baby sprout’s room, part furniture

I have a hard time remembering what happened if I don’t write it down like……..see? That was too long.

Immediately.

I must write it down. Immediately.

Let me try to recreate our weekend from the little memory I still possess……

Tim and I had a jam packed few days, complete with lots of snow (somewhere around eight inches in total when everything was all said and done) and a dual-driveway-shoveling effort at 5:30 am on Saturday.

Why so early?

Tim had a haircut scheduled in the morning and we had to get the fresh powder off of the driveway before we left. It makes shoveling somucheasier when you don’t have to deal with tire tracks.

Just FYI.

Anyhow, as soon as we got home, we hopped on Skype (OMG. WHY HAVE WE NEVER USED THIS?!) for the “virtual” baby shower. It was super fun and kind of like watching a sitcom at times, since it was just the two of us watching a whole bunch of people do all kinds of things at my mom’s house – some of the commotion directed at us, some not.

Also? Lots of movement and talking = choppy connection and trying to understand what someone said sometimes was…..challenging – to say the least.

I definitely, however, didn’t miss anyone – everyone – asking about the name for the sprout.

It’s top secret, yo.

No one really knew how the whole gift giving thing was supposed to work, so some people had shipped us gifts (that have not come, yet) and some people brought gifts to my mom’s…..that they then had to open for us so we could see what it was.

I’m positive no one went into that shower thinking they’d have to open their own gift.

Pair that with never-ending mimosas (for them…not me) and you get lots of women dancing in front of the camera all, “I woooonnnndeeeeeer what this isssss?……” as they ripped open their own wrapping.

The whole thing was so comical, I don’t even remember anything we got other than a swaddle thing and a monkey with a tail you pull to play lullabies…good thing my mom took pictures and is making a list because I’d be up a creek without a rattle (ha…) without that.

Yesterday?

Yesterday was Sunday!

Also known as baby sprout’s nursery furniture pick up day!

One of Tim’s work peeps offered to help us – and bring their truck – to get the boxes home and upstairs. Good thing, too, because there was no way Tim and I would have been able to fit the boxes in our car and there was absolutely zero possibility for Tim to haul either box upstairs by himself. I mean, I’m not supposed to lift anything over 25 pounds…or is it 20 pounds?….and each box weighed over 100.

Even if I only did 50% of the work – and I’m not great at math but I’m pretty sure that’d still be too, um, heavy.

On Saturday night, I made him (the worker peep) chocolate chip cookies, all wrapped up with a pretty bow (for serious), as a thank you.

After Tim’s worker peep left the house, crib and dresser upstairs safe and sound, Tim got a text on his work phone from his son all, “Tim…this is worker peeps son. My dad is driving and we just wanted to tell you that the cookies are delicious!

Happy dance!

Then?

Tim couldn’t wait to rip open the boxes and get to work.

I know I’ve said this before but if there is any kind of project to be done, it doesn’t sit around in this house.

Noooooooooo.

Tim has this wiring in his brain that says DO IT NOW.

(I totally shouldn’t complain…it’s usually the opposite, right?)

So, by the end of last night, Maddie and Lexi had checked out the boxes for any kind of suspicious material (they didn’t find any)

And we had a mostly complete – minus decorations and a mattress…and crib sheets…and a glider-rocker… – nursery!

I know it looks black but it’s really espresso.

Just thought you should know.

7 Responses to “baby sprout’s room, part furniture”


  1. 1 JessSutera December 5, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    Loooove the new baby furniture!! I still contend – you need to come decorate my house, baby room or no baby room. Deal?? Can we make a barter arrangement? You can totally be our fourth – long-lost – sister?? 😉

  2. 2 Shannon December 5, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Oh freak I love it!!! I love the virtual baby shower thing too. How fun! Also, I would haev leant you my truck and my fiance..duh….

  3. 3 Papa Guy December 6, 2011 at 12:31 am

    Co-worker peep……I think my cat is even preturbed by that.

  4. 4 jobo December 6, 2011 at 10:26 am

    Looking good, my friend. And I concur, decorate my house too!

  5. 5 Angelia Sims December 6, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Yay! So cute! And how fun that you got a virtual shower (including the tipsy ladies). That’s hilarious!!

  6. 6 Jeanette Lawrence Ghioto December 6, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    you totally forgot the cousin and aunt who came to you from Florida via brother Jeff’s facetime…via skype 🙂

  7. 7 thebakerbee December 7, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    1. Furniture = awesome.
    2. It looks cold outside.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


