LOVE IT.

27 Responses to “the unexpected name dilemma”


  1. 1 Julia January 24, 2012 at 10:12 am

    diagnosis: pregnant. very close to giving birth. watermelon in belly.

  2. 3 maureen January 24, 2012 at 10:37 am

    Don’t most babies come out looking, ummm…. not quite like themselves anyway? So, what if you give him a name and then a couple months/years later, he looks more like the other name?

    • 4 Jessica January 24, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      This…is just mean. πŸ˜‰ Now what am I going to do?!

      • 5 maureen January 24, 2012 at 3:32 pm

        sorry, I just had to make it even more difficult for you : ) I’m sure he’ll “grow into” the name no matter what he looks like.

        • 6 Cindy January 24, 2012 at 9:26 pm

          I agree with Maureen- whatever name you pick, give it a month and you won’t be able to ever imagine another name for him. πŸ™‚ Also, the pain and not sleeping and other discomforts at this point are God’s way of preparing you to have the mind set that you are beyond ready to have this baby out NO MATTER WHAT! Makes you less nervous about what’s to come. πŸ™‚

  3. 7 Robin Patterson January 24, 2012 at 11:02 am

    We chose legacy family names — after grandfathers we adored who did not get to see our sons faces this side of heaven. Both boys are uniquely who they are, in spite of the names we tried to define them with — uniquely gifted, uniquely handsome, uniquely James and Samuel. I think Sprout is going to be wonderful regardless of what name you put on the birth certificate.

    • 8 Jessica January 24, 2012 at 2:47 pm

      Thank you! I think legacy names are pretty awesome…I’m not sure how Tim’s family did/does them but on my side my mom gave us all middle names that were “legacy” names from her family so the name was carried on.

  4. 9 Angelia Sims January 24, 2012 at 11:14 am

    I picked Sydney’s name at 5 mos, before I knew she was a girl. It was the middle name we squabbled over. His sister wanted her middle name to be Michelle, like hers, because she was the first grandchild and Sydney would be the first Great Grandchild (on their side). But naming her after the grandma seemed like a better idea, but her middle name was Jean. This became a battle. She was born and looked just like my clone, so her middle name is Elizabeth like mine. πŸ™‚
    Yes, names are soooo fun. She really does love her name and only had one other Sydney in the whole school.
    You will be glad you put so much thought into it. I can’t wait to hear what his is! And I think that means baby sprout will be here very soon. It is almost February. πŸ™‚

    • 10 Jessica January 24, 2012 at 2:47 pm

      I hope we didn’t put TOO much thought into it? I don’t know…it probably is a good thing but it has been entirely too stressful! πŸ™‚

      Love Sydney’s name, by the way!

    • 11 PJ January 24, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      Ooh, there was a battle over my middle name too – my mom wanted to use her middle name (which is also my grandma’s middle name and my great grandma’s middle name and my great-great grandma’s first name) and my dad wanted to use one of his aunt’s names.

      The good story goes that my dad told my mom she was fat while pregnant with me (which is weird because I was tiny and a month early), so her middle name won.

      The true story is that my mom didn’t want to piss off my grandma by naming their first kid after her sister and not her. So, my mom’s middle name won.

  5. 12 Shannon January 24, 2012 at 11:26 am

    I thought his name was Sprout? Great. Now I’ll have to learn a whole other name. AND diagnosis…pregnant.

  6. 14 jobo January 24, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    I think the name would be the most stressful for me too! For all of the same reasons. I can’t wait to find out what you have chosen πŸ™‚

  7. 16 Daniela January 24, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    I always wondered how you could pick out a name without even have met the baby for real…
    So I still like the theory that one day, I might just make a list of names I like and would go with the last name and then just wait ’til the baby is there and decide after I see him/her. πŸ˜‰

  8. 18 Mrs Loquacious January 24, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    We actually only have a backup boy name. We have just one name for a girl, which is apparently what I am having. I figure if she hates it, she’ll change it when she turns 18. However, the bazillion people I’ve mentioned the name to in real life have *loved* both the first and middle names, so I am feeling pretty good about the choice. We often address her by her name in utero too. πŸ™‚

    • 19 Jessica January 24, 2012 at 2:49 pm

      I’d feel so bad if our kid ended up changing their name! It’d feel like I failed at my first job as a mom!

      It is good you’ve had positive feedback! That’s always promising.

  9. 20 Pamela Jane (PJ) January 24, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    I’m kind of surprised that you didn’t already have a back-up name planned. With all your type A-ness. My parents always did – but then again they never knew the sex of their kids until they were born, so they had to have a boy and a girl name picked out. (For example, if I had been a boy – I would have been James Leroy the Third – and if either of my brothers had been girls they would have been Katherine Rose)

    • 21 Jessica January 24, 2012 at 2:50 pm

      Hi PJ! πŸ™‚ Missed you!

      I know, right? My Type A-ness should have had plan A, B and C….

      Would you have liked being the third?…Katherine Rose is pretty!

      • 22 PJ January 24, 2012 at 8:26 pm

        I saw the cutest baby giraffe stuffed animal yesterday – and I totally thought of you and sprout!

        And then I realized that I missed you too! Work has been all consuming lately and then I have my first orthodontic treatment later this week – but I will get new blogs up.

    • 23 maureen January 24, 2012 at 3:30 pm

      James Leroy the Third! haha!

      • 24 PJ January 24, 2012 at 8:16 pm

        They were going to call me JT – for short. I don’t remember what your parents were going to name you if you were a boy; but, I remember having the conversion while eating dinner at your house one night. I remember laughing at Michael and calling him by the girl’s name your parents had for him, though I don’t remember the actual name. And I remember that your parents almost named you Lourdes.

  10. 25 Txtingmrdarcy January 24, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    Amy is one of my favorite people on the interwebs… That was THE SWEETEST idea. πŸ™‚

  11. 26 Sam January 26, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    We put almost no thought into the naming of our girls before they arrived. All the legacy family names have been used up in this generation, so we had a free hand so to speak, and pretty much chose names in the first couple of days after delivery based on what we thought suited. Seems to be working so far πŸ™‚


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


