baby doctor date

(every now and then, I have these days where everything feels off. I feel like I’ve been hit by a bus and then run over by a train. I’m super dizzy and I had to convince myself to shower. I think this ends up happening after a string of days chock full of activity…plus whatever the sprout happens to be doing…like beginning a growth spurt. Anyhow, today is that day, so if I’m not making sense, that’s why)

I’ve finally gotten to the point where Tim and I visit the OB every two weeks. Not much really happens at these appointments…yet.

I get there, pee in a cup, get weighed, have my blood pressure checked, do small talk with the nurse and then we wait for the doctor.

Doctor comes in, answers questions, listens to the sprout’s heartbeat (which, by the way, is always in the 150s. So much for that gender old wives tale) and then measures my “fundal height,” which is basically how big my belly is. When it matches however many weeks I am, life is good.

And it has been measuring on track the entire time.

Life is good.

Things will start getting a little more exciting about a month from now, at 36 weeks.

This is mostly because that is when the weekly appointments begin AND because of what happened yesterday when I asked the doctor if he could tell where the baby was…how he was “laying” in my uterus.

I’ve been convinced that the sprout prefers – and has remained – laying sideways across my belly and not head down like he should be. Almost all of his movement is on my right side next to my (ever stretching) belly button.

It’s either that or I feel him on my right and left sides simultaneously. Or major kicks to my cervix with movement on the right as well.

Never has he kicked me in the ribs.

Anyhow, the doctor felt around on my stomach (read: pressed really hard OMG) and felt the sprout’s head near my ribs on the right side and his feet somewhere on my left between my ribs and hip bone.

Basically, baby sprout is all stretched out like he’s in a hammock. Otherwise known as laying transverse.

At 36 weeks, the doctor will try to figure out what position he’s in again…potentially via ultrasound.

If he’s still transverse?

We have to start talking c-section potential.

He talked about doing a “version” where I have to go into the hospital and get pumped with drugs to relax my uterus and then the doctor manhandles my stomach to try and manually turn the sprout.

Um…no thank you. There is only a 50% chance of it working and there are all types of potential complications, like my placenta tearing or cord prolapse.

Also? I’m not really afraid of a c-section. It wouldn’t be my first choice and it would obviously blow any kind of natural birth plan out of the water into nonexistent status but if that’s what happens then that’s what happens.

I’m no expert, but apparently babies of first timers tend to “flip” into the head down position between 28-32 weeks.

Obviously, that hasn’t happened. I mean, there is still plenty of time for him to move, since uterine real estate is still halfway decent.

He’s about to start a growth spurt, according to my pregnancy books, so space will start shrinking quickly.

However, if there is a reason he’s transverse OR a reason he stays that way, like a short umbilical cord or some other reason where it’s safer for him to stay put…then he needs to do just that.

I’ll survive.

On the plus side of all this, if I end up having to go the c-section route, we’ll get to meet him a whole week sooner!

15 Responses to “baby doctor date”


  1. 1 JessSutera December 20, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    I can NOT imagine sprout laying sideways feels very good! Can’t believe sprout’s been that way this whole time!! The more growth the more chance for movement in the right direction I’d hope?? You’re looking at this the right way though – what happens, happens, just so long as you both come out of things healthy and happy, right??

    • 2 Jessica December 21, 2011 at 2:07 pm

      It’s really not that bad? But maybe it’s because I’m tall?

      36 weeks is when it starts getting too cramped for him to move around much, so I still have awhile 🙂

  2. 3 Shannon December 20, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    It is funny how they start calling the shots before they even arrive. You have a good attitude though, Jess is right, what happens is what happens. It seems like everything is going good aside from that though which is exciting.

  3. 5 jobo December 20, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    Also agree – what happens happens…funny, my friend had the same issue, baby was transverse and never actually shifted. She ended up having a c-section the day before Thanksgiving (vs. a week later when she was due), but they’re both doing great! So if it happens, it happens, and you get to meet him sooner 🙂 YAY!

  4. 7 Amy - Hamlet's Mistress December 20, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    Your posts make me so excited I can barely stand it. My best friend and I weren’t speaking at the time of her pregnancy and my other dear friend wasn’t super forthcoming with the info. So I am loving every moment and every word you have to say about this. I want to thank you again for sharing. I really appreciate it. And hug Tim from me for taking away the scale… your posts have been so sane since then and I love him for seeing the crazy and taking action. 🙂

  5. 9 KB December 21, 2011 at 4:17 am

    This is actually a very coherent post and you are making good sense girl. Double thumbs up for your awesome just roll with it attitude!

    🙂

    KB

  6. 11 Sam December 21, 2011 at 5:57 am

    Charlotte was upright in a Jesus Christ Pose for a while, then elected to turn over and kick mum in the ribs from the inside for while. I don’t remember when she turned upside down. Sophie on the other hand was determined to do things differently from her predecessor in almost every way. Transverse for a while, then turning upside down early only to deliver late.

  7. 13 Angelia Sims December 22, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    The blog friend I did maternity photos for had the same problem. That boy was breech. A lot of people told her to go swimming, that, for whatever reason, makes them turn. I don’t think she tried that.

    It is a very good call not having the Dr twist him. Geez! That just gives me the heebie jeebies for you.

    Lots of people have c-sections, so I think you have a positive outlook in that he would be here a week sooner. -)

  8. 14 Jenera Healy December 27, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    I haven’t read all the comments so if someone already said this, forgive me.

    With both of my pregnancies my boys were completely the wrong way up until 37 weeks and as soon as the doc said ‘version’ they flipped that night. Seriously. And it was not at all comfortable to sit through while they did their aerobics. Hopefully Sprout will do the same.

    • 15 Jessica January 9, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      We’ll see what *he* decides to do…mostly since I have zero control, really. I mean, yes, the exercises and whatnot but in the end, he’s going to make up his own mind….

      37 weeks is promising, though! It means there is still time!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,431 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


