and the verdict is….

Baby sprout is actually LARGER THAN HE SHOULD BE.

The hell?

Last week we were four weeks behind and worried about him not developing properly and being all wonky in the womb and now?

His head…is measuring at 40 weeks.

He weighs almost six pounds.

(Granted, that’s a guesstimate but, still)

O.M.G.

I’m only 35 weeks come Thursday and his head is five weeks ahead of schedule?

This type of scenario can only end in pain.

Let me try to find the bright side of this knowledge…we did learn that he is head down instead of transverse.

We also reconfirmed that he is, indeed, a boy. Yay!

Anyhow, I guess I kind of forgot that I noticed a strange flurry of activity the day after my appointment last week. I didn’t really think anything of it but now that I actually take a moment to think about it, that crazy movement was probably the sprout getting into “position” all, “FINE…if this is where I’m supposed to be.”

And the sprout almost maneuvered himself perfectly. He’s sunny-side up, facing the front instead of the back…which means he needs to turn himself around and face my butt before it’s GO TIME so I don’t end up with massively painful back labor with my ten pound baby…anyway. Must stop with the imagination…it’s making me cringe in all the wrong places.

But, seriously.

What am I growing in there?!

How is he already that big?

(It’s because I’m carrying the next Einstein…obviously)

Hear your mother, sprout: COME. EARLY.

And that’s an order.

I happen to really like your coming home NEWBORN SIZE outfit and it’s already been washed so it isn’t returnable and I’ll be damned if you ruin that little bit of mommy’s fun.

On the plus side of the doctor’s appointment, I lost half a pound between last Thursday and today.

It’s the little things, here, people. I know I’m not supposed to lose weight but give me something. I’m already at the high end of the maximum amount of weight I’m supposed to gain. SO. THERE.

Tim is convinced that my due date is a week earlier – February 9th instead of the 16th – which at this point is fine with me as I don’t want to be birthing a ten pound bowling ball.

(Cringing….)

After we left the doctor’s office I was all, “Baby sprout is going to grow out of his newborn clothes before he’s even born…and what was up with the ultrasound tech lady being all, ‘no worries about the sunny side up…you’re nowhere NEAR childbirth…the F? [insert eye roll from said tech]'”

Woman better back off this first-time pregnant chick with a potential baby who could break the record books with his ginormous noggin.

Pregnancy hormones are no joke and don’t think I’ll be timid.

Tim has decided he’s coming to the hospital prepared with a helmet, pads and a cup.

14 Responses to “and the verdict is….”


  1. 1 Amy January 10, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    My admin asst was constantly threatened with a 10-lb baby, had her due date moved up two weeks & everything, ended up with an 8 lb baby one week before her original due date. (Baby had a perfectly normal sized head, too.)

    So – measurements this late in the game are waaay less accurate than early measurements. I’m sure your baby is very Einsteinian, but also with a normal sized noggin! πŸ™‚

  2. 3 jobo January 10, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    Helmet, pads and a cup – LOL! too funny. Bigger than normal? Means you meet him sooner?! πŸ™‚

  3. 5 Amy - Hamlet's Mistress January 10, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    Good call, tim. And yay for sprout turning himself around. Can’t wait!!! Hope he’s early, for your sake.

  4. 7 PJ January 10, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    I hope he’s early for your (and Tim’s and any nurses and doctors) sake too. Though it would be kind of cool to have a kid born on February 29th or be born on February 29th. I mean you age 1/4th as fast!

  5. 9 thoughtsappear January 11, 2012 at 7:29 am

    So glad he’s in the correct position now!

  6. 11 hellesbelles86 January 11, 2012 at 10:41 am

    Congrats on the little one getting his stuff in gear and moving where he’s supposed to be. I’m still dealing with morning sickness and trying to get through the last week of the first trimester so babies being big enough to have to roll over and turn around is kinda hard to imagine at this point. Here’s to early delivery and a normal sized baby!

    • 12 Jessica January 11, 2012 at 12:56 pm

      Thank you! I remember back in the first tri…the all day morning sickness. Zero percent fun. Zero. It lasted until the beginning of the second tri for me…but then I felt awesome for awhile…until I hit about the middle of the third tri…and now I’m super tired. Again.

      The baby movements are fun, though. Once you start to feel them…it’s crazy…and then they become so normal it’s almost like every day life to have a THING moving around inside. πŸ™‚

  7. 13 Casey January 11, 2012 at 11:49 am

    I don’t know if this will help or not, but at 35 weeks Eli also measured big. They told me he was probably 6.5 pounds. I was all, oh shit, this is going to suck. In the end, he was a week late and only weighed 7 pounds 6 ounces. Whew.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,431 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


