mourning what i used to loathe

Back in Georgia, Tim and I used to have this…tradition, we’ll call it.

It didn’t happen every week, but it may as well have because this is how I will always remember Friday nights after a long week at work.

Inevitably, Fridays meant neither of us had the desire or the energy to cook anything for dinner so, instead of slugging through the process, we’d usually meet somewhere near the house to have dinner.

More often than not, I’d call Tim to let him know I was leaving and then, because he worked two miles away from the house (I know. Not fair), he’d meet meet at a restaurant we agreed upon instead of us both going home first.

I’d be famished and ready to kill somebody by the time I made it there, thanks to the horrendously famous Friday traffic in Atlanta.

We used to make fun of ourselves, wondering if people thought we were cheating on our spouses because we met at the restaurant in different cars and both had wedding rings on…anyhow.

It was almost always Longhorn Steakhouse.

There weren’t many options out where we lived and this – along with Jim n Nicks and a pizza place called Amici’s – were the ones we seemed to agree on more often than not.

After sitting down, we’d both just expel everything that was driving us crazy about work.

We’d both feel better afterwards. Well, I felt better. I’m assuming Tim did, too.

Sometimes we would stop at this frozen yogurt place on the way home. It was kind of like a one-off Pink Berry type place. I don’t even remember the real name of it because I always called it “Confetti’s.” I have no idea why…just something I did once and it stuck.

Once we were home, we’d veg out on the couch and watch the TV shows we had recorded during the week that we didn’t have time to watch until we started falling asleep. Then we’d make our way up to bed.

This didn’t happen EVERY Friday…but that’s how I remember them. Exhausted. Mentally worn down. Vent session and salad at Longhorns.

It was Friday.

It was comforting.

Granted, at the time, I would have given anything to *not* have to feel that way at the end of every week. I wanted to be somewhere else. I’d moan and complain and beg to be anywhere else but where we lived. I didn’t want to feel so stressed out over my job.

Never in my wildest imagination did I think I’d MISS those Friday nights.

But I do.

Maybe it’s because I know Tim and I will never have a Friday night like that ever again, especially once the sprout is here.

It’s hard to know you are going to have to let go of what you’ve always had…knowing your life will never be the same again. It’s hard to prepare for that…to wrap your head around it…to accept it willingly and with a smile on your face.

I love Tim and me.

I’m going to miss those days where it was “just us.”

It’s really difficult to let go of that life…I can see it slowly slipping away as the days tick closer to the arrival of the sprout.

No longer will life be simple…just the two of us…

I know it will be all that and much, much more with the sprout. I know life will be more fulfilling and full of love with the sprout.

I know it will.

I’m just having a hard time seeing it right now.

17 Responses to “mourning what i used to loathe”


  1. 1 Shannon January 18, 2012 at 7:46 am

    It is a weird feeling knowing life will never be the same, especially after so many years. You will have to at least make date nights adn time away for yourselves. Life will be full of things you never imagined and the two of you won’t want to leave sprout behind for anything. Knowing all the lasts kind of makes things scary when you are going into the unknown.

  2. 2 Jessica January 18, 2012 at 8:09 am

    Definitely…and I’m trying to wrap my head around it…

  3. 3 jobo January 18, 2012 at 9:36 am

    I think this would by far be one of the biggest things I would miss as well. Of course, I am sure that once the baby arrives, you can’t imagine life without him, but leading up to it, I’d be clinging on for dear life too. You will adjust, I promise, and look back at this post in a few months and be blown away by how much fuller your life will feel, even if it feels full now! XOXO!

  4. 5 Brandy January 18, 2012 at 10:46 am

    Your life with sprout will be great. Find a good baby sitter and continue Friday night traditions in your new place.

  5. 7 Casey January 18, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    You WILL still get to veg out on the couch… after the sprout goes to bed. Trust me. Hubby and I do this, like, every night.

  6. 9 Oregon Sunshine January 18, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    Wait! Did you live in Monroe? Because, we have everything you just described. I think your “Confetti’s” is actually called Bruster’s. Cute little ice cream shop with a cherry on the logo?

    If you ate at Longhorn regularly, that’s endorsement enough for me! I miss being by Ted’s Montana Grill. Haven’t tried Longhorn yet. Really miss Ted’s. Oh, did I mention I really miss Ted’s? 🙂

    Life will change, but you’ll find a new ritual you’ll love to hate!

    • 10 Jessica January 19, 2012 at 9:57 am

      No…but I love Brusters! They don’t have those out here and OMG I miss Cotton Candy Explosion! I loved that ice cream!! I worked there for a summer during high school…good times…

      Longhorns cannot compare to Ted’s. I love Ted’s 100000000x more than Longhorn…but at least they don’t have dry chicken (Longhorn) like most chain places do.

      • 11 Oregon Sunshine January 19, 2012 at 11:46 am

        That is good to know! We haven’t been to Bruster’s yet. Mostly because I forget it’s there until we’re driving past, in a hurry to get somewhere. It’s not in the main part of town, so going by always triggers an “Oh yeah!” reaction. I will make a point of stopping in soon.

  7. 12 Txtingmrdarcy January 18, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    *HUGSHUGSHUGS*

    This is one of the things holding Army Boy and I back, we’re totally not ready to give up the feeling of “just us.” You can do this, you will do this, and you and Tim together will be more spectacular parents than you could ever have imagined.

    • 13 Jessica January 19, 2012 at 9:57 am

      Thank you! And you and Army Boy need to enjoy being married, first!! I’m so glad Tim and I had four years of “just us” instead of rushing right into baby making. It was totally worth it.

  8. 14 franzi January 18, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    oh how cute!!!
    but it made me think about my friend who is 7months pregnant right now. she met her now fiance 12 months ago, was engaged 4 months later and then boom pregnant. i KNOW, talk about speed of light.
    i feel a little sad for her that she won’t have that mourning of friday nights because…well, she didn’t really have too many friday nights without a baby…choices people make, i know. it’s not my life so i shouldn’t judge…

  9. 16 Mrs Loquacious January 18, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    We’re trying to fit in as many dates as we can in the last couple of weeks pre-baby. I am hoping we can still keep some of our traditions up, though I know what you mean. I will miss a lot of those times that I probably took for granted when they came easily to us. That said, we’re eager to build new traditions that include our little one! 🙂

    • 17 Jessica January 19, 2012 at 9:59 am

      Congrats on your pregnancy! Yay!

      We haven’t done enough date nights…that’s for sure. I’m excited for new traditions, too, I just get stuck in this rut sometimes all, “OMG. BABY. CHANGES EVERYTHING.” Other times I’m super excited…oh, hormones, why do you do this to me?


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


