take *that* pottery barn (the sprout’s nursery)

Tim and I are probably as far over on the Type A scale as one could possibly be. Whenever we do anything, the end result has to be PERFECT.

There is no other way.

We don’t know any other way.

Which is why this “small” nursery painting project, a la white stripe + stitching, took us an entire weekend.

Painting a stripe on a flat wall?

Challenging.

Painting a stripe on a wall with knockdown texture?

That requires a lot more planning and effort and multiple steps to make sure your paint doesn’t bleed through and look all craggy.

Our room-turned-nursery started out like this:

And then we measured…and measured…and measured and ended the measuring fiesta with pencil marks all over the place.

Then? Tape and caulk (to seal the tape to prevent bleed through)

and more measuring

Then?

White stripe painting.

Two coats of white stripe painting.

We bought low VOC paint, so I helped…some…as in I painted the corners and whatever Tim couldn’t get with the roller.

After waiting a few agonizing hours, we pulled the tape off, praying the tape + caulk trick worked and we would have a straight line.

Success!

The next day, Tim spent four or so hours painting the lines we measured some more…

…and then Tim spent four hours painting lines.

…while I went around with a teeny tiny paint brush and painted over any of the lines that needed extra love and also touching up any bleed through – which was basically zero. There were just tiny, almost invisible spots that you had to stand three inches from the wall to see. No worries, though.

They’re gone now.

I cannot even explain how much measuring and remeasuring and hemming and hawing over a few millimeters and then triple quadruple measuring took place. It took longer to measure and tape off the room than it did to paint, if that tells you anything.

But…I mean…you don’t want a crooked stripe and you absolutely do not want your stitching running up and down and all zig zaggy. You want it perfectly straight. Perfectly imperfect looking.

It’s not easy pulling off perfectly imperfect, by the way.

I mostly direct this to Pottery Barn, our inspiration for the sprout’s nursery:

I think we did a pretty damn good job, don’t you?

And this project was just step one…of many.

We got a phone call while we were painting to let us know that our crib and dresser set were ready to be picked up.

Talk about fortuitous timing.

This is what will be in the sprout’s room once we go pick it up.

We bought the crib and dresser in espresso and got the shorter, six drawer dresser, to double as a changing table:

And this? Our bedding choice – minus the crib bumpers.

We’re doing some kind of “upscale safari” theme…with no monkeys. I’m not trying to be harsh and it’s not that I have anything against monkeys…it’s just EVERYONE does monkeys and I don’t like be like EVERYONE.

So, I’m on the hunt for baby giraffes, along with any other cute baby jungle animal that isn’t a monkey (I think I’ve been pretty clear…)

If you run across something super cute somewhere, let me know!!

Also? I WANT THESE.

Except…the company (Nature’s Purest) is UK based and I can’t find these tiebacks anywhere in the U.S.

Of course I have to find something that is impossible to obtain. Of course.

Sadface.

25 Responses to “take *that* pottery barn (the sprout’s nursery)”


  1. 1 PJ November 29, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    That room is so adorable! You both did such a great job. I remember when I re-did my room in middle school and what a pain it was (just be lucky that you didn’t have get rid of 3 layers of wall paper before painting) and all the measuring because (of course!) I didn’t want the walls all 1 color, oh no, I had to have a stripe.

    Also, I love the new belly picture in yesterday’s post!

    • 2 Jessica November 29, 2011 at 4:51 pm

      Thank you! And OMG on the wallpaper! That stuff is awful to have to remove! I loved wall papering when I was a kid….err…I loved picking OUT wallpaper and my mom putting it up…

  2. 3 jobo November 29, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    um, dude, I am so impressed. that looks AWESOME. I LOVE the stripe, and that shiznat takes precision!! You are GOOD! Your child is going to be living it up in that room 😉

  3. 5 hellesbelles86 November 29, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    Just a suggestion on those Baby Giraffe tiebacks- you might try Etsy and see if you can get an artisan on there to recreate something similar for you.

    Alternately, apparently there’s a stockist in the US that carries Natures Purest. Maybe that will help?

    http://www.cocalo.com/item.asp?id=1297&brand=13&g=&coll=&cat=1

  4. 7 JessSutera November 29, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Can you come and decorate and paint my entire house for me? Seriously. I am the WORST painter known to man, have zero patience for it – which is ironic given how Type A I am in general. I’d kill to have my rooms look like this! LOVE IT!

  5. 9 Maureen November 29, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Impressive. I would have just painted the whole thing one color and called it good. Also, I don’t like monkeys but I like the animals you chose.

  6. 11 Amanda Perry @ Sistas of Strength November 29, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    Holy cow! We thought we were good for stenciling a few measly stars on the wall of my son’s room. This is taking things to an entirely new level. Looks awesome!

  7. 13 KB November 29, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Guess we had the downscale safari theme…monkey and all. Good thing you didn’t mind sending monkey stuff since you got Colton that cool robe. He loves them, though, so whatcha gonna do?

    KB

  8. 15 KB November 29, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    Got it! We have those too. They had (may still have) a really cute stuffed animal giraffe at Toys R Us.

    KB

  9. 17 Angelia Sims November 29, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    OMGAH! Soo cute! You (Tim) Pottery Barn, you all did excellent. This is just precious! I love the baby giraffes! And that line is soooo straight! Woah.

    I can’t wait to see all the furniture in it. Decorating a baby’s room is so fun!

  10. 19 Papa Guy November 30, 2011 at 12:26 am

    I know you guys are young and all, but I think your crazy. ah, ok, I’ll retract that. It’s your first, and your allowed to go crazy on the first. Just wait till the second, You’ll be all ………
    very cute.

  11. 21 Shannon November 30, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Holy freakin adorable. i’m with ya on doing something different with no monkeys. Totally fine to be different. The good news is that paint job will grow with him past the one year mark. I see a lot of people that don’t realize that. Love it. I’m with you on the need for perfection. I would be the same way!

  12. 23 Oregon Sunshine November 30, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    Very nice! Wanna come decorate my new house for me now?

  13. 24 Txtingmrdarcy December 1, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    We just painted last weekend too!! Your nursery? Just sunk our guestroom’s battleship. THANKS, GUYS. 😉

  14. 25 Wildology December 1, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    IT. LOOKS. AWESOME!!!!! So cute! (monkeys are kind of creepy, just sayin’)


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


