*bump update* and the safari

It’s like I totally disappear from cyberspace over the weekend…because…mostly…I do.

I really have no idea how a weekend of “no plans” turns into a weekend full of activity but inevitably, it does.

Somewhere amongst the solo Christmas shopping – Tim went his way, I went mine and cutty-pastey project and whatever else it was that took up the entire weekend, we did manage a bump update photo shoot (that takes all of five seconds, truth be told):

31 weeks, 2 days

Compare this to the last shirt on bump shot at 28 weeks…and I’m telling you people…my belly is growing BY THE DAY.

28 weeks, 3 days

Tim texted me on Thursday, my official “new pregnancy week” day all, “Happy nine weeks left!”

Happy….OMG.

We’re in the single digit weeks.

How did this happen so….fast?

In the back of my mind, part of me is like, “Baby sprout, technically, could come at any point…especially once we hit 37 weeks…and I’m already 31 weeks plus…….” It really sets you into a tailspin because AM I READY FOR THIS?!

I have no choice.

Baby sprout is coming out one way or another.

His movements have gotten even stronger – how this is possible, I have no idea – and Tim gets a kick out of putting his hands on my belly and feeling an appendage poke out underneath the palm of his hand. It is the weirdest sensation, both inside and out. My stomach morphs depending on where baby sprout is and how he is laying. I can’t even describe the sensation other than to say it legit is like an alien-in-my-bellah-made-for-tv-movie experience.

Weird.

I have a doctor’s appointment this afternoon…which I’m slightly dreading and slightly excited about. I’m positive that my ass and thighs are growing at the same rate as my belly. It doesn’t even matter how many times I visit the elliptical or take the dogs for a walk or attend BodyPump.

They’re still growing.

It’s not like the doctor measures my ass or anything…anyway…I will say that the pharmacist, who is also preggo and due a few weeks after me, told me the other day that I looked tiny for being 31 weeks AND looked like I was a runner.

Quadruple bonus points for her.

(You probably already knew this happened if you followed me on Twitter…)

I’m excited because we’re going out to dinner (yay!) and then to Pottery Barn for our annual purchase of a Christmas ornament.

We usually buy balls…

(that didn’t exactly come out the way I intended)

So…moving on…because there is something I HAVE TO BRAG ABOUT.

These:

And do they not look perfect in the sprout’s nursery?!

(Before you ask, YES. Tim busted out the big level, the little level, the measuring tape and a pencil)

And guess which crafty chick created these freaking adorable safari animals?

Thaaaat’s right!

Yours truly!

(Seriously…I should really go into business doing…something…)

I stole the idea from Pottery Barn (just like we stole the white stripe plus stitching)

and then borrowed a few pictures from etsy after searching for forever for “baby elephant” and “baby giraffe” and “baby lion” and WA-LA!

A Sunday project that took me freaking forever (five hours) but was worth every second!

While I was doing the cutty-pastey, Tim was wrapping the sprout’s Christmas presents.

Yes, you definitely read that correctly: The Sprout.

And dude is racking up!

There are somewhere around 14 gifts wrapped and around (I’d say “under” but they don’t exactly fit) the tree of varying shapes and sizes. The scale of gifts between the sprout and Tim and I is comical.

However, we’re almost more excited to open those than we are the gifts Tim and I bought each other.

I have a feeling this is what the foreseeable future will look like come holiday time.

Happy Monday!!…not really but…I mean…is anyone even out there…reading this?

Sometimes I feel like I’m writing to….myself…mostly…and my few loyal bloggy friends…I wouldn’t ever count you chicas out!

20 Responses to “*bump update* and the safari”


  1. 1 Joann December 19, 2011 at 8:53 am

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the pictures for baby’s room!!

  2. 3 jobo December 19, 2011 at 9:10 am

    First of all, you look great! That bump is still so small and you are all baby, nothing else! For real. And you are so freaking good and talented and crafty! I bow to you! 😉

  3. 5 nysoonergirlnergirl December 19, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Those animals might just be the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. Seriously adorbs. If I ever have kids, I’m coming to you. For everything. I am confident in your ability to provide everything I ask for. Especially cute little newspaper baby animals!

  4. 6 nysoonergirl December 19, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Also, noticing that I once typed my info in wrong and now I am forever nysoonergirlnergirl. It’s like my fingers know I’m a nerd girl and they’re desperately trying to break the news to everyone.

    I hope this fixes it!

  5. 8 JessSutera December 19, 2011 at 10:01 am

    You impress the hell outta me with your baking AND home decorating skills, for real! Those pics are SO SO SO CUTE!!!

    And um – I still contend, you are the fittest pregnant chick I’ve ever seen. Believe it!!

  6. 10 Angelia Sims December 19, 2011 at 11:19 am

    Cute, cute, cute!!! The baby bump, and the adorable little animals that you made. YOU MADE THOSE!! Wow, I love the nursery. It looks so much like the pottery barn one. 9 more weeks? WOW!

    You LOOK great! The pharmacy lady is right (and you know she sees a lot of preggos). You craft, make babies, and stay fit. You are already super mom, no need to fret about 9 weeks from now. 🙂

    • 11 Jessica December 19, 2011 at 1:24 pm

      Thank you!

      We definitely “borrowed” the idea…though I think ours is better (just sayin 😉 )…I really cannot believe it is only nine (or less) weeks. Gulp!

  7. 12 mm December 19, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    I’m so in love (and impressed!) with the nursery! The animal pictures are perfect 🙂 And I agree with the pharmacist that you do look small for how far along your are… I fully anticipate turning into a hippo when I eventually get on the baby train, but you are basically “all baby” as they say.

  8. 14 Shannon December 19, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    I’m out here…reading….and I totally disappear over the weekend too. Because my phone is taken over by a 9 year old who is all “OMG my horse I need to feed it!” Whatver that means. All I know is it is returned once the battery is drained.
    Anywho loving the room and the bump. You still look great. We spent time with my preggo friend over the weekend who is just getting fat all over, her words not mine, and not really a bump so much as “What did you eat for lunch?” Again, her words not mine. But so true. Your bump, totally cute and tiny. Good luck at the docs!

  9. 15 Amy - Hamlet's Mistress December 19, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Um, yeah, we’re out here. I’m on the edge of my seat waiting for the “We’re at the hospital, yo!” post. Which is so something you wouldn’t say. But I would. You look lovely. I hope your appt went well. 🙂

  10. 17 Daniela December 22, 2011 at 10:16 am

    I really love the self-made animals!!
    Maybe, when you open an online shop, you should name it “Pottery Boo(shy)” 🙂

    And btw, yeah, you’re crazy. That’s why I love reading your blog. 🙂

  11. 18 Anonymous June 24, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    I know this is a super old post…but I just want to say you are my hero!! After falling in love with the same Pottery Barn room I started searching for ways to make the animal pictures. Your idea…and links are fantastic!!! Being the over planner that I am, we will be making these today…at just 15 weeks along. Thank you again!


  1. 1 nine weeks « booshy Trackback on December 18, 2012 at 8:09 am

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


