when men are cute

It’s so rare, right?

Men aren’t CUTE.

When I say that all I can think about is the little claymation Rudolph in Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer with his makeshift black nose flying around after the girl reindeer kisses him all, “She thinks I’m cuuuuuuuute!”

I actually think calling a man “cute” can be an insult, depending on who is saying it and what context it is in…maybe I’m wrong…

ANYWAY.

Tim can be super cute sometimes. Like, ridiculously so.

And sometimes when he’s being super cute, I tend to get annoyed with it.

Waaait. Lemme explain.

We all know I have serious issues with patience – which will soon be tested…daily…by the sprout – and Tim really likes to take a loooooong time to explain things sometimes because he wants to give the “background” to the story so everything makes sense in the end.

A lot of the time, his “background” tends to turn into multiple, weaving tangents to the point I sometimes forget whatever it was he was talking about in the first place, but I digress.

One of the things that I find adorably cute, even though I might act exasperated with him at the time is when he buys me a gift. You’d think I could open something and be all, “Awesome! Panties!” and move on.

No.

Not with Tim.

It doesn’t matter what it is he buys me, he likes – no, loves – to give me all of the “background” on whatever it was he purchased: How hard it was to find, how he hemmed and hawed over getting this one over something else, how he thinks I’ll like it because the panties have X or they sit in Y position or they’re Z color or texture or fabric.

I get the run down on the panties to the point I know how to wash them, where they’ve been manufactured and what percent of the fabric is spandex versus cotton versus polyester.

If he ever buys me a gift that is AT ALL TECHNICAL in nature?

Oh boy.

Not only do I get the run down on all of the pieces parts, I also have to take it out of the package ON THE SPOT so he can put it together for me and then go over how to turn it on and what settings it has and how to DO everything.

The year he bought me my camera?

OMG.

Once we got through the YAY! IT’S PINK! part and then, after getting my “tutorial” for…longer than my attention span allowed…I was all, “Ok…Ok…Fantastic. It does all these neato whirly gig things…Please! I just want to take a picture!”

Tim looked at me and was all, “But I haven’t shown you how to put it into indoor mode!”

And so it goes.

I know it sounds like I’m complaining about him and it probably comes across as me being super annoyed with this tendency he has BUT deep down, I’m not irritated in the slightest.

Deep down I’m super touched that he went through ALL OF THAT just to buy me the perfect pair of panties and then explains all of the intricacies regarding the tiny piece of fabric.

It means he cares.

It means he pays attention.

It means he’s proud of himself for finding something *perfect*

It means I should probably bite my tongue more and complain less because, really, how awesome is it that he goes through all of that effort FOR ME?

Pretty freaking awesome.

Why burst his bubble when he’s super excited about a gift he purchased me?

I shouldn’t do that.

(And honey…I know you’ll read this, so, please don’t stop explaining things to me just like you already do! Don’t ever change a single thing!)

I can already see Tim with the sprout, doing exactly what he does with me now, sitting down with him and showing him something – how it works, how to use it, why it does X, Y and Z.

Do you know how much MORE cute watching that will be?

There are not words.

8 Responses to “when men are cute”


  1. 1 Joann December 21, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    I’m thinking your husband is some sort of engineer or something very similar because you just described my husband to a tee! 🙂

    • 2 Jessica December 21, 2011 at 2:11 pm

      Yes! He went to school for Applied Physics and then Mechanical Engineering (grad school)! Funny…his actual job isn’t an engineer, now, though he still deals with a lot of technical stuff on a daily basis.

  2. 5 KB December 22, 2011 at 6:51 am

    OMG, I did not realize this was a family trait! I get in trouble for this VERY SAME THING all.the.time!!

    Thank you for posting this SIL. I will be forwarding this to my person first thing.

    KB

  3. 7 Shannon December 22, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    Every now and then they can be cute. It does show he cares, even if it makes you insane. 🙂

  4. 8 marketingtomilk December 23, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    It also means he buys you gifts that he secretly wants. Not sure what that says about the panties though

    M2M


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,431 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


