today…is a pregnancy milestone: 35/35

I honestly cannot believe we’re here…already.

Today I am officially 35 weeks pregnant and exactly 35 days from my due date.

How does the math even work out?!

(By the way, I did fraction math – correctly – all by myself yesterday without a calculator. We should all be proud. Or shocked. One of those.)

Back in the beginning of reading about the third trimester during my daily obsession (aka the pregnancy forums), I kept seeing people post things like, “Finally!!!! 35/35!!!!!!!!!!!!” and I was like, “Huh?”

NOW I UNDERSTAND.

I’m more than just in the home stretch. I’m making the final lap. I’m IN the final lap.

Baby sprout is just about fully baked and ready…to be an outside baby.

Last night, Tim reached over, rubbed my belly and was all, “It’s almost time, little buddy….

And the selfish part of me? The part that is desperately wanting to sleep on her stomach and not have to squeeze my legs together every time I get up (spread legs = excruciating vajayjay pain) and actually work out and get a nice, good, worked my ass off post-sweat?

SO READY.

I think I’ve officially reached the super tired, uncomfortable, waddle-when-I-walk-because-every-step-is-painful stage. I’ve been trying to workout five times a week…and this week I’ve gone to the gym a grand total of ZERO times so far. My goal is the next four days in a row…we’ll see how that works out. It’s amazing how much energy I don’t have anymore when it feels like just last week I was bursting with loads of it.

I refuse to quit working out, though.

If baby sprout goes all the way to 40 weeks, I’m not going to spend the next five sitting on my duff, sleeping and eating like I did yesterday…but OMG did that feel heavenly.

Except the part where my hips and back started to ache.

I suppose that’s the tradeoff.

When I workout, those aches go away, only to be replaced by sharper vajayjay pain, mostly after I do one of the weight classes (light weights…lots of reps…no worries). When I don’t make it to the gym, the back and hip pain is awful. I’ve never really had either to contend with before, so I’m not exactly enjoying it much  at all. I can deal with sore muscles and worn out legs…but the back and hips?…and vajayjay?

No thank you.

Anyhow, I’m feeling pretty good about where we are right now with the potential for the sprout to come at any given moment. After our “scare” last week, Tim and I did a bunch of stuff over the weekend to get ready for his arrival. We charged camera batteries and washed sheets and ordered things off of Amazon and packed our bags for the hospital, just in case this week ended up being baby week.

It wasn’t.

BUT all of that is done, now, so I don’t have to sit around and think about how much I should be doing those things AND we have a car seat (super important piece of baby gear we hadn’t purchased until Sunday), so I’d say we’re set (I mean, I’m going to double check our bags, now and add a few things we forgot and make sure my birth plan is more than just scribbles on a piece of paper…and probably wash more baby clothes…fix his nursery a bit more….).

And as of now, the natural birth plan is back on.

Even though I still really want to try a med-free birth, it scares the bejeezus out of me. I don’t care how many times I read that millions upon millions of other women have done it before me and our bodies are made for this and the pain is good pain and blah blah blah.

I’m not them.

I’ve never done it before.

I have no idea how much “pain” I’ll be in.

IT’S SCARY.

SO THERE.

I have no idea how to transition (That, by the way? The thing I’m most afraid of when it comes to labor. The transition period. The one right before you reach 10 centimeters and the contractions and god awful and for some reason your brain fills with self doubt all, “I can’t do this.”) from a natural birth to this next part so…..here it is….the non-transition.

We’ll be doing another bump update picture this weekend but to tide you over for now…this:

love.

10 Responses to “today…is a pregnancy milestone: 35/35”


  1. 1 Amy - Hamlet's Mistress January 12, 2012 at 8:44 am

    Happy 35/35!!! Congrats on making it this far. Not that you had a choice, but, you know… SANELY making it this far. Proud of you!

  2. 3 Amanda Perry @ Sistas of Strength January 12, 2012 at 8:50 am

    Great picture! Hoping for an easy labor and a healthy baby! 🙂

  3. 5 jobo January 12, 2012 at 8:50 am

    Yay!!! I am so excited for youuuu!

  4. 7 JessSutera January 12, 2012 at 10:10 am

    35 weeks! Holy crap!! I can’t wait to “meet” the little buddy growing in there!! YAY!

  5. 8 Michelle Kreifels January 12, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    Happy 35 weeks! Great photo 🙂

  6. 9 lifestartsnow January 12, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    i had no idea there was such a milestone…spooky math!

    good luck for the last weeks and days – you two will be awesome parents!

  7. 10 Wildology January 13, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Holy cow…I can’t imagine being in that spot! 35/35…crazy!

    Probably too late and maybe you mentioned this before…but have you tried those vajayjay support things? …made especially to “splint” the vag?

    like:
    http://www.supportsockshop.com/V2-Supporter-by-Prenatal-Cradle-Support-Garment-for-Vulvar-Varicosities-Genital-Prolapse-Prenatal-Cradle-Style-V2

    or the crazy one:
    http://www.supportsockshop.com/Full-Maternity-Support-PLUS-Vulvar-Compression-Therapy-by-Prenatal-Cradle

    Anyhoo…one last thought, I think being apprehensive is normal. You will be fine, period. Too much fear, though, leads to tension, which leads to tight muscles, which leads to more pain…kind of a vicious cycle:(

    Trust. The. Whohaa:)


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


